We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shutters on the Banks

Hotel website
405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shutters on the Banks
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shutters on the Banks
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    213
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
247
218
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (611)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (279)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (154)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went here to enjoy the ocean, but we were very surprised. We traveled with another family and both rooms were dirty and had bug. We were to stay for 2 days but left after one night. I will say that the manager did refund our stay and he seemed to understand the problem. It is a nice place but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry that we have disappointed you. Please understand that we strive to exceed our guests expectations by providing them with the best and again accept our apologies for failing you. We sincerely hope that you would consider us when you travel in the area. Sincerely, Simone Ryan More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at Shutters on the Banks for 3 nights, and had a very pleasant experience. The reason I rated it "Very Good" is because our room was not cleaned the first day -- we were in the room when housekeeping came by and we asked them to return later, but they never did. The next morning, I asked that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor. Although you had enjoyed your stay with us it seems like we have failed you in certain areas. Please accept our most sincere apologies. Our housekeeping team has been with us for more than 5 years and they are definitively aware of how high our standards of cleanliness are... More 

Athens, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent 2 nights at SotB hotel with a family of four. Nice location (access to the beach by foot), the hotel has an indoor pool, a jacuzzi and a small fitness center (also an outdoor pool but we did not use it in April). The breakfast is OK, nothing spectacular, just a regular breakfast. They have a nice outdoor patio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for falling short on your stay. It very disappointing that some guests are not considerate of others. We could have asked them to keep the noise down if you have informed us. Thank you for bringing the issues to our attention. Moving forward we will walk the floors more frequently and we will also make better... More 

Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked our trip based on other reviews. We were excited because we received an email saying that we were "upgraded" because of repairs and also discounted 50%. When we arrived we got a room on the first floor right by the servicing area. Not an upgrade in my opinion. My husband asked for another room but there was non available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Please do not let this inconvenience stop you from returning to our property as we strive to exceed our guests expectations every single day. I would like to discuss your experience with our property in details. Please email me at... More 

New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We choose this place because of the proximity to everything we wanted to do and the other good reviews. Everyone is friendly. The breakfast is pretty standard for a hotel. The property is just over the dune so you're right on the water. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. I can't give 5 stars because the walls are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of our property on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for not being able to provide you with the peace and quietness you were looking for. We will advise our team members to better qualify the guest while making the reservation. When you return please ask to be placed in the tower building. The... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. We arrived Monday afternoon, the only issues encountered during the stay was initially being put in an incorrect room (we had booked an efficiency and were placed in a standard room) - that was immediately corrected. Then halfway through the stay our key card stopped working, which again was immediately corrected. While the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that we have exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to deliver an outstanding service to each and every one and this is what differ us from the competition. We feel blessed and fortunate to have such great team members. Thank you... More 

Candler, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have never been to the Outer Banks before and after searching and reading reviews we decided to stay at Shutters. Best Hotel experience ever! It was my husband, myself and our 3 young children and we stayed in the efficiency room 116 from Fri. March 27 through Sun. April 5th. At check-in Tonya was extremely nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. You have placed a great smile on my face and I am so thankful to you for acknowledging our team members. Their endeavors are commendable and they are a great asset for our exclusive boutique hotel. We are looking forward to serving you again and to making memories together. Sincerely,... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second time staying here. It's definitely clean however it is in major need of some sprucing up! We stayed on the bottom end room this last time and it was extremely noises especially early in the morning. The first time we stayed on the 2nd or 3rd floor and it wasn't as bad. If you're staying and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I definitively agree with you as our housekeeping team has been with us for a number of years and they understand that our high standards for clean and impeccable rooms. And they work very hard to achieve the cleanliness result as everyone being located right on the ocean is a... More 

Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at Shutters quite a few times at different times of year. We have continued to stay because of the cheap races and decent rooms. However, we have had a different experience the last time we have stayed. We had a room on the bottom floor of the main building, right next to the ice machine/ laundry room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Our Breakfast is well supplied with waffles, hard boiled eggs and sausage and gravy. I will investigate to find out why it was limited while you were here. Please accept my apologies for falling short in that area. Please do... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. They were very accommodating to my family and let us check in early so my baby could nap. Hotel was clean and our room was nice. We stayed in one of the king junior suites. Would definitely stay again. Hotel was a little loud at times but that was not the hotels fault.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

We are thankful that you have taken the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It is refreshing to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. We will be looking forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Simone Ryan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

420 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (174)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Dune View (26)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (4)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Sunrise Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Tower Room with Dune View (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question