We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Franklin accommodations

Rivendell Cabins

Save
You added Rivendell Cabins to your Saves list
536 Henderson Road, Franklin, NC
Hotel amenities
Rivendell Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
9 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

After reading some of the reviews, I have to wonder what some folks are looking for in a "mountain cabin". Yes, the road up is gravel and some spots are steep. The road is narrow; but very typical for a true mountain experience. The location is fairly secluded; no crowding from other cabins being on top of you. We stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our Rivendell Cabins! Sadly, some do not enjoy all we strive to offer here but it is wonderful knowing folks are willing to take a little time and post some good things about our vacation rental cabins. Thank you again, and I hope you'll choose to lodge... More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

No cars should make the trip...very poor road...do not go in your good car..hot tub great... Cabin needs good cleaning...hope it don't rain may not get in..or. out ...can not turn your car around .. Tv poor...cabin is well stock..........

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. We strive to bring each guest a quality vacation in the mountains and secluded forest area of western North Carolina. I hope you will find a suitable vacation sight for your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Nina More 

Windber, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I took our first vacation together at the Rivendell cabins. We stayed in Cedars. We did make it up the hill in my Hyundai Elantra, but after gravel was put down towards the end of our visit it was much more difficult to make it up the hill to the cabin. The cabin definitely needs a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your disappointments in your lodging needs. I will attend to the issues suggested. Thank you for your input. Sincerely, Nina More 

Manitowoc WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The wording said remote, it did not say rugged approach. The last mile is clay and gravel, very narrow and steep. Definitely would not take an ordinary car. Cabin was basically clean but needs a giid deep clean. Upstairs beds and almost all the furniture were bottomed out and worn. It was scary to see the pillows we were using... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. I will attend to the issues you suggested. Nina More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in cedars cabin. It was very accommodating and well equipped. The views from the deck are breath taking. We had daily visits from hummingbirds. Keep in mind you are on a mountain top so the drive up and down is not easy terrain. However the dirt road is maintained. The cabin is very clean. You are in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We strive to present each guest with an experience of time away from home and stresses of life, exceptional, memorable and rewarding in every way. Located in the Mountains of Western North Carolina, we are also in the woods. The locale is conducive to nature and... More 

new smyrna beach
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

However if comfort and or cleanness is not a issue for you, then this place is for you (rivendell cabin) many many spiders, bath room and bedroom. The road to this cabin was made for a tractor, not a car or small pickup, and forget passing anyone, if you meet a car, you must back up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. We strive to go above and beyond expectations of our guests. I have professional bug control every 3 months to control and we leave bug spray cans for guests if they see some. I hope you find your next stay with us more convenient. Nina More 

Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ms.Nina was a very good hostess. The Cabin she gave us was on short notice and for longer than we expected. She helped us out as we were moving here from Florida and House Hunting. Her Dogs were great and were friendly to ours. It was private and peaceful and we will recommend Rivendell to anybody who asks. The cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our cabins. I appreciate your good words and kind heart. Sincerely, Nina More 

Grant, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rivendell cabin had it all!! Complete kitchen (including dishwasher), wrap around porch with incredible views of the smoky mountains, soothing hot tub, washer/dryer, wifi, comfy beds - and the whole extended family could all stay here together!! And the price was cheaper than a hotel!! Nina was the perfect hostess and we knew she was available and knowledgable about things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to write a review about your stay at Rivendell Cabins! I appreciate your choice to stay here and I hope you will return in the future. Sincerely, Nina More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The owner came in when we left to bring "sheets", there were several sets of Sheets available and this was not necessary at all. She came in unannounced when we left to go gem mining, letting out our beautiful Maltese. He was in the woods for hours on end alone and scared. In addition the owner left the DOOR open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Longs, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our stay in Cedars cabin was absolutely wonderful. It was quiet and very private. This is a great place for a couple to get away for a special trip. My husband and I loved sitting on the porch overlooking the beautiful view of the mountains. The cabin was very clean and well stocked with linens, soap, dishes, etc. The free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rivendell Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Cabins

Address: 536 Henderson Road, Franklin, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay