We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

2.0 of 5 178 Highway 70 West, 221 Bypass & Hwy 70, Marion, NC 28752
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Professional photos View all
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    10
    2
    9
See reviews for
15
14
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Swansboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here during a recent fall motorcycle trip to the mountains. Peak fall season and we were actually surprised to get a room on short notice and the price seemed reasonable for that time of year. The room was well appointed and very clean. The breakfast area was a little small but the overflow in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! we are pleased that you chose our hotel during your motorcycle ride through the Blue Ridge Mountains. We hope that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and in the local area. Many travellers do enjoy the change of the season in our mountains and we hope to be... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This is by far the worst hotel in the western part of the state of NC. I write this review in hopes that others will STAY AWAY from this place. They will double bill your credit card and then refuse to credit the additional amount. I made a reservation and they said that I was supposed to stay the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We do apologize for the issue you encountered regarding your stay. We would like to inform you that all actions were taken and was brought to the highest level of company departments. Everything possible was reviewed and we still apologize that we were not able to refund the money that was charged. All staff are informed and know... More 

Hernando, MS
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Our stay was satisfactory, room was good, nice looking facility, a little challenging to find/get too. Pretty much what you expect in conveniences. Probably the main factor in evaluating was the personnel. None of the 3-4 clerks we dealt with were rude-just not very interested in their clients. The cost was la little higher than average and this is hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review based on your stay at the Comfort Inn in Marion NC. We noticed that you encountered poor customer service and we want you to know that this will be brought to the proper department for review. We do hope that you will understand that this will be an isolated issue and hope that you... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
264 hotel reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Check in was quick and efficient. They have a popcorn machine in the lobby and they had fresh popcorn available. The hotel is two floors with an elevator at one end. It is a long walk down a hall to some of the rooms. Our king bedded room was large and comfortable. There was a desk and an easy chair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review aobut the Comfort Inn in Marion NC. We read that your stay was pleasant but had some concerns about a few things. In regards to the tv in the rooms, those are new and part of the upgrades that were done to the hotel this past year as well as the entire bedding and... More 

NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Definitely not worth the $170 a night. We weren't given our discount because "he isn't willing this weekend", (not sure who HE is) but while we were standing there checking in, the clerk gave the AAA discount to another guest reserving on the phone checking in late the same day. I wonder if they would have it stripped away when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review regarding your stay here at the Comfort Inn in Marion, NC. We provide lodging to many guests through the year. Due to it being the busy season during your stay the hotels in all locations will adjust rates accordingly to their own accords. If you booked through another site for your stay you were... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

By far the worst run Comfort Inn I've ever visited. The room had very obviously been smoked in, even though it was sold as a nonsmoking room. I smelled it at soon as I walked in the door. The clerk at the front desk said there weren't any other rooms except a suite and that her supervisor would be angry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

First let me thank you for your review/feedback regarding your stay and experience at the Comfort Inn. Each guest we encounter on a daily basis has various experiences and issues. We work hard to make sure that each guest is accomodated the best we can. Our rooms are cleaned daily and to have a non-smoking room smoked in is not... More 

Wingate, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

My g'son " Patch " and I had a memorable stay at the very clean Comfort Inn in Marion NC this past weekend. The only soiled area I noticed was a few pieces of popcorn in the hallway, but hey, it was popped on the spot and free to guests, and cleaned up by morning. Believe me, the 6 yr.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay here at the Comfort Inn in Marion,NC. You mentioned that during your stay that the popcorn was great, especially for your grandson, and that the staff was wonderful throughout your stay. This information will be shared with all staff as continued positive feedback about the service they provide to... More 

New Bern, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Hotel was fairly easy to find being 6 miles from the Interstate, but the driveway is located behind a vacant building (almost thought the vacant building was the hotel lobby!) and a Taco Bell. Sonic & KFC within walking distance. I don't think the lady checking us in, who was also the lady checking us out the next morning, smiled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here at the Comfort Inn in Marion, NC. We do apologize for the inconvenience with the entrance to the hotel. This is the only entrance that we are allowed to have for the hotel due to the location we are at. The concern you have with the... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

This is an average Comfort Inn. Their signage on the road (70) in "front" of the building is difficult to see at night. It isn't lit and the hotel is behind a vacant building and between two fast food restaurants--so difficult to see it. If I owned this Comfort Inn, I'd do something about the drive to enter the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review !! We appreciate and value all postings and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had regarding the entrance to the hotel. We are only allowed the one entrance due to our location. It was a long journey in completing our remodeling and hope that everyone will be able to stay... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I called from the highway as we were approaching Marion to reserve a room. I spoke with Gloria on the phone and she was very helpful. Once we arrived at the hotel, she was able to recommend a place for dinner. Our room was sparkling clean, comfortable bed, and spacious. Breakfast the following morning was very good, too. We didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNC844, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and how wonderful your stay was here at the Comfort Inn. I will be pleased to let our staff member know that she was very helpful in providing you with all your needs. This shows us that our staff is doing all that we can for each and every guest that stays here at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 178 Highway 70 West, 221 Bypass & Hwy 70, Marion, NC 28752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Marion
Marion Comfort Inn

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Comfort Inn

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby