We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Kill Devil Hills hotels

Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront to your Saves list
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Cahollis Lexington TN
  • Overview
  • Reviews (163)
  • Photos (59)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (44)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    68
    45
    15
    14
See reviews for
54
62
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not impressed with this hotel at all; room was less than acceptable; needed cleaning & updating....commode was falling away from the wall; carpet was dirty. I would seek other accommodations when returning. Very noisy, but good beach access. Look at other spots before settling on this one!! Staff was good, breakfast was good!.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor we appreciate your comments and input and Thanks for allowing us to be of service to you. Safe Travels Always, Jackie Szymanski & Staff More

Concord, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I stayed here for a week and it was great, room was clean, great access to the beach and the staff was awesome. Wee will be going back next year and looking forward to staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor we appreciate you comments and input as they are important to us. We want to Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you. Safe Travels Always, Jackie Szymanski & Staff More

Front Royal, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here July 14-17. Staff - awesome, always seemed to want to help, whether it was local dining, towels, etc. Lodging - was okay, the room did smell sort of musty, but coastal musty. Perhaps a dehumidifier, bit after airing the room out, we were fine. The room was clean but old, so made for a comfortable stay. The tub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. We also appreciate you allowing us to be of service to you. Safe Travels Always, Jackie Szymanski & Staff More

Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here June 27th and 28th. Room was recently painted and overall very clean. Only downside to room is no fan, just a/c so feels a bit muggy and some staining on carpet by door, which I am sure is a hazard of rooms at the beach and having a swimming pool. Beach access next to pool is fantastic, ramp... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. We hope to be of service to you in the near future. Safe Travels Always, Jackie Szymanski & Staff More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The 2nd week of June 2014 we traveled to the Outer banks and stayed at the Quality Inn Oceanfront. We were joined by our Daughter, Son-in-law and 2 grandkids (ages 6 & 4). We had a great time! The hotel was clean and easily accessible. We enjoyed their large pool very much (preferred by the kids) and the ocean beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and comments and a Special Thanks for allowing us to be of service to you. Hope to see you soon. Jackie Szymanski & Staff More

Elkin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel was not new but it was clean. It had everything we needed. Good breakfast each morning with lots to choose from. Pool and easy beach access. Only problem was us paying extra for an ocean front room on 2nd floor with beach view. Not a very good view for the extra money. We were with a big group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to review us. We appreciate your comments and input. We hope that we can be of service to you in the near future. Safe Travels always, Jackie Szymanski & Staff More

Hampton, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My first trip to OBS was nearly ruined by this motel. The room seemed clean but very old at first. Upon closer inspection There was some type of powdered insecticide on the floor under the window (I have a small child) and the selves in the refrigerator were very rusted (who wants to put food on that). The tub was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

My Sincere apologies, if you would'nt mind calling me, I would like to discuss. I would reach out to you, but this site does not give me any sort of information, dates you stayed, name, etc. I hope to hear from you soon. More

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean except carpets are really dirty my feet turned black from all dirt in carpets, drippy facet in tub it didn't stop even turning it tight!! Plus thin walls someone cooking something stinky smell in our room & it smelled like wet pets @ times!! Wouldn't give us room facing ocean even though celebrating special occasion & they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, they are important to us. Hopefully those items were addressed in a timely manner for your comfort. Our Breakfast being a Deluxe Continental does have it's limits without be transformed into a restaurant according to the health department standards. We hope you had a great time and Thank you for... More

Roanoke, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here a week in a 3rd floor ocean view room with a balcony. This is really a motel, as most of the places are on the OBX. It works better when heading to the beach. This property is showing it's age and that is starting to work against it. The room was clean enough. Some of the finishes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be of service to you in the near future. Jackie Szymanski & Staff More

SAN DIEGO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Close to many restaurants and across from the Wright Monument. Hotel on the beach. Was a little older but good enough. A good price for on the beach. Parking was crowded. Breakfast was good - had meats & eggs. We enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you as well and we hope to see you soon. Safe Travels Always Jackie Szymanski & Staff More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Address: 401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
118

See which rooms travelers prefer