We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Breakwater Inn

Hotel website
57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
The Breakwater Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The smell of mold hits you the second you enter the room. No maid service just a pile of towels. Fridge has rust on front and bathroom has mold around tub. This is a very unsafe environment that should be avoided by everyone !!!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Okay, the room smelled a bit of air freshener, but it was large and comfortable and we left open the door to the porch so we could have fresh air and a nice view. Friendly, helpful service, good restaurant next door. We will stay here again when we return to Hatteras. Overall, one of our nicer experiences in the OBX.

Helpful?
Thank SciMom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

A one night stay in this place, but such a nice and helpful staff ! Not in high season and yet very amicable, helpful, and of great advice. We loved the peaceful views to the sound, and very nice breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Hervé B
Williamsport, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

We traveled without knowing where we would stay, checked reviews on trip advisor, this sounded good. Met by a clerk that was very friendly and helpful about the area. We chose a room with two beds. The balcony overlooked the sound. Quiet and modest accommodations. Didn't expect luxury, but certainly pleasant. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

Stay away. A family of 5, we made a last minute reservation for two nights coming to Hatteras for an extended weekend. The Breakwater Inn was hard to find, empty and not particularly pleasant looking from outside - but that's not a biggie. Our headache started upon first entry into the guest room. Dirty entry door lead to a dingy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jirin1a
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

This guest walked in on the day they were supposed to check in and said they did not want to stay before they even had a chance to see their room. They told me they were going to write a bad review about the inn and also about me if I didn't refund their deposit. Then I explained that we... More 

Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We had a great stay at the Breakwater Inn. The suites were charming and clean. The view from the individual covered decks was great as you get a view of the bay and the boats going in and out. The staff was fun to talk with and very responsive to requests. There is a kitchen and if you want you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cerelia
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We hope you will visit with us again. More 

Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Crossed the ferry late and stumbled into this place. Little hard to find the sign in the rain and dark but what a jewel! This non-chain family owned (I think) place is really well done and would be happy to return when I have longer to enjoy. Our room was on the top floor and up to the standards of... More 

Helpful?
Thank JVSibley
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit us again soon. The fishing has been great! More 

Shadyside, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We stayed at the Breakwater 9/11-9/20. We had the efficiency for a week, then moved to a regular room. It was myself, husband and our 5 y/o daughter. This is the older part of the motel, but we have never had any problems with that. The efficiency is a large room with 2 queen beds, dresser, couch, love seat, decent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sadez16
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

As always we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to return visit in the spring. We love being part of the vacation memories for your daughter. More 

Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Stayed over labor day they had 1 room left that was pet friendly it was in the older section of the hotel. which was primarily used for fisherman... rooms were older but clean, no frills or views in that part of the hotel the new section looked much nicer but was not pet friendly... pool was clean & they had... More 

Helpful?
Thank yorkhavenmarina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

they dont tell you that the cheap rooms are in a small building off to the side and their breakfast sucked. sketchy microwave, cigar wrapper was left on the bed, did they clean the sheets? on the bright side the workers are friendly and if you forget something they will mail it to you and the ac was awesome. prolly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karl D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (103)
Viewed
Deluxe Sound Double Queen Room with Private Balcony (Front) (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Sound King Suite (Front) (35)
Viewed
Fisherman's Quarters - Queen Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatteras Island
10.3 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
7.6 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
17.7 mi away
Blackbeard's Lodge
Blackbeard's Lodge
#7 of 9 in Ocracoke
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
10.2 mi away
Falcon Motel
Falcon Motel
#7 of 7 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay