We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eldreth Inn

Certificate of Excellence
829 E Main St, US Highway 221 & NC 88, Jefferson, NC 28640-9743 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eldreth Inn At Mt. Jefferson)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eldreth Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Eldreth Inn
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
39
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Needed a last minute place to stay. This place fit the bill- clean, cheap, safe area, free breakfast. I'd stay here again. Quite motel. I asked to see the room before I stayed and the front office staff was super kind. Hot shower, clean room- couldn't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for the New Year and following weekend, 2015. The motel was built in the 1980s, but it has been updated. The rooms are very clean, and the staff are friendly. While the owners were out-of-town, no one was available to make repairs. Our phone was out of service the entire time we were there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business. I regret that I was out of town when you stayed or we could have taken care of the phone issue earlier. I'm happy that my staff moved you to another room due to other issues. We look forward to serving you in the future. More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

This hotel is a nice little motel in the old style where the rooms face out to the parking lot. The rooms are clean if not a little dated. The staff was very friendly and energetic. We had breakfast twice and the meal was class Southern and tasty - wait staff friendly and jovial! If you are a pampered princess,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for enjoying our breakfast. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently and had a pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well kept. You can tell it is an older lodge but with the price, location, ease of parking, and good experience with room/service that didn't matter to us. Thanks for a great stay. We'd be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future. More 

Concord, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for the past ten years. This past trip included, messing up the reservation, wet towels left on rack in bathroom when we arrived, tv speaker broken, smell of smoke in non smoking room, dresser drawers missing, rude breakfast staff, full length mirror was propped up in the corner of room. This used to be... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you had such a bad experience this stay. We are appreciative of your business throughout the years. We have since your last stay replaced the manager. As such we hope you will give us another try in the future as we plan to provide the good service you had for many years. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This hotel didn't look like much from the outside, but it was really clean and comfortable. The breakfast was better than what you will get at most other hotels and the staff was really accommodating. My only complaint is that I wish the bed had a heavier blanket or comforter. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business. Thanks for the shout out on our breakfast and staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Orlando, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Older Motel but very clean & quiet. Good value for cost. Have stayed there every year for a long time as I come to West Jefferson to buy Christmas Trees. Motel is close to shops and dining and also to near by popular tourist areas. (Boone)

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad that our staff was excellent and made your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to continuing to serve you in the years to come. More 

Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This place is older and fairly clean. We had a non smoking room but cigarette butts were all over the outside as were men smoking, and cooking on grills. There were several construction crews staying there but they weren't noisy. People at the front dest were very nice. Breakfast non so hot, as in cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting with us. We appreciate the business. I'm sorry that your breakfast was cold. That is not normally how we'd want to serve our guests. We do hope you'll give us a second chance. More 

Charlotte, NC, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at stay at Best Western in Jefferson, NC. It was quaint with the motel rooms with parking outside your door. It's been some time since I've stayed anywhere that is still offered. It is very convenient. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was well kept and had all the required linen. Next time I'm in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate the business. We are glad that you found everything to meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future. More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We had a room near the road and worried about noise but this was not a problem. The room was in an older block of the motel but adequate in furnishings and well equipped. There is a restaurant and a supermarket / grocery store within walking distance. Breakfast was waitress service and was either / or, cereal or scrambled eggs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK S, Owner at Eldreth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad that our motel was quieter than you expected. Our breakfast now has three options, in addition to cereal and eggs & bacon we've added the option of waffles. We do hope you'll give us another try in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question