We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CedarWood Inn

1510 Greenville Highway, Hendersonville, NC 28793
CedarWood Inn

35 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    7
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Gambrills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

My brothers and I have made the annual pilgrimage to East Flat Rock for the past several years to visit our dad. Cedarwood has been like a home to us! The rooms are so cozy for late night conversations and the porch swing offers a great start to your day. The homestyle breakfast provides such a nice variety and sharing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We selected CedarWood Inn for our golf trip in the mountains. We had the only room among the 18 rooms and cabins with 2 double beds and it was very clean with lovely sheets and towels. Breakfast is served in the Event Room, which is more like a living room in your own home, where you share your meal with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review our 1950's Inn. Part of our intention with keeping things retro to 1950 era is to remind everyone of the slower pace of life and simpler pleasures of that time. Doesn't mean you can't enjoy all the exciting and fast pace activities the WNC mountains can provide. There's still plenty of sitting-on-the-front-porch... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

CedarWood Inn EXCEEDED ALL EXPECTATIONS: affordable, clean, comfortable, with courteous personal service and amenities. The Continental Breakfasts are toothsome; CedarWood Inn is awash in books for the contemplative and curious, the furnishings are simple but tasteful and cozy, the owner and her staff leave no stone unturned to satisfy their guests and anticipate their needs. Hendersonville is a wonderful place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate very much your kind words. Your review was so encompassing of everything we try to expose our guests to of the 1950's Mom and Pop accommodations in WNC. Meant to provide a slower pace leaving you time to go and do whatever your heart desires in the mountains, read a book in the gazebo, play a game of... More 

Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Read that this was quaint, and an old time feel in lodging. Well, true, but maybe it was because it was Winter , I was very disappointed in accommodations . Room was very cold since the gas heater wasn't working and the electric radiator portable wasn't doing the trick. Had to ask for an additional heater just to get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments on your stay at our Inn. We are also disappointed that you did not have a favorable experience here. We use portable electric radiator heaters if problems occur with our natural gas heaters. However, it had not been turned on until your room was prepped and had only been on... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This is a quaint place with little cottages and porches. The room and bed was comfortable. There is a coffee maker in the room and a good cable television. Breakfast included yogurt, cheeses, bagels with different spreads, and pastries. The pastries were stale and obviously left over from a previous day. Hard boiled eggs would have added some protein. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

My apologies for being so tardy in responding to your review. We appreciate each review we get and although our intentions are to respond in timely fashion, our winter preparations did take up a lot of our time so we were late in this response. Thank you for your comments. Each one helps us to do better. We apologize for... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I wanted to take my boys on a spur of the moment trip out of the city for one night. I had looked for a cabin but no cabins would rent for just one night. I didn't want the typical hotel experience. I found Cedar Wood Inn on Tripadvisor. They looked like the perfect solution to the rustic yet quaint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Inn. It "warms the cockles of my heart" to hear young people enjoyed our 1950's Inn. All the local stops you made were a perfect topping to the whole experience. Memories like those don't leave -- ever! More 

Tampa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Before you book anywhere, know what you're looking for. This old place is not Microtel, or the Hyatt, or Hampton. There's no pool, no video games, and it's not fancy at all. For me, it's just fine, because I like old classic cars and if you like history, you may like this inn. It's quiet, clean and safe. Some units... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

Yes! Loved your intro. The CedarWood Inn is definitely "retro" and I'm glad to hear others appreciate that place in time when life was slower and allowed time for catching fireflies, finding 4-leafed clover, and sitting beside a waterfall...or watching ballgames. But if all that is too tame there's great hiking, golfing, mountains to see and changing leaves to watch,... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

A "mom and pop" place with wonderful breakfast. We stayed overnight in route from Kentucky to Myrtle Beach, SC. This was a great location and considering the competition prices around it was worth the 5-10 minute drive from the interstate. Quaint, charming, and very clean!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your taking the time on your vacation to submit your review of our Inn. Also gratifying to know you enjoyed your short stay here. In the 1950's the WNC Mom & Pop places like ours were great for those traveling 'hop and skips' to the next stop. Thank you for your kind words. Enjoy the beach. More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had to stay in Hendersonville, because everything in Brevard was booked. We were busy doing outdoor activities all day so all we needed was a clean and comfortable place to sleep. The room was spacious enough but for a family of 4, double beds are getting tight. The Inn was kind to provide a cot which helped a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

My apologies for being tardy in replying to your review. Usually I get email notice of reviews but this one slid in without my knowing. I do thank you for your review, it's what makes Trip Advisor work so well. I notice date of your review was Apple Festival weekend which is a very busy time for us. Depending on... More 

Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you like a "mom and pop" retro-motel that is clean with comfortable bed and very friendly service---then this is a great place for you. We can recommend room #22 as quiet and with a comfortable king bed. Not fancy and not close to the franchise row motels but convenient to DuPont State Forest and only minutes away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

I have to say, your very nice comments were spot on. The CedarWood Inn has never been portrayed as a fancy or uber sophisticated facility. We are clean (green clean), comfortable and try our very best to make you feel welcomed -- in the WNC tradition. Every room is reminiscent of the time the Inn was built in the 1950's.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities