We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Kill Devil Hills hotels

Comfort Inn On The Ocean

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn On The Ocean to your Saves list
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Lance A
  • Overview
  • Reviews (261)
  • Photos (90)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (99)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    48
    24
    33
See reviews for
91
109
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was in a great location and the front desk were nice. Took a little bit to get checked in but we were offered a better room for the same price so that was good. The room was ok. For what we paid, it could have been in a little better shape. The bathroom needed some work-toilet seat was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We strive for every guest to feel comfortable and enjoy their stay. We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your visit with us. The concerns you had regarding the bathroom have been corrected. Thank you for letting us know. We also agree with you about the view.....it... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For the price (about half of the other ocean view king rooms) it was great! The pluses: the price was great, the breakfast was very good and the gentleman taking care of it was all over it, the view was very nice, the section of beach was not too crowded, the staff was very pleasant and the place is exceptionally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We agree with you about the great view. You can't get much closer to the sunrise and the photo opportunities are outstanding. We also are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. We like to think that it is the... More

north carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For the amount I paid to stay in this hotel (yes, peak-season- but still) I was extremely disappointed. Nothing 3 stars about this place. Very outdated. My room smelled like body odor. Two of the lamps didn't work. Coffee maker didn't work. Hair all over the bathroom. Found a baby's bottle of milk in my fridge. The whole experience was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us and for the difficulties you experienced. The goal of our entire staff is to ensure that our guests are happy, comfortable, and enjoy their time with us. The condition you described is definitely not a normal... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed recently with a group - 10 rooms, 19 people and we had excellent service. No problems with room types and everyone was happy! Food in the lobby was excellent, loved the pool and the beach was only steps away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure that every guest is happy and has a great stay with us. We are happy to hear that we met the goal with you. We hope to see you on your next visit to The Outer Banks!... More

Midwest
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice beachfront hotel. Room with oceanfront view and balcony. Only downside was windows were not washed - covered in salt brine from the ocean. Stayed there two nights... second day got a hand towel soaked in water and cleaned windows myself. WOW. Great view! LOL. There is some remodeling going on - getting to room requires stairs to get to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Although we are embarrassed that your windows were not clean for you, we are glad that you thought the view spectacular. It will be hard for you to get closer to the sunrise without being in a boat.... More

Nashville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Honestly, this hotel was not THAT bad. The hotel itself was sort of dated, packed, and busy. It was two separate buildings, which was weird. But I expect that's what most beachfront hotels are like. There were lots of families staying there, but no one was really annoying or rude. Having the beach super accessible (right out the back door)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is true that our location on the beach is perfect. We are sorry to hear that Arthur put a damper on your plans and hope that you do decide to join us again on... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We started on the 4th floor in a very dingy and dated room. I could see outside from under the balcony door. When we discovered that our cable didn't work we were offered a different room. The staff at the front desk was absolutely awesome. Every time we went through the lobby, they were always very pleasant and seemed genuinely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the difficulty you had with your original room. We are glad however that it was quickly resolved. Providing great customer service is something all of our staff strives for and I'm glad that their goal was met with you. We do hope that you... More

Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is located near a lot of area attractions. We enjoyed the abundant food at breakfast. Better variety than at a lot of hotels. Disappointed that only one computer was available at business center and it always seemed to be in use. The computer was in a front hallway and would not afford much if any privacy during use.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We agree with you that our breakfast selection is great. We like to think that it is the best complimentary breakfast on the beach. We realize that the elevators may seem unusual, but having two allows our guests a better ease of access to the rooms. Thank you again for letting... More

Newport News, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We just made an impromptu trip to Nags Head and stayed two nights here. We got a really good deal as it is not high season yet and our room was not on the ocean side of the hotel. As others have said, the hotel is old and undergoing renovations. We were never bothered by the work crews so that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know. We are also glad you felt that your room was comfortable and that our staff treated you great. We know you hated to leave, but look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to The Outer... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked five nights and picked this hotel as it was ideally located in the Outer Banks. The staff on the front desk were very polite and helpful. We paid a little extra for the ocean view and it was well worth it. Breakfast was super and the constant supply of coffee 24 hours a day in the reception area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our entire staff is happy to hear that you enjoyed your week with us. We are glad that your room was comfortable and that our central location was just what you were looking for. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks! Thank you again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Comfort Inn On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills #8 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
105

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer