We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Kill Devil Hills hotels

Outer Banks Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Hotel amenities
Outer Banks Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outer Banks Inn to your Saves list
81%
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
cshepard01
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    62
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
61
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I very much enjoyed my time at the Outer Banks Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful, it was quiet and in a great location. It's an easy walk to the beach and there's a 24-hour pharmacy right down the street. Their prices are the best, and the continental breakfast was much better than I expected. There is one exception,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Outer Banks Inn was a new one for me. I typically stay a little farther south, but pay quite a bit more. For the money, the OBI was just fine. The staff was extremely friendly. I've read a lot of OBI reviews talking about the musty smell in 3rd floor rooms. I was on the 2nd floor and experienced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting with us and writing a review of the Outer Banks Inn Roy! We certainly are glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay including the location, the staff, and the amenities! We certainly hope that you will come back to visit us! There is a 20% discount for returning guests who book directly through us in... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, daughter and I all stayed here at the Outer Banks Inn during our very first visit to the OBX! We were here Sept 23-26. Our room was clean and the staff (all the way down to housekeeping) was all very nice to us. We did not get a chance to take in the breakfast that was offered at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Megan - that is so cool you came down to photograph the lighthouses. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the stay despite the noise. We are able to accommodate requests if you mention them when making the reservation, like staying in a room toward the interior. We are sorry that the noise kept you up and appreciate... More

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Based upon TripAdvisor reviews, we booked the Outer Banks Inn thinking it may at least be above average, especially considering the cost. To our dismay, the room was very dated with cheap towels and a constant bad musty smell. Altgough it's close to the beach and we found a great Thai restaurant within walking distance, our overall impression was poor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Hey "Geogman"! We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at the Outer Banks Inn. We offer low prices compared to other hotels on the Outer Banks. The Outer Banks Inn was updated and renovated in June of 2012. We are actively working on the musty smell, as this is a high humidity area. We do... More

Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

My room was comfortable and clean, and the location was convenient, very close to public beach access and the Wright Brothers Memorial. Unfortunately, my room was next to a door that was accessible to guests 24 hours, a day, thus my room was extremely noisy. You can also forget about an early check in. The breakfast served was good, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Jeannine - we are glad your room was clean and comfortable and that you found the location convenient. Next time you are going to stay, call to request a room closer to the middle of the building and we will certainly try and keep you away from the door. Guest rooms are guaranteed by 4pm, but we do allow early... More

Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

While the hotel staff is nice, I would not stay here again. As Brian M. mentions in his review, the Outer Banks are known for their beach house rentals, not the hotels/motels, but we went last minute and literally every house in Kill Devil Hills and Nags Head were booked, so based on TripAdvisor reviews, we booked the Outer Banks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely appreciate your detailed feedback. Reviews such as this help us improve and I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. I do apologize you were not placed together. When we are notified of this need the morning shift is typically very good about this. The humidity in the Outer Banks is relatively high and a battle... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This was our first time at the Inn (over labor day weekend) and it was a great stay. Staff was professional and accommodating, room was clean, amenities in the room (new tv, microwave, and fridge) were nice as well as the hotel amenities (beach shuttle, pool, warm cookies in the afternoon, continental breakfast). We drove about 3 miles to Jockey's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Hey there, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as a first-timer. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and the local flavor of OBX restaurants that are close to the hotel! We are so glad you slept like a baby, the Serta mattresses definitely are comfortable. We certainly hope that you return to the Outer Banks... More

Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Im not one for bad reviews but this place was not the best. I understand that the Outer Banks are not known for their hotels or motels but more for the beach house, however this place calls itself boutique. Far from it. The property was nice and located within walking distance to the beach and some good spots for entertainment.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Brian - I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the issues you seemed to encounter. The only air freshener we use is Febreeze however if too much was sprayed I do apologize. We have started working on the ceilings and will be re texturing them all to a more modern "knock-down" feel. I also apologize the bathroom was not satisfactory.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The staff are wonderful. Room very clean and beds are comfortable. Located near many places of interest. Restaurants within walking distance. Just a small walk to the beach. All the other reviews that praised this Inn are all true.Will come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that the staff met your needs, and that you enjoyed the room and the location! We appreciate the review, and remember the 20% off returning guest discount when you return!! Call us to book! More

Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel is old and musty and the "smoking area" is located on the stairwell directly outside the rooms. Our room door was located directly by the smoking area and there were employees of the hotel sitting in the stairwell smoking as we came in and went out. The staff was very nice, however as other reviews have mentioned, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Terri - It is always our goal to WOW our guests and it seems we failed to do so in your case. I sincerely apologize. The smoking urns are for guests who choose to smoke outside since we do not have smoking rooms however this is not for staff and that will be addressed. The owner has invested in this... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Outer Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn NC - Kill Devil Hills

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay