We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Kill Devil Hills hotels

Shutters on the Banks

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Shutters on the Banks
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
kitkat1219 Casselberry, Florida
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    203
    62
    28
    12
See reviews for
240
204
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (578)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (279)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (154)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Casselberry, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved it so much I extended my stay an additional night! Traveling for business. Nice to end the day at such a wonderful place. The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was very spacious and the view was fantastic! This is my second stay here. The first time for vacation, this time for business. Perfect location for both.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that we have exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to deliver an outstanding service to each and every one and this is what differ us from the competition. We feel blessed and fortunate to have such great team members. Thank you... More 

Summerfield, North Carolina
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here over Thanksgiving. Had a two queen room over looking parking lot ($59 per night) If you want a water view you must ask to be on the top floor of the tower building. Our room was nice a well appointed. Beds slept fine. Water pressure was great. The sink did not drain well so we let the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that we have exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to deliver an outstanding service to each and every one and this is what differ us from the competition. We feel blessed and fortunate to have such great team members. Thank you... More 

Hertford, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on Friday evening with 2 hungry kids - front desk clerk was EXTREMELY helpful in area restaurants. Checked out Saturday morning - front desk clerks were great! Room was perfect. Indoor pool!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our team members are our pride and we are blessed and fortunate to have them. Thank you for acknowledging their effort and for recognizing them. Looking forward to serving you again and again.... More 

Coventry, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was a good size, hotel nice and clean, however the bathroom, and sink vanity in the bathroom was tiny which is why I give it a 4 out of 5. I would definitely stay their again. The breakfast area a little tight, but very good. Adam (I think his name was), and the rest of the staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

We are thankful that you have taken the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It is refreshing to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. Yes Adam is a gem and we are fell blessed to have him. We will be looking forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Simone More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

"Looks" like a nice place on the outside and the pictures. Lobby very nice. Indoor pool area nice but the hot tub jets were broken. This was one of the main reasons we stayed there, to use the Hot tub. From the way the friendly front desk staff member spoke, it had been broken for days and they were waiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed that you did not receive the service and accommodations that you deserved. Please accept my most sincere apologies for falling short on your stay. All the issues that you have brought up will definitively be addressed with our management team and corrected. Thank... More 

Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had a great time the hotel is great the room is clean and the employees very nice the beach is breathtaking. the sunset was awesome. we'll be back there.the suite is great. the rooms on the ocean vue are fantastic the vue of the sunset is spectacular we loved to wake up with the sound of the ocean

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again when you come back. Sincerely, Simone. More 

Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I, had a great time at the Shutters on the banks. The staff were very professional and friendly. They exceeded our expectations. The beach was breathtaking. The sun set Spectacular. While there we saw a wedding on the beach. Awesome! The location of this hotel is great!. The price are affordable. The breakfast every morning was delicious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that we have exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to deliver an outstanding service to each and every one and this is what differ us from the competition. We are looking forward to serving you again when you return. Warmest Regards! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were able to get a king studio room for less than $100 due to being off season. The rooms were clean and nice. The pics promoted online are not quite like the typical room but they are still nice. The staff was friendly as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It seems like you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for falling short on your stay. Can you please call me at 252 441 5581 or email me at simone@shuttersonthebanks.com to discuss your experience with us. We hope that you... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Average quality hotel ( average price) you get what you pay for. Staff on check in duty was working on a need to know basis and seemed reluctant to offer information. ( code for wifi, code for swimming pool) it was like getting blood out of a stone! Heated indoor swimming pool with towels. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for falling short on your stay. We are striving to exceed our guests expectations and we are sorry that you did not receive the service you deserve. I would like to discuss your experience with us. Please call me at 252 441 5581 or email me at... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well found hotel, 2 pools and excellent beach location. Room big and comfy, typical hotel type and a little impersonal. Breakfast limited as is often the case, but it was included! Staff helpful and friendly, indoor pool was welcomed after a long day exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Our Breakfast is well supplied with waffles, hard boiled eggs and sausage and gravy. I will investigate to find out why it was limited while you were here. Please accept my apologies for falling short in that area. Please do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills

403 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Dune View (26)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (4)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Sunrise Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Tower Room with Dune View (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay