We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grafton Lodge

Hotel website
122 Harris Road, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grafton Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grafton Lodge
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This B&B is set in the lovely terrain of lake lure. The room was wonderful and clean. Rooms have a mini fridge, plenty of towels, large showers, and the bed was comfortable. The owners are very nice and helpful. We would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed from April 23-26, 2015 in the balcony room of the Grafton Lodge. We added the Biltmore, Chimney Rock, and the private lake tour with Martyn to our stay. The balcony room was perfect! Plenty of room for 2. Clean and well kept! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was amazing after hiking Chimney Rock! The private... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SENECA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to a surprise 50th birthday party at the nearby La Strada restaurant. The Grafton Lodge was perfectly situated just a half mile away. Actually, it was a shot in the dark, as we had never stayed over night in Lake Lure before. The hostess, Susan, was simply charming from the time of booking over the telephone to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We stayed at Hill House for two weeks, everything was what we hoped for and more, beautiful setting and accomodation, we spent most of our days at the boat dock swimming in the lake, Susan and Martyn are the perfect hosts nothing was too much trouble (where to visit and eat)a very memorable holiday, which we would very much like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Rachel. Thank for the great review, we are so pleased that your family enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future. Martyn & Sue More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

It was more than I was hoping for! My wife was very pleasantly surprised to spend our weekend here. Everything was very nice, with lot's of small thoughtful touches. I would highly recommend it. We stayed at the "Hill House" and had a wonderful time. Will visit again as we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review, so pleased we could a part of your great anniversary weekend and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Martyn & Sue. More 

Sandy Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We booked a three day weekend. The cabin we wanted was only available for two nights. Martyn put us in the larger Nuthatch cabin at no additional cost. It was nice having extra space for dressing and storing. Unfortunately, our visit was a series of disappointments. First off, the sofa in the main area of the cabin was stained and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry that the reviewers did not enjoy their stay with us probably due in part to the terrible weather we had that weekend it poured with rain the whole weekend 5.5 inches on the Saturday alone. I do owe them an apology though, but ,due to the fact that they did not mention any of the above... More 

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Most of the reviews, which liked the Grafton Inn, were from people who had booked cabins. We were not so lucky. We were given a small room that smelled overwhelmingly of mildew and mold; I doubt if the room had been seen fresh air in months. The bathroom was relatively large. To say that the room suffered from neglect and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry the reviewers did not enjoy their stay with us, but this review is very malicious and completely unwarranted !!!. The room is not small 280 square feet, the free Wi Fi does work, so do the blinds and the room does not smell musty. Unfortunately on the first night of their stay the whole town had... More 

San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night after visiting the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We just didn't want to drive all the way back to our family's house. We had the Acorn Cabin. Susan, the owner I think, was very easy to work with and was very friendly. The cabin was great. It was really chilly and when we arrived, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your comments and your business. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Martyn & Sue. More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I can't rave enough about our week in the Nuthatch cabin! We visited last month (March) and had an amazing time! Martyn & Susan are amazingly sweet and so accommodating! It rained almost the entire week we were there and the first day it was sunny was the day we were due to leave. A quick call to Susan and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the really nice comments we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. I certainly hope you get a lot better weather next time. Thanks again. Martyn & Sue. More 

Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I have been together for 6 years and married for 2. We decided to take an escape to the mountains for our anniversary. The pictures online looks as if it was a great place to vacation. When we arrived at the cabin, I was a little mislead. The TV in the living room is about 19-20 inches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martyn4711, Owner at Grafton Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry the reviewer did not enjoy their stay with us but they did not mention any of their issues during their stay or when they left so it is impossible for us to validate them. The reviewer stayed with us for 4 days and had ample opportunities to voice her concerns, we live on site. We did... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (40)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question