We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Breakwater Inn

Hotel website
57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
The Breakwater Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Hatteras Island
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Lynn S Woodleaf, North Carolina
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Woodleaf, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Mid-week vacation with friends, made even more enjoyable staying at Breakwater Inn. Rooms were attractively decorated and clean, beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Looking forward to a return trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before I bought the Groupon for this Inn, I did not read the reviews, I didn't even read the reviews until after we got home. I was really surprised at all the negative reviews. We stayed here the latter part of the last weekend in April for 2 nights. I am very particular with where I stay, as you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for our good review. Please come see us again. More 

Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just arrived back from a short 3 day/2 night stay at The Breakwater Inn. The rooms have 2 very comfortable beds, a refrigerator and microwave. Sunset can be viewed as you relax on the balcony. Clean, comfortable accomodations. Staff were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a place to just relax and unwind then this is what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We're glad that you had a relaxing stay with us and you are right about sunsets on the balcony, they are hard to beat! We hope you'll come see us a again. More 

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I visited April 21 to 23 from our Durham NC home to get away after a long period of not traveling. We also used a Groupon offer. Our room was clean and comfortable, and as noted in other reviews, staff was friendly and helpful. My understanding from speaking with one of the staff is the main building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in April 2015 for 2 nights. I found the Breakwater from a Groupon deal they were offering. I was NOT disappointed. It was not in a busy area of the Island so it was quiet. It's only about 1 mile from the Ocracoke Island Ferry which was convenient. This hotel is located on the sound side of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to Breakwater Inn. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll be back to see us soon. Sincerely, Sheree Markley More 

Farmville, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the location of the hotel is good, near the beach; museum, ferry,some shops and boat docks. The room has a fridge and microwave and an outdoor seating area which was nice. but i'm wary of the bed linens. when we got there, the bathroom still has someone's hair in it. it's hard to get front desk coz she gets there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
breakwaterinn, Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the reviewer's positive comments about our good location, outdoor seating, and in room microwave and refrigerator. We are sorry, however, to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. We wish you had informed us of your concerns while you were at our property so we could have addressed them. I do feel there are some misconceptions... More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Should have know things wouldn't be great when we were the only ones checking in! Groupon purchase for 2 nights....don't bother. Front desk people were very nice. Rooms not so much! Sinks and rub corroded. Nothing in the kitchenette but a towel and coffee pot. Housekeeping was a lady knocking on the door with an arm full of towels. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

we stayed for two nights and had a great experience.The staff were all friendly the room very clean and well equipped.The location for fisherman was ideal.Is is a short walk to many of the marinas and restaurants.The outdoor balcony looking over the sound was a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Vanceboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

These people are the greatest. My sister and I loved the balcony, the beds ,& the bathroom. The small kitchen area suited our needs. The fridge was better than most small beach motel types. My only wish would be that the maid service make the beds, but they did supply fresh towels. The owner let us check in early since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We planned our summer vacation around my boyfriend's 52nd birthday and rented a house in Hatteras but needed a place to stay one night before we could check into the house. The Breakwater was near by and we decided to give it a try. What a great find! All of the rooms at the inn (not fishermans quarters) have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities