We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fontana Village Resort

3.0 of 5 300 Woods Road, Fontana Dam, NC 28733
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fontana Village Resort
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    105
    62
    27
    18
See reviews for
91
102
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Niles, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed here a few times over the years. Always greeted with friendly people and a clean room. I have Verizon cell service and it is really spotty on the grounds. The wireless internet service is a medium to slow speed. It is a bit pricy for a room with no breakfast included. I have a Dragon Slayer card... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in the area. The Cell and Wi-Fi services are spotty, but are items we are working to improve on. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to serve you again soon! More

Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff is why I'm giving Fontana 4 stars. They are always helpful, friendly and responsive. I usually stay in a cabin as part of a car club, but on my most recent visit I stayed in a Fireplace Room in the Lodge. The room was a "garden room" meaning it was not actually in the lodge. It was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and patronage. We are happy that you have been taken great care of by our staff! The remoteness of our Resort is definitely the thing that makes it most appealing. We enjoy our return groups and are thrilled that you are part of one that stays with us. We also appreciate your... More

Indialantic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first trip to the area and we enjoyed the location. The restaurant was clean and the server "Ashley" was very friendly, informative, helpful and a pleasure to meet. The food was very good and fresh. The room was clean but we couldn't get a king unless we stayed outside the main building. The 2 beds were queens... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are happy to hear that you had such a great time on your very first visit with us! We are lucky to have such great staff and it sounds like they all took great care of you! We do have a variety of lodging types that are suitable for different... More

Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there for the 356 Porsche Club Meeting - the staff and customer service was very good. We had a larger cabin which was clean, well-appointment, and had been updated recently. One of our group got the room with the single bed; which creaked and rubbed with every move and the ill-fitted sheets wouldn't stay on the mattress. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and your feedback regarding it! We really enjoyed hosting your group event. Everyone we encountered was so nice and seemed so relaxed and genuinely happy to be here! Its great knowing that you guys had such a great time. We appreciate your feedback regarding lighting and cabin numbers. We will definitely take... More

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I have stayed in Fontana rooms and cabins while with both large and small groups of MINI Coopers. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating. It's not a 5 star luxury place, but who needs that when you're only there to sleep. The rest of the time is spent having a blast on the surrounding roads. I like the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are so pleased to hear that you have stayed with us during multiple events. We love the Mini Cooper events; they are always so much fun! We have a very relaxing atmosphere here, which makes for a great place to relax and get away from everything! The Wi-Fi expansion has... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Our room (already overpriced) had no shampoo or hair dryer. But worse was the dirty towel from previous guest left hanging on bathroom door. Yuck. No wifi and no cell service. Pool and lazy river were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the pool and lazy river. We hope you were able to participate in other onsite amenities as well. I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping error regarding dirty towels and no shampoo. I hope you were able to call the front desk and have the situation resolved... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I found this place online and knew absolutely nothing about it when I booked it. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived. The property is huge, there are so many things to do and the staff is so friendly! We went over Labor Day weekend where they had bands, a cookout and fireworks!!! We had so much fun staying here.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so happy that you chose to spend your Labor Day Weekend with us! We have many onsite amenities for our guests to enjoy and it sounds like you were able to take part in those. We can't wait to have you and your friends back! More

Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Fontana Village Resort offers all kinds of accommodations. There are motel like rooms, lodge rooms, duplexes, small trailer like cabins, and larger cabins. It's a large property with a couple pools, putt-putt golf, ice cream shop, lazy river, varying size fire pits, a post office, gift shop, General Store, and 2 restaurants. The prices seem to vary greatly depending on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review! It is really helpful to us when we can details such as this regarding our guests stay with us! It sounds like you were able to partake in many of the onsite amenities. We also appreciate you visiting the restaurants as well. We hope that your visit to the Smokies was... More

Skillman, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We rented 4 cabins for a family reunion at Fontana Village and had a really nice time! The cabins were clean, nicely decorated. We loved the porches and the fire pits were nice to have too. The views of the Smokeys from our porch were breathtaking! Our only complaint about the cabins was in the limited kitchen ware they provided.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent visit with us! We are happy that your family had a reunion. We are definitely the perfect spot to spend quality family time together. There are many activities available that are suitable for all ages. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some outdoor fun! I do apologize about the limited kitchen... More

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I cannot not say what the actual lodge rooms are like, we rented a cabin for our first visit here. The cabins have what you need. Some are fancier than others, that should be obvious from the website but every cabin has what you need.We were there for a family reunion so we did visit other cabins as well to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We love to hear how our guest’s vacations turned out. It sounds like you were able to visit the different outlets and accommodations here on property! We hope that the next time you visit you can stay longer and take in all that we have to offer! We are definitely meant... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Road, Fontana Dam, NC 28733
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay