We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbar Bed & Breakfast

2508 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

We have stayed at the Sandbar for couple of days. The place is extremely clean, conveniently located right across the beach and close to everything. Love the nautical décor. Mike, Beata, Kelli and Princess were wonderful hosts. We will be back again.

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Warren County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

We booked this B & B for 6 nights with Beata. Nice lady, helped us with reservations and followed up to confirm. We arrived and were disappointed with the outside - drift wood and coastal decorations all over the place, pool littered with toys. Not to mention the dog poop everywhere around the property! Checked in, went to grab a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 3musketeers11
SandbarInnkeeper, Manager at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Ms. Padma I appreciate every review we receive from our guests. However your review is far from what have really happened. Yes, our bed and breakfast is decorated with coastal items, but we are on the beach and that is what you will find anywhere in costal region. All of our guests love the décor and we always get lots... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

We stayed at the B&B recently and had an “ok” time, but it was our vacation so we were hoping for a lot better. There are many five star reviews (which we read before booking), but we suspect they must’ve been written by dog owners who don’t mind the wear & tear and hair that comes with dogs. We were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank A S
SandbarInnkeeper, Owner at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Our bed & breakfast is cleaned by professional crew. Our Health Department scoring for cleanliness is 99 points. Health Department inspects places for hairs as well, and if our place was covered with dog hairs the way you describe, we would have not been in the business. Mike McVearry More 

Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We came here for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing! The Mermaid room was beautiful with a great porch for relaxing. I was first drawn to the Sandbar because of it's positive dog-friendly reviews, and it did not disappoint. Our dog was treated wonderfully by the staff and we loved having visits from Princess as well. The location right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We stayed at the Sandbar Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights the last week in May. The weather was perfect! The house is very cute and the people working there to greet us were very nice. It was very convenient for us, as we could walk across the street to the beach. There's also a great frozen yogurt place down... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank andiegav123
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

This was my 2nd trip to the Outer Banks and this time around opted for a B&B instead of a hotel. The owner and his dog were very friendly and greeted us upon arrival. Our room faced the ocean; which was very nice but the road could be a little noisy. We had our own deck to sit out on.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AMSC70
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My daughter and I traveled to the Outer Banks for the first time and we wanted to make it a whole trip of new experiances , so we decided to stay in a B&B instead of a motel... We started planning this trip for October in February of this year. We both looked long and hard online at different B&B's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank quilter0810
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay for a couple nights. Enjoyed the extra amenities they had-pool, bikes, etc. Tvs needed some updating, but we weren't worried about that because we were not in the room for much of the day anyway. Location was great because it was close to the beach and restaurants and the shop next door was great for beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly KD D
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The glowing reviews and the high price somehow made me think that this would be a special stay at Nag's Head. I thought long and hard about even writing a review because the manager, whom I saw briefly, was such a nice person. However, this B&B was not a good match for me. It is on a busy street between... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Jimmianne
SandbarInnkeeper, Owner at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

"Disappointed" - I am sorry to hear you are disappointed. But I've read your review and I think there are positive signs there. The opening sentence "Glowing reviews" are from 95% people that stayed here. Our price, we feel we are competitive for what we have to offer. We are not a motel. "However the Bed & Breakfast" was not... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a great stay at the Sandbar this weekend! The innkeeper, Beata and owner, Mike, were so accommodating and friendly. They helped us with parking our boat which made for an easy weekend. The Ocean Room is very clean and quiet. There's a fun happy hour to meet the other guests and Mike too. Breakfast is pretty simple, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JNo550
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
3.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities