We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    24
    76
    54
    19
    15
See reviews for
61
75
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Deton, tx
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

When I began searching the internet for a place to stay in the vicinity, I didn't find any new hotels that I was familiar with. Most hotels here have been here for a long time. This Quality Inn is also an older one, but it has new carpet, paint, countertops, etc. It was very clean and well cared for. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our pleasure to be of service, hope to see you again soon. More 

Oxford, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent one night at this property. The King Suite was very large, with very comfortable bed. The outdated room decor needs a little flair and upgrading. If you are expecting an Ocean view, DO NOT settle for a first floor room. Most rooms are on either side, with only the few front rooms that are Oceanfront. Even those first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, General Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to respond to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Yes are limited on the number of rooms with a view as we are shaped like a T. Be sure if wanting a view that you inquire a VIEW room, we do front the Ocean. Safe Travels and Thank you for staying with the Quality Inn. More 

Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
63 hotel reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are going to the Outer Banks to be near the beach and the Wright Brothers memorial this hotel's location cannot be beat! you can see the Wright Brothers memorial from the hotel. The hotel is right on the beach, however there are large dunes that block the view of the beach from the first floor rooms facing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, General Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appriciate your comments and concerns, exterior facelift in the works for this winter, hope to see you again. More 

Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here very briefly for a wedding. It was recommended to me by the vrude Quiet, safe, friendly staff. Close to everything you need. Would stay again. Also offered breakfast but I didn't stay long enough to enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you soon in the near future. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

In the title of the hotel is oceanfront, however the hotel itself isn't, it stands sideways not facing the beach, for what you pay for, that's the least you would expect, the continental breakfast very minimal, Me and my fiance stayed two nights, the room wasn't what we had in mind, everything is outdated, even hard to turn off water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to Review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are concerned that you felt mislead on our name part of "Oceanfront" we to actually front and sit directly on the Ocean, yet not all rooms have an actual view, we are very careful to be sure and give accurate room discriptives and hope that the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What can I say we stayed at this hotel because it was steps to the beach and had reservations that did not require a week stay. And both those criteria were met by this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and honestly I wouldn't want to stay more than that here. No real complaints, just old hotel with outside facing rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel with Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you in the near furture and will have the fresh waffle ready for you :) safe travels. More 

Middlesex, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned from our first Outer Banks vacation. We stayed here 3 nights (2 adults, 1 teenage son). Our room (302) was well equipped with king bed and sleeper sofa, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and flat-screen TV. Ours was a parking lot room however we could also view the ocean without any problems. Nice pool and easy access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and glad that you had a great time on the Outer Banks. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future. Safe Travels More 

virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed 3 night in July 2012. It was a last minute trip. I liked the price. I searched and searched and this was the best deal I could find. We stayed last year at Comfort Inn on the Ocean. I liked that location better - I have 2 sons 16 and 22. There were fast food restuarants there they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, General Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to be of service and glad you enjoyed our amenties, we look forward to being of service to you in the future. More 

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I am so glad I didn't pay the extra outrageous prices some hotels wanted for being on the beach. This hotel was just what we wanted...on the beach, fair price, clean. We didn't try the breakfast, we were on vacation so slept in a litle;) This was just a "mini vacation" for us and we only stayed 2 days but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, General Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate you choosing to vacation with us and we look forward to being of service in the future. More 

Bluefield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just returned from a four night stay. I had read and researched A LOT to try to find a room that did not cost a small fortune. Conclusions (a) glad I did not pay the extra for a room facing the beach, since the motel is right there 'on' the beach, even a view facing the parking lot was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jackie S, General Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip advisor. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay here and the Outer Banks as well. Safe travels to you and yours and we are hoping we will see you again :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay