We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Emerald Isle hotels

Oceanview Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   122 Fairview Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Oceanview Inn to your Saves list
Oceanview Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Emerald Isle
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
christiansoldier Sandy Ridge, North Carolina
  • Overview
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Ridge, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A friend of ours and me and our son went down to do some fishing and thought we would give this place a try. The rooms are decent but definitely could be better. The location is great being so close to the pier and boat rentals are just down the road. Beds are uncomfortable and everything is quite out dated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurinburg, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The fact that this is called the "ocean view inn" is a joke. There are only about 8 rooms on the 2nd floor where you can actually see the ocean. The rest of the hotel all you can see is the parking lot and the run down trailers next door. The door for our room had a one inch gap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this motel back in July 2012. They are so cleaned and friendly. It is so close to the beach and fishing pier. I would definitely go back again this year. Also, we have rented RV campground every year which is next to the motel. Reminder, they do not have no playground for the kids. But, they will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst experience we have ever had at a hotel! The name of the hotel claims to provide you with ocean view... But you would have to practically stand on the roof of the motel to get your view of the ocean which is hidden by all the buildings in the way. Once we actually entered the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

At first glance this hotel looks like a million other shabby beach side hotels. But on the inside the rooms are super clean, the beds are very comfortable, everything in the room works as it should,and the staff is very friendly. On top of it being in an awsome location at a great price

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
oviewinn, Manager at Oceanview Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bickley96 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback of which I have shared with our staff. They join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you... More

Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place was nothing like advertised. My room was very dark and smelled, The bathroom light fixture was 3 bare light bulbs, and the walls had dirt marks on them. The bed was hard, and I felt very unsafe. I could not stay there. I had scheduled ...More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
oviewinn, Manager at Oceanview Inn, responded to this review

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding stay on your recent visit. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests; therefore we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it... More

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a Friday and Saturday night in September. The first thing that hit me when I opened the door was stale cigarette smoke. Over the weekend cigarette smoke would come in through the bathroom as out neighbors lit up. The floors were filthy. My families feet ended up black from the carpets in the room. The bathrooms are tiny... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Danville, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you are looking for a VERY friendly staff AND affordable place to stay within walking disatnce of the boardwalk, this is the place for you! The rooms are VERY CLEAN and roomy At first glance, it looks like a beach bungaloo, BUT the rooms are soo comfortable with VERY comfortable beds. I will stay here on my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went on the fly for a four day weekend hotel was right next to the beach and Bogue Pier. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable to sleep inn. We were close to Dunkin Donuts... Bakeries, Ice cold beer and shops as needed... The hotel staff was friendly and always available.... We stayed for the July 4th... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Room smelled of urine,spider webs all in room,2 inch crack at door and you could feel wind blowing in,just nasty for 277.00 for a Wednesday and Thursday nite.great location just dirty.whats it saying when you can't wait to get home to shower so you feel clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oviewinn, General Manager at Oceanview Inn, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry you had such a negative experience. Unfortunately we cannot find any records of a similar guest complaint or I would respond to you personally as well as on this review site. . We are pleased to report that an inspection of every room by our housekeeping and maintenance staff has turned up no evidence of insects.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oceanview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oceanview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Inn

Address: 122 Fairview Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Emerald Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanview Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Oceanview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated, we have been hosting satisfied guests since 1978. We are a value and family oriented hotel for those that enjoy a nice and quiet vacation. Parking is right at your room except for our upstairs guest rooms which offer a great view of the pier. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
34

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer