We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durham Marriott City Center

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Durham Marriott City Center
Durham Marriott City Center
Durham Marriott City Center
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    101
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
56
24
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here two nights for my college reunion. The hotel itself is fine -- not memorable -- but it provides the basics for a comfortable stay. My room appeared clean, and the bed was comfortable. The TV was in functioning order. The generously sized mini-refrigerator was a nice touch. The bathroom was clean, though somewhat dated (bathtub, in particular).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Durham Marriott Hotel is a clean, efficient hotel in downtown Durham. Not elegant, but not expensive either. Beds are comfortable, coffeemaker and refrigerator in the room, coffee available in the lobby by the elevator in the morning, replaced by strawberry water in the PM. Charge for basic wifi in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Marriott has always delivered a quality experience, and this hotel is no exception. It's well kept and clean, and the staff is quick to meet traveler's needs and resolve any issues that may arise. Rooms are large and very nice. The location is great, as it's convenient (walking distance) to most of the interesting things downtown (which is probably all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jahmed_Mills, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and cleanliness of the Hotel. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guest expect.... More 

NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Durham Marriott City Center. It was a great "home base" to explore the city. The staff of the hotel went out of their way to make my young daughter feel special and welcomed. Incredibly friendly staff. The facility was clean, the bed was like sleeping in a cloud and the location was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jahmed_Mills, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is great to hear that you and your daughter had a memorable stay with us and that this was a home base for you. We would like to thank you for your feedback on how friendly the staff and service was here at our Hotel. We invest a lot of time in effort to train our team... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Marriott almost always seems to meet my needs. The staff at the front desk are very Nice and add to the stay. The rooms are large and very clean but a little outdated. The workout facilities could be updated as well. The location is great and the checkin policy is quick. I enjoyed my stay and I would stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jahmed_Mills, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your amazing feedback on Tripadvisor. Our Team here at the Durham Marriott is always so eager to read these great comments and share them with members of their Departments. You are the reason why we consistently improve on the service we provide and the quality of food and cleanliness at our Hotel. Thank you and... More 

Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was in Durham on business and spent a very comfortable night here. All the staff from check in to check out were friendly, competent and helpful. When I needed a late checkout they let me stay until 2. I enjoyed a very good steak dinner at the bar while chatting with a very friendly bartender and then retired to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jahmed_Mills, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and more particularly our homely atmosphere and attentive service. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, Jahmed Mills More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice room, easy to reach from the airport, the team at the front desk was very nice, the bar and restarant were ok despite my late arrival. So a very good hotel in the Marriot standard, not very charming but solid and reliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jahmed_Mills, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is so rewarding to read that you had a great stay with us. We are proud of our staff at the Front Desk, Restaurant and Bar for providing you with quality and unforgettable service. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and... More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

This has to be the worst Marriott I have ever stayed at. First, I did not get a king bed as reserved. Second, the TV remote did not work and you could not change channels on the tv itself. Third, room service took down my room number wrong and so after nearly an hour still did not have my dinner.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jahmed_Mills, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Durham Marriott City Center and for taking your valuable time to write on Tripadvisor. Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Spent the night here following the Bull City Food & Beer Experience at the nearby Durham Performing Arts Center. This hotel has a great central location to downtown, with an easy walk to all of the great nearby attractions: DPAC, American Tobacco Campus, Durham Bulls Athletic Park, and more. I was here for just over 12 hours, which isn't a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jahmed_Mills, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your time and effort to share your experience about our Hotel on Tripadvisor is well appreciated. We are happy that you had such a joyful time with us and that our focus on personal service finds your recognition. The growth we’ve experienced over the years is because of Guest like you, who faithfully support us. We appreciate your... More 

Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

There was a major problem getting rooms turned over on our check-in day. Most everyone arriving was asked to wait in the (small) bar/restaurant area or go back out in the snowy cold and come back later. Not a good option for us as we had to change for a function that was a hour after the quoted check-in time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jahmed_Mills, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry. We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why we work hard to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question