We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lake Lure accommodations

Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins

Save
You added Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins to your Saves list
122 Harris Road, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Hotel amenities
Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Lure
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Hill House for two weeks, everything was what we hoped for and more, beautiful setting and accomodation, we spent most of our days at the boat dock swimming in the lake, Susan and Martyn are the perfect hosts nothing was too much trouble (where to visit and eat)a very memorable holiday, which we would very much like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was more than I was hoping for! My wife was very pleasantly surprised to spend our weekend here. Everything was very nice, with lot's of small thoughtful touches. I would highly recommend it. We stayed at the "Hill House" and had a wonderful time. Will visit again as we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We booked a three day weekend. The cabin we wanted was only available for two nights. Martyn put us in the larger Nuthatch cabin at no additional cost. It was nice having extra space for dressing and storing. Unfortunately, our visit was a series of disappointments. First off, the sofa in the main area of the cabin was stained and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins, responded to this review

We are very sorry that the reviewers did not enjoy their stay with us probably due in part to the terrible weather we had that weekend it poured with rain the whole weekend 5.5 inches on the Saturday alone. I do owe them an apology though, but ,due to the fact that they did not mention any of the above... More 

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Most of the reviews, which liked the Grafton Inn, were from people who had booked cabins. We were not so lucky. We were given a small room that smelled overwhelmingly of mildew and mold; I doubt if the room had been seen fresh air in months. The bathroom was relatively large. To say that the room suffered from neglect and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins, responded to this review

We are very sorry the reviewers did not enjoy their stay with us, but this review is very malicious and completely unwarranted !!!. The room is not small 280 square feet, the free Wi Fi does work, so do the blinds and the room does not smell musty. Unfortunately on the first night of their stay the whole town had... More 

San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night after visiting the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We just didn't want to drive all the way back to our family's house. We had the Acorn Cabin. Susan, the owner I think, was very easy to work with and was very friendly. The cabin was great. It was really chilly and when we arrived, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your comments and your business. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Martyn & Sue. More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I can't rave enough about our week in the Nuthatch cabin! We visited last month (March) and had an amazing time! Martyn & Susan are amazingly sweet and so accommodating! It rained almost the entire week we were there and the first day it was sunny was the day we were due to leave. A quick call to Susan and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for the really nice comments we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. I certainly hope you get a lot better weather next time. Thanks again. Martyn & Sue. More 

Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I have been together for 6 years and married for 2. We decided to take an escape to the mountains for our anniversary. The pictures online looks as if it was a great place to vacation. When we arrived at the cabin, I was a little mislead. The TV in the living room is about 19-20 inches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins, responded to this review

We are very sorry the reviewer did not enjoy their stay with us but they did not mention any of their issues during their stay or when they left so it is impossible for us to validate them. The reviewer stayed with us for 4 days and had ample opportunities to voice her concerns, we live on site. We did... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We came down dec 28th spur of the moment and had the worse time finding a place to stay. Everything closes for the season and most of them didnt even answer the phone. Theres only a few rinky dinky hotels and tons of bed and breakfasts.we looked at 1 that smelled like a ash tray but someone walked into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. Looking at your comments we must apologize for not explaining to you how our system works. We have five rooms in the lodge four have there own balcony all the rooms have full use of the breakfast room at the lodge it has separate seating for five couples. You can also use the... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our family of four stayed in the Nuthatch Cabin for a one night getaway. We absolutely loved it! We opened the door to the cabin to find the faux fireplace going and the lights on. The owners had it all prepared for a warm welcome! What a cozy way to start out our getaway! The owners were gracious enough to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, so pleased we could accommodate you and your family. You must come back again in the summer, the kids would love playing in the Lake at our private boat dock. Martyn & Susan More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We just got home from a short 2-night stay in the Chestnut Cabin, a quick, relaxing getaway before the busy holiday season. Everything was wonderful & we can't wait to visit again! The cabins are convenient enough to main roads, but secluded enough that it really felt like a retreat. The Chestnut Cabin is charming and warm, very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in future. Martyn & Susan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Lodge & Acorn Cabins

Address: 122 Harris Road, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Lake Lure

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay