We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moran Motel

PO Box 76, Kure Beach, NC
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Moran Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please be careful if you stay here. My family went to the beach for two nights.Saturday night we had to stay in Wilmington,no vacancies,any where else.Sunday night we moved closer to the beach.This motel was right across the street.The price was good.The staff was friendly,but the next morning my husband woke up with bug bites all over him. We thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronnie P, Owner at Moran Motel, responded to this review

It is apparent that the sole purpose of this reviewer is to smear and besmirch the reputation of an otherwise fine establishment. We here at Moran Motel take great pride in the cleanliness and proper care of our rooms for our guest, just read some of our other fine reviews, not to mention our perfect score of 100 on our... More 

Summersville, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

( The Good Stuff ) The staff is very friendly. House keeping is great. They change your sheets, vacuum, clean, everyday. I'm always worried about if a motel washes the top comforter, and they do here. Most rooms have a small kitchen. I've never seen a roach!! It is pretty convenient for not being ocean front. Hop, skip and jump... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flint, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

I was going through a divorce, and I stayed here with my three children, for a couple of weeks. The hostess went out of her way to check up on me and my kids. I was alone and afraid and hurt and they were there for us. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, it was near the season end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

This is the best place has the bestest hosts anyone could ask for. We stayed here and our vehicle was broke down for 3 of the 7 days we were there. But we had no worries the Pearmans offered to take us anywhere and everywhere we needed or wanted to go. They also offered us the use of their personal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellenboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Bed bugs. Told us they were beetles. Room smelled like smoke. Still got charged for the room. Old and outdated. Needs alot of work. Will never stay here again. Love the beach but without this place. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronnie P, Owner at Moran Motel, responded to this review

While we here at Moran Motel welcome all reviews both positive and negative, so that we may strive to provide the best possible service for all our guest, I must respond to this particular review, in order to set the record straight, on what actually occurred during this couple's stay. Management was in fact notified by the couple that there... More 

Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

This motel needs updating however, it was clean and the rooms were good size. The bathroom/shower was really small but still manageable. Owner was super nice and helpful when we initially called. It was located around other hotels so for where we need to be, it was a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Loved everyone there nice and quiet! The owners are so friendly. We love talking to them. Also, right across from the pier and beach. Perfectly priced! I always will go back. Our family has rented the cottage right beside it and it was lovely. Don't let the old look scare you away! They are very clean!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We discovered this gem last year in late fall. Perfect for those who love the beach and want a quiet stay. The owners were gems and this specific beach trip is still one of my favorite memories of all time. Plenty of room, super clean, wonderful service. I have no complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millington TN, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We are currently staying at the Moran and we absolutely love it! My family has stayed many times at the Moran since it was built in the 60's. If you are looking for peaceful and clean, then this is the place to stay. If you are looking for all of the frills of current day hotel chains, then you may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We booked our room 3 hours before we got there. They were so nice and gave us a big enough room for all 7 of us! Best service! A nice place, clean rooms, and complete kitchen! Loved it! We will stay here again and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
1.7 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 17 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.8 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#11 of 17 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.7 mi away
SeaWitch Motel
SeaWitch Motel
#8 of 17 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities