We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Inn

208 E New Bern Rd, Kinston, NC 28504 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Save
You added River Inn to your Saves list
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was disgusting I don't even know where to start, when we first entered the room we immediately noticed a horrible smell, the chairs in the room were stained we saw cock roaches, the people staying next to us argued half of the night, every piece of furniture was outdated the only modern item in sight was the flat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovelydays35
prakash r, Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not have a pleasant stay,you must not be having a good day,it was raining and because of the bridge construction our high speed wi-fi goes time to time, but, we do have high speed wi-fi, you should have complained about the noise and it would have been handled the same time. More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Rooms are awful and dirty. Surroundings are sketchy. Staff seemed nice but when I asked about the renovated rooms, I was assured I had one. If the room was Renovated it was when the hotel opened. Cracked lamp shades, dirty walls, dirty carpet.

Helpful?
Thank VAQueen
prakash r, Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

The hotel is a safe place and the rooms are clean, they might be old but, the sheets and towels are new and clean. I am sorry you thought it was dirty. More 

Travelers are raving about these Kinston hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

The lobby isn't open, room 103 is the check in. The walls had unprepared cracks. The place is old without any recent upgrades. AC would not work correctly. Did I mention it was old?find another hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
prakash r, Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

I looked on all the guest name and I did not find you,so kindly send me a message of what room you stayed in More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

Did not get the room we reserved. Wanted river view room. Room smelled like cigarettes. dresser drawers were dirty. air conditioner kept shutting off. pool was drained. I do not recommend this to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank James R
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

For the past eight months, I've been taking a class Lenoir Community College, just down the street, and have stayed at this hotel each time I was in town. The rooms have always been extremely clean, and are cleaned daily. The staff is very nice, and if you need anything at all, they will take care of it as quickly... More 

Helpful?
Thank crispy362
prakash r, General Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Chris and wish you all the best in your profession,my regards to your Dad More 

North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I checked into the River Inn fairly late on a Saturday evening and was kindly greeted by the couple who owned it. I believe the rate was $50 which included a clean room with a king-size bed, a newer flatscreen TV with DISH network, a refrigerator and microwave. I couldn't have asked for more for the money and was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tall P
Dillon, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Motel is under renovations. Room was clean with microwave, refrigerator, and hair dryer. Room rate was $51.00. Motel is next to the Neuse River. A nice view. For an inexpensive restful night this is the motel for you.

Helpful?
Thank 8NC
Corolla, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

My classmate and I stayed at the River Inn for a week while taking a course at the community college. They allowed and welcomed dogs! Staff was very nice and helpful- we did not request room service, but they brought us fresh towels and amenities each day. It is a nice location on the banks of the river and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Falco17
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

Clean property, comfy bed, pet friendly and room to park 18 wheeler. The manager and his wife were very friendly and made our check in a breeze. Continental breakfast available. Stay here any time you are in town!

Helpful?
Thank LAtoTN
Ulysses, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I stayed here for four days the first week of Sept 2014. It is undergoing a renovation and the folks are very nice. I had a very nice room for the price and they allow dogs. I travel with my Min Pin so this is important. I liked the tiled floors and good air conditioning. Place was very clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura K

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay