We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CedarWood Inn

1510 Greenville Highway, Hendersonville, NC 28793
CedarWood Inn
Add Your Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Read that this was quaint, and an old time feel in lodging. Well, true, but maybe it was because it was Winter , I was very disappointed in accommodations . Room was very cold since the gas heater wasn't working and the electric radiator portable wasn't doing the trick. Had to ask for an additional heater just to get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments on your stay at our Inn. We are also disappointed that you did not have a favorable experience here. We use portable electric radiator heaters if problems occur with our natural gas heaters. However, it had not been turned on until your room was prepped and had only been on... More 

Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This is a quaint place with little cottages and porches. The room and bed was comfortable. There is a coffee maker in the room and a good cable television. Breakfast included yogurt, cheeses, bagels with different spreads, and pastries. The pastries were stale and obviously left over from a previous day. Hard boiled eggs would have added some protein. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

My apologies for being so tardy in responding to your review. We appreciate each review we get and although our intentions are to respond in timely fashion, our winter preparations did take up a lot of our time so we were late in this response. Thank you for your comments. Each one helps us to do better. We apologize for... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I wanted to take my boys on a spur of the moment trip out of the city for one night. I had looked for a cabin but no cabins would rent for just one night. I didn't want the typical hotel experience. I found Cedar Wood Inn on Tripadvisor. They looked like the perfect solution to the rustic yet quaint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Inn. It "warms the cockles of my heart" to hear young people enjoyed our 1950's Inn. All the local stops you made were a perfect topping to the whole experience. Memories like those don't leave -- ever! More 

Tampa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Before you book anywhere, know what you're looking for. This old place is not Microtel, or the Hyatt, or Hampton. There's no pool, no video games, and it's not fancy at all. For me, it's just fine, because I like old classic cars and if you like history, you may like this inn. It's quiet, clean and safe. Some units... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

Yes! Loved your intro. The CedarWood Inn is definitely "retro" and I'm glad to hear others appreciate that place in time when life was slower and allowed time for catching fireflies, finding 4-leafed clover, and sitting beside a waterfall...or watching ballgames. But if all that is too tame there's great hiking, golfing, mountains to see and changing leaves to watch,... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

A "mom and pop" place with wonderful breakfast. We stayed overnight in route from Kentucky to Myrtle Beach, SC. This was a great location and considering the competition prices around it was worth the 5-10 minute drive from the interstate. Quaint, charming, and very clean!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your taking the time on your vacation to submit your review of our Inn. Also gratifying to know you enjoyed your short stay here. In the 1950's the WNC Mom & Pop places like ours were great for those traveling 'hop and skips' to the next stop. Thank you for your kind words. Enjoy the beach. More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had to stay in Hendersonville, because everything in Brevard was booked. We were busy doing outdoor activities all day so all we needed was a clean and comfortable place to sleep. The room was spacious enough but for a family of 4, double beds are getting tight. The Inn was kind to provide a cot which helped a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

My apologies for being tardy in replying to your review. Usually I get email notice of reviews but this one slid in without my knowing. I do thank you for your review, it's what makes Trip Advisor work so well. I notice date of your review was Apple Festival weekend which is a very busy time for us. Depending on... More 

Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
60 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you like a "mom and pop" retro-motel that is clean with comfortable bed and very friendly service---then this is a great place for you. We can recommend room #22 as quiet and with a comfortable king bed. Not fancy and not close to the franchise row motels but convenient to DuPont State Forest and only minutes away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

I have to say, your very nice comments were spot on. The CedarWood Inn has never been portrayed as a fancy or uber sophisticated facility. We are clean (green clean), comfortable and try our very best to make you feel welcomed -- in the WNC tradition. Every room is reminiscent of the time the Inn was built in the 1950's.... More 

Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

If you remember the days of the Lone Ranger, you will remember the ambience of the small motor courts that sat along the roadways in the 50's. CedarWood Inn is a preserved motor court with good mattresses, good showers and great coffee! The breakfast is a pretty spread of many different treats. Plenty to start your day. The coffee is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate hearing your comments on experiencing a trip back to days of yesteryear at our CedarWood Inn. That was exactly what I felt when I first saw this place and had a strong need to bring it back to its glory. Mom and Pop motor courts of the 1950's were great places to stay and enjoy the mountains. I... More 

Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

With the rate of $90 + tax (right at $100) and a tiny room that looked like everything, including bedding, was a minimum of 30 years old, and the odor of mold or mildew (which seriously cleared up after we ran the AC unit and opened the windows, leading me to think this place was not occupied for some time),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to write your review of our Inn. Even negative comments provide a goal for us to achieve. Our website presents our Inn as a 1950's era facility that always takes customer comments seriously and takes every step to improve. We are pleased you enjoyed Carl Sandburg's trails and the downtown area. More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I love when Trip Advisor leads u to these hidden gems. Owner was very nice and helped us obtained tickets to the Flat Rock play and provided an excellent recommendation on a Restaurant. Rooms were clean, the grounds are very accommodating with a nice gazebo and gas grill if you choose to use and plenty of out door seating. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Inn. I'm so happy your stay was a good experience all around. Hendersonville has a lot to offer everyone no matter what your interest. Your good comments serve to show us what we are doing right and we greatly appreciate them. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question