We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rivendell Cabins

536 Henderson Road, Franklin, NC
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rivendell Cabins
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    2
    1
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We too were not prepared for the steep, narrow, treacherous drive up to the cabin on the gravel road.. As the days progressed we grew more used to it. It is in need of a good scraping to remove some of the biggest bumpy parts. The cabin was disappointing. The good parts first: (1) it was very clean (2) the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We stayed here for a few nights while visiting the area to go Gem mining. Nina the owner was very helpful and friendly. We loved the cabin it was clean and fully equipped. The only negative i have is the beds. My teenager slept on the pull out sofa and it was very saggy, the bed in my bedroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Looking forward to our third trip to the Cedars cabin in a couple of weeks. I love this place. Spectacular views, very private, comfortable and clean accommodations, fully equipped kitchen, great porch with fire pit. What more could you want? This is a place that is wonderful year-round. I stayed there solo with my dog in the fall of 2013.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kentwood, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

If you're looking for a comfortable cabin with lots of perks look no further! The views are beautiful and the facilities are great! The hostess does a fantastic job of making you feel very welcome. A wonderful, relaxing place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
246 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

After reading some of the reviews, I have to wonder what some folks are looking for in a "mountain cabin". Yes, the road up is gravel and some spots are steep. The road is narrow; but very typical for a true mountain experience. The location is fairly secluded; no crowding from other cabins being on top of you. We stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our Rivendell Cabins! Sadly, some do not enjoy all we strive to offer here but it is wonderful knowing folks are willing to take a little time and post some good things about our vacation rental cabins. Thank you again, and I hope you'll choose to lodge... More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

No cars should make the trip...very poor road...do not go in your good car..hot tub great... Cabin needs good cleaning...hope it don't rain may not get in..or. out ...can not turn your car around .. Tv poor...cabin is well stock..........

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. We strive to bring each guest a quality vacation in the mountains and secluded forest area of western North Carolina. I hope you will find a suitable vacation sight for your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Nina More 

Windber, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I took our first vacation together at the Rivendell cabins. We stayed in Cedars. We did make it up the hill in my Hyundai Elantra, but after gravel was put down towards the end of our visit it was much more difficult to make it up the hill to the cabin. The cabin definitely needs a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your disappointments in your lodging needs. I will attend to the issues suggested. Thank you for your input. Sincerely, Nina More 

Manitowoc WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The wording said remote, it did not say rugged approach. The last mile is clay and gravel, very narrow and steep. Definitely would not take an ordinary car. Cabin was basically clean but needs a giid deep clean. Upstairs beds and almost all the furniture were bottomed out and worn. It was scary to see the pillows we were using... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. I will attend to the issues you suggested. Nina More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in cedars cabin. It was very accommodating and well equipped. The views from the deck are breath taking. We had daily visits from hummingbirds. Keep in mind you are on a mountain top so the drive up and down is not easy terrain. However the dirt road is maintained. The cabin is very clean. You are in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We strive to present each guest with an experience of time away from home and stresses of life, exceptional, memorable and rewarding in every way. Located in the Mountains of Western North Carolina, we are also in the woods. The locale is conducive to nature and... More 

new smyrna beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

However if comfort and or cleanness is not a issue for you, then this place is for you (rivendell cabin) many many spiders, bath room and bedroom. The road to this cabin was made for a tractor, not a car or small pickup, and forget passing anyone, if you meet a car, you must back up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. We strive to go above and beyond expectations of our guests. I have professional bug control every 3 months to control and we leave bug spray cans for guests if they see some. I hope you find your next stay with us more convenient. Nina More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 13 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Franklin
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
2.5 mi away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#6 of 13 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Sylva
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities