We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Hatteras Island hotels

The Breakwater Inn

57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Breakwater Inn to your Saves list
The Breakwater Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
84%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
dwamo Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were headed for Ocracoke but after waiting all day in the ferry line hoping the ferries would resume service, they told us around 3:30 that the ferries would not be running again that day due to the high winds. So we needed a place to stay for the night. We used to rent cottages in Hatteras years ago but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Quaint hotel overlooking the sound made a lovely January weekend retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Inn keeper went out of her way to make sure we were checked in and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Breakwater Inn over New Year's Eve 2013. Business was slow so the office was closed when we got there (6:30 pm, +/-), but they had left a key in the designated place. The room was easy to find and as advertised. Nothing fancy, just a good, clean room on the second floor with a view of the marina... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

this was my second time at breakwater,stayed in the fishermans quarters this time.it was clean and comfortable. not as fancy as the other building but not as expensive either. i'm here for the fishing,just need a place to collapse.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Breakwater Inn in early October again, our 2nd stay in the last five years. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated. The pillows were nice and soft and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were fully equipped with shampoo, soaps, creams etc. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on Wednesday as we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband nor I have never written a review before on any accommodations, however this stay was so disappointing to the point of disgust and sadness, that we were moved to write, as so many people go by these reviews, as we checked these reviews before we went, and because of them decided to stay at Breakwater....well, it broke us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
breakwaterinn, Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

The Breakwater Inn sincerely apologizes for your disappointing stay. We try very hard to give our guests a positive experience with a clean and enjoyable room. Our entire staff is eager to correct any problems that our guests have and I only wish we had known upon check-in of your dissatisfaction. We do make a point to inspect the rooms... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had originally booked the fisherman quarters but when we checked it we decided to opt for the soundside double. So happy with the room! We had our three children with us and it was enough room for all of us. Durning our stay 2 of our children came down with the stomach bug... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Millville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location is wonderful...on the water, overlooking a small marina in a quiet part of town. Each room has it's own balcony with wooden, Adirondack style chairs and a table...perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and the sunset. We were lucky enough to watch a fishing boat come in and see the 100+ fish they caught being unloaded onto... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed here fairly often over the last few years and have always enjoyed the fishermans quarters where we can take our dog. I have recommended it often - though it is no frills - the location is great and the rooms have always been clean. This time I felt like the rooms really needed some attention and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Inman, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had excellent service from all. They worked with us to satisfy our needs. We stayed the week following Christmas. We enjoyed all our time in this property. The condo was equipped with everything we needed. We will definitely choose this Inn when we go back to Hatteras.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
The Breakwater Hotel
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakwater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.