We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Foam Motel

Certificate of Excellence
7111 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Sea Foam Motel
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    65
    74
    13
    12
    16
See reviews for
70
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an amazing stay at this motel! Our room was right in front of the ocean and it was excellent! The staff was nice and our room was clean. Probably the best place to stay for a great price if you want the view of the ocean. Also, walked right out the back door on to the beach which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I took a quick weekend trip to Nag's Head and while we wanted something economical, we also wanted location, location, location. The Sea Foam fits both our needs. True, it's older. But it has better signage! If you get an ocean facing room...I mean who could ask for a better view ( second floor if you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night and that was long enough. The place is in need of some maintenance. The room was dark and dingy, the bath had been repaired and was'nt even clean, the bug nets on the doors were either missing or torn, the windows were not clean, all in all, this place is a dump, only stayed because it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome place right on the Ocean. Screen doors on front and back of rooms and wood panneled walls harken back to another time. Rooms are air conditioned for days too hot to just use the screen doors for ventilation. Although reminding me of somewhere out of my childhood, the room did have modern amenities such as a mini fridge, microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this motel for price and because it was pet friendly. We stayed in a pool side room with double beds. The room was very clean and comfortable. The beds were way more comfortable than expected with lots of pillows. It's definitely not a fancy place but it's perfect if you have pets. It was only a short walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the place is a dump and the owner is a jerk, rude and frightening to be frank. DO NOT STAY HERE. He cursed at us because we asked for blankets, there were only sheets on the bed. The windows were nailed shut and there was no ac in the living area. There were not pots, pans or table wear in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
seafoam-mgmt, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel, responded to this review

I believe this review is for the Wildwood NJ location which not affiliated with us at all. Hope you can make the trip down here sometime...We would love to give you a better vacation than it sounds like you had there. Thanks, General Manager Sea Foam Motel Nags Head, NC 252-441-7320 More 

Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel was everything you need and more. First, the view was fabulous. We had room 37 (second floor) and the ocean was right out of picture window. Opening the back door to the deck, you can hear the waves (you're that close). Secondly, the room itself was more than adequate. We had a king size bed, microwave, room fridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MC DONALD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

My first experience at the Sea Foam was approximately 30 years ago. Since that time I have stayed in motels and vacation homes in various locations on the Outer Banks. A lot has changed on the OBX, but not at the Sea Foam, and that is a good thing! Yes, it is old. Yes, it could use updating. But that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

I'd choose another hotel. Needs major work & cosmetics on outside. Inside room 25 was up to date with wood/vinyl floors & decor and appeared very clean. However due to a hole in the outside wall what I assume was a palmetto bug or two were sharing the room and there was no staff to call to help with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Location and quick beach access is spot on. Back door to the beach with patio is great. Hotel needs serious work! Gutter is rotted off the back of the building. Everything was very clean but very old. Just like the circa 1948 historical site marker. Maid service requires you to put a sign out by 9am. I found this out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.5 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
7.3 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities