We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Certificate of Excellence
4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

Last minute plans to take a honeymoon in the middle of September. Everywhere else was booked, the Nags Head Inn had only a few rooms left. We booked a room on the 5th floor with a beautiful view of the sound. the staff was exceptionally kind and helpful. The hotel was clean, and quiet. For having been almost fully booked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent marriage. Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are so glad that your honeymoon stay was enjoyable. We look forward to having you as our guests for many years to come. Sue Hogan More 

Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

I cannot complain about cleanliness, location, or, for the most part, hospitality. There were two ladies at the check-in desk when we arrived Saturday afternoon, October 10, 2015, and while one was quite friendly, the other was very prickly and unpleasant. Upon check-in, we were told that our friend, who was not staying the night, had to pay $10+tax in... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila J J
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not happy with our policy, but the pool and hot tub are use by registered guests only. We do not have a problem with our guests having visitors (as long as they check in with the desk to register their cars) but, for many reasons, we must limit the use of any facilities on... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

We paid at least $200 a night for this hotel which were stuck with because we didn't plan in advance & all the other hotels were booked. I wish we would've known about all of the beach front property for rent then, because we could've rented a house for the price we paid for 2 rooms there. The room was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jameka J
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have not had any reports of lamp malfunctions but, If you had let us know that there was a problem with the lamp in your room, we would have replaced it immediately. Although we do not serve breakfast we do serve complimentary Danish, fresh sweet potato biscuits... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in October. I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the room. We had a king size bed that still had plenty of room for the pull out sofa. The bathroom was a bit small though. My only complaint is that the sliding door/windows are really dirty... we did arrive the day after a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the beautiful Outer Banks. Sue Hogan General Manager More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend for 4 nights. It's a comfortable spot in the middle of the Outer Banks towns to sightsee from, with free parking. The rooms are clean, spacious and reasonably modern but very basic in terms of decor and style and quality of towels/sheets; it wouldn't hurt the place to hire a designer to add a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeanki
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront for your Labor Day weekend getaway. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and the view of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean from your room. We hope to see you again soon. Sue Hogan General Manager More 

Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

I stayed at the Nags Head in for 7 nights. Checkin was a breeze, my room was perfect, the information available for attractions in the area was plentiful, and there was not a time that I walked through the lobby that the staff did not acknowledge me. Everyone always had a friendly smile. I'd definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Deb52653518
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Sue Hogan General Manager More 

Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

We were on a motorcycle trip this past August and travelled without any reservations. Came upon this Hotel without any reservations during the peak season. The staff were extremely friendly and made sure our 4 night stay was perfect. We were able to get an Ocean view room for the same price as a non ocean view as this was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric B
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again. Sue Hogan General Manager More 

Alexandria, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

stayed here for a wedding as it was part of a block. this hotel was recently renovated so the beds are good, the bathrooms are clean, but the carpets could use some love. great beach access. pretty happy about having a refrigerator in our room at no extra charge!

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra/Mike M
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed our oceanfront location and our recent renovations. We hope to see you again. Sue Hogan General Manager More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

Looks can be deceiving. Outside may appear outdated only by design but the great service, location, and updated interior makes you forget. Love trying local businesses. Great staff and sweet potato biscuits for breakfast. Love the new room key design.

Helpful?
1 Thank Billy B
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

Congratulations on your participation in the OBX Triathlon Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon - come on back for the OBX Marathon in November! Sue Hogan General Manager More 

Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Wonderful customer service from staff. Everyone we encountered was top-notch. This property appears to be well cared for. It looks like it had recent updates and everything was sparkling. We loved our room, which overlooked the ocean. Sadly we were only able to stay for one night, but we did manage to fit in TWO beach walks! So convenient. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your brief time here and hope that you can come to see us again soon (maybe stay a little longer next time??). Sue Hogan General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay