We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Breakwater Inn

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hatteras Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Breakwater Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    30
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
52
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

they dont tell you that the cheap rooms are in a small building off to the side and their breakfast sucked. sketchy microwave, cigar wrapper was left on the bed, did they clean the sheets? on the bright side the workers are friendly and if you forget something they will mail it to you and the ac was awesome. prolly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made last minute plans they had one room left on the top floor. Great view of the sound and docks. Room was adequate everything worked A nice private balcony overlooking the sound. Friendly staff, and very tasty fudge! Would stay here again for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They collect their fee before you see the room, for good reason. No housekeeping, the attitude seems to be "screw 'em". Dirty, old, ant infested, there is not a free breakfast or wifi as advertised. Ant poison under the sink, glad my little boy didn't go in there. Hidden policy, they allow pets, but won't clean your room. They left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay at the Breakwater Inn. We did not service your room because there was a dog in the room. Our rooms are serviced daily, unless you are in the pet friendly building and have a pet, which is stated on the information sheet you sign upon check in. This policy... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Husband wanted to see Cape Hatteras. We r from Ca and he is a big fisherman. That being said we stayed one night at the Breakwater Inn. It was charming. The view was the best we have had the whole trip overlooking the quaint marina. We enjoyed sitting on the deck of our room in Adirondack chairs watching a lightening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Fishermans lodge part (where we stayed)... Its a place to crash for the night. Old and very smelly. Was clean just looked old and rundown . would not recommend for a family fun just a place for stay at night to get to the next part of your journey

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

We had a reservation for two nights, but because we could not visit the Atlantic graveyard (because of the holiday) we decided to go back home a day ahead. It was too late to change our reservation, but the person at the reception told us that if they would be able to rent the room, they would refund us, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Breakwater Inn. I do feel that is necessary to clarify our cancellation policy. The person working the front desk was new and did what she felt was in your best interest. Our policy states "early departures are considered as cancellations of reserved days and are subject to appropriate charges and immediate payment".... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

I returned after three years and still loved my room. Location and the view are simply perfect. I stayed in the main building that faces the harbor for four nights. (Two double beds for $650).The older building is perfect if you are just using it as a bed for your fishing day trips. Caveat: the kitchenette has no utensils; No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

My friend and I were on a birdwatching trip and stayed at the inn for a total of four nights. Our room, upstairs in the newer building, had a balcony offering a spectacular view of the marina and harbor. The room was exceptionally comfortable. Ours, like the others, had a small kitchen. The inn's home page advertises this as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hatteras Island, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

As a local, we don't get out much once season starts, we work and go home. I have never been to the Breakwater in all the years i have lived here. It was outstanding! The fresh catch was tile, we had it blackened, it was delish! I had the chicken roquefort, the chef made a special one for me, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spring Hope
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed here for our 35th wedding anniversary and it could not have been better. Nice and quiet and what a grand view from the balcony of our room of the sound and a wonderful marina. It was very entertaining watching the fishing boats go out and come back in during the evenings to see their daily catches. The water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Terry for this great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatteras Island
10.3 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
10.5 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Falcon Motel
Falcon Motel
#7 of 7 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#5 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities