We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
178 Highway 70 West, 221 Bypass & Hwy 70, Marion, NC 28752
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    21
    14
    3
    11
See reviews for
22
16
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First impressions are EVERYTHING!!! The ONLY way to enter this hotel is through the overgrown parking lot of an abandoned bank,around to the back ,, behind a Taco Bell,,the woman who checked me in was clearly not happy with her job,not one bit friendly even though we had to wait 30 minutes past our checkin time because our room wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Comfort Inn that I stayed at in Marion was nicer than the Quality Inn in nearby Black Mountain. That being said - there isn't as much going on in Marion - but that isn't the point of this review. My room was spacious, clean and was just right for my stay. The breakfast in the morning was just what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 days, the room was clean and the evening receptionist was very helpful, but the morning receptionist was the least bit helpful and he seemed to not care about his job. The worst part was, after a day of sightseeing we returned to the hotel to find that the cleaning person had left our door open the entire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Black Mountain, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

People were nice and professional, breakfast was very good, location was great. There is a Greenway behind the hotel with a paved trail that runs alone a river. A pleasant surprise. Be sure to check it out. Very relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you valued guest, We want to thank you for posting a review regarding your stay. upon reading you mentioned that you enjoyed the entire stay from your room and breakfast to the Greenway trail behind the hotel. We work hard to make sure each and every guest has an enjoyable stay and are very pleased that you were able... More 

Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for two nights during a recent visit to my friend's sister. It has a very odd entrance, but other than that the place is pretty conveniently located and has nice rooms. Breakfast could have been better, but it is what it is...an economy hotel. Marion is a nice place to visit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we would like to extend our apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your stay. We are currently going through some updating of the breakfast items and will be making some changes as soon as we can. We hope that this will not deter you from choosing... More 

Jacksonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean, the WiFi was terrible, the breakfast was one of the worse I have ever had, food cold, coffee was very weak, staff was friendly, but not much effort on their part. I would not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your posted review for the Comfort Inn in Marion, NC. We would like to first apologize for the issues with the WIFI in the hotel. We had informed our provider about this problem. For the breakfast we want to also apologize as we are trying new items and are currently working with the vendor for other options.... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We booked this last minute as a place to stay the night before dropping my son off at summer camp. I was grateful we could bring my dog, regardless of size for a $45 fee. It was a little upsetting that we had to pay extra for a rollaway bed for my son, as no rooms that would accommodate us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for posting a review and let me apologize for the issues that you encountered while creating your rsvp and during your check out. We are currently making updates to the system and this was an issue the day you happened to make your rsvp. Again we do apologize and please know that this is considered an... More 

Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I brought my dogs here. I had to leave them unattended for a short time so my family could eat and it was too hot to leave them in the car. I received a call from the hotel that said if I did not return immediately animal control would be called to sedate and TAKE MY DOGS!!! if these people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Please let us apologize for the issue you encountered during your stay. We at the Comfort Inn have policies in place that when needed are reviewed with the guest at checkin. Our pet policy does state that all pets need to be registered upon check in and when leaving room to be properly provided for. We do not... More 

Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

This hotel is very poor when it comes to dealing with customers over the phone. Be aware that they do not honor state rate and will hang up on you repeatedly if you just want to inquire about the possibility. I recently (today-July 7,2015) to make a reservation. When the desk personnel answered the phone, I asked" do you honor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

First let me apologize for the issue you encountered during your calls placed with our hotel. As you know all lodging establishments we go through very busy times. The day you called happened to be one of them and we answer each one as they come in. Circumstances do happen and again this happened when you tried to contact the... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Here's what's very good: - Rooms are nicely appointed, beds are comfortable, each room has refrig and microwave. - A decent but limited hot breakfast. - An indoor pool. Here's what could improve your stay: - Add an exercise room - Put a better sign up to locate the entrance (you have to drive through the Taco Bell parking lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here at the Comfort Inn in Marion N.C. When reading your post, we noticed that you stated about enjoying the room and the furnishings in them. We have gone through a upgrade remodelling and all items in the rooms are new. We appreciate that you was very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
10.1 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
17.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#2 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
19.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Morganton
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Morganton
Hampton Inn Morganton
#1 of 10 in Morganton
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay