We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Kill Devil Hills hotels

Shutters on the Banks

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Shutters on the Banks
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
ipotey Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    201
    62
    27
    12
See reviews for
237
203
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (572)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (279)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (151)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we had a great time the hotel is great the room is clean and the employees very nice the beach is breathtaking. the sunset was awesome. we'll be back there.the suite is great. the rooms on the ocean vue are fantastic the vue of the sunset is spectacular we loved to wake up with the sound of the ocean

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again when you come back. Sincerely, Simone. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were able to get a king studio room for less than $100 due to being off season. The rooms were clean and nice. The pics promoted online are not quite like the typical room but they are still nice. The staff was friendly as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It seems like you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for falling short on your stay. Can you please call me at 252 441 5581 or email me at simone@shuttersonthebanks.com to discuss your experience with us. We hope that you... More

Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Average quality hotel ( average price) you get what you pay for. Staff on check in duty was working on a need to know basis and seemed reluctant to offer information. ( code for wifi, code for swimming pool) it was like getting blood out of a stone! Heated indoor swimming pool with towels. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for falling short on your stay. We are striving to exceed our guests expectations and we are sorry that you did not receive the service you deserve. I would like to discuss your experience with us. Please call me at 252 441 5581 or email me at... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well found hotel, 2 pools and excellent beach location. Room big and comfy, typical hotel type and a little impersonal. Breakfast limited as is often the case, but it was included! Staff helpful and friendly, indoor pool was welcomed after a long day exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Our Breakfast is well supplied with waffles, hard boiled eggs and sausage and gravy. I will investigate to find out why it was limited while you were here. Please accept my apologies for falling short in that area. Please do... More

New Braunfels, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice, clean place to stay. Great view, with a wooden path to the beach, and outdoor showers. Bring your swimsuit, there is an indoor and outdoor pool. Friendly staff AND military discount

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our team members are always going above and beyond to fulfill every guest needs and wants. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts. And yes please bring your swimsuit ! Sincerely, Simone R. More

Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked an Ocean View room and was pleased to find that the room truly had a beautiful view of the ocean over a dune. The Staff were all cheerful and friendly from the front desk to housekeeping. The place gives a feel of a boutique hotel. There are rooms at this hotel with poor or no views , but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that we have exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to deliver an outstanding service to each and every one and this is what differ us from the competition. We are looking forward to serving you again when you return. Warmest Regards!... More

Poquoson, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shutters had that "beachy" feel. The hotel was very clean and the staff were so nice and friendly. We were on the 4th floor and had a beautiful view of the ocean. The room had white shutters which is a refreshing change from the typical, tacky drapes. The beds had lots of pillows and the sheets and bedspread was soft... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our property. What an excellent review! I completely agree with you ...the 4th floor rooms offer a spectacular view of the ocean. We are looking for to serving you again. Sincerely, Simone More

Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed a hotel that was close to the OBX race. We just needed something small, we live about 2 hours away and are frequent visitors of the Outer banks so we needed convenience, efficiency and a good deal. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were close enough to the race that we could eat the free breakfast, make it to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

We are thankful that you have taken the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It is refreshing to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. We will be looking forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Simone More

Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My brother & sister in law visited from Canada and I wanted us to see Nags Head so we came across the Shutters on the Banks on Trip Advisor. The price was just exactly what we wanted to pay and imagine our delight when we were on the first floor (no stairs) and the room was clean, attractive and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

What a great review to post here on Trip Advisor! We really appreciate you recognizing that our breakfast is well supplied. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Breakfast buffet unlike other hotels chains we offer a complete buffet with waffles and much more. I will make sure to share your comments with Jamie! Do you know... More

Brevard
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Shutters to celebrate our anniversary. While the location can't be beat, and the view from our Tower 4th floor room was terrific, the accommodations themselves left a lot to be desired, especially considering that it cost us almost $500 for 3 nights during the off season. First, the furniture and decor were very shabby, worn, and dated.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone R, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. You are absolutely right the view is SPECTACULAR FROM THE FOURTH FLOOR! We are very sorry that you did not receive the service that you deserved. Please understand that even if we fail short on your stay we are striving to exceed our guests expectations. Some renovations... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

352 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (169)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (4)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Sunrise Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay