We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 67 Durham hotels

Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7807 Leonardo Drive, Durham, NC 27713 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Durham)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
59%
Ranked #39 of 67 hotels in Durham
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Rafael D Campinas
  • Reviews (89)
  • Photos (27)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (15)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
18
20
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Hotel changed from Sheraton to Marriot last week. They have excellent complimentary breakfast, a great fitness center (open 24 hours) and an inside swimming pool (open until 10 PM). The Hotel is very next to the Shopping Southpoint mall and right aside Target (1 min driving). The staff is very nice and the price is similar to other hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanceboro, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel while passing through the Raleigh/Durham area. Made the purchase on Priceline and paid only $60 including tax. I wouldn't have wanted to pay the regular rate, as the rooms were okay, but nothing special. Seemed to be running at a minimum, but one of the staff told us they were going through a change from Sheraton... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed there several miles over the years. Location is great -- close to mall, restaurants and entertainment, and free shuttle service is a bonus. Staff is friendly, free simple breakfast that does just the job. Rooms can be OK, sometimes downright dated and a bit grimy. Beds are usually good, until on one stay I had some nice visitors, bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LayneMatthews, Regional Director of Sales & Marketing at Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint, responded to this review

Dear Razzmatazz0, Thank you for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty during our transition and we look forward to sharing our renovation plans with you soon. We truly regret any unpleasant experience you have encountered during any of your stays. We want to assure you that our team is well aware... More

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I concur with the negative reviews of other guests of this establishment. I expected that since it was a Sheraton Hotel, that it would be a good quality hotel. When we walked into the room, the bed sheets looked old and crumpled. The room looked "utility" at best. It had an old fashioned TV with a terrible picture. The furniture... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LayneMatthews, Regional Director of Sales & Marketing at Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint, responded to this review

Dear Thomas F, We truly regret we did not deliver a product during your recent stay that met your expectations and was more representative of what our hotel and Sheraton has to offer. We also failed to provide additional service to make things better and we truly apologize for this experience. We are going through a major transition and will... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I checked into this seemingly innocuous hotel around midnight after a long drive. The first thing I noticed was the smell - a strong mildew smell in the lobby - maybe due to the fountains? The desk attendant was friendly enough although not very professional. All that I could have stomached but then... I went to my room and something... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jhayson v, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing to our attention regarding the issue you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your comment and apologize for the experience you had. We pride ourselves in having sparkling clean hotel and work hard to continue our practice. If we do not hear from our guest then we can not improve. Jhayson Viray Front Desk Manager More

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I was inconvenienced by the Sheraton Chapel Hill overbooking rooms during my medical conference, there. Upon arrival at the Sheraton, I found the management there had rebooked my reservation without my knowledge or consent to the Four Points. It was a very pleasant stay at the Four Ponits. They were very helpful in helping me manage this situation by providing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The location was great (turning lane into the hotel is a little strange as you have to go around the block but it wasn't a big deal). Close to a gas station and Chickfila. The room was great, comfortable beds, clean, nice and quite on the upper floors. Parking was ample. The breakfast was not convenient and cost an extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jhayson v, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint, responded to this review

Thank you for the good comments you provide on us. We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your check in. Please know that we are working to enhance our guest services, which I am hoping you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Jhayson Viray Front Desk Manager More

Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The four points Sheraton, Southpoint, is in a great location. That is probably the best thing I can say about it. I am a frequent business traveler, and a SPG gold member. I chose this location for one night during personal travel, and used reward points. I was booked into a basic room on the second floor. My room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jhayson v, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comments. The Four Points hotel was sold on February and our new owners will be refurbishing the entire hotel including windows to floors, after renovation we would like to invite you as our guest so you can truly experience what the Four Points brand is all about. Jhayson Viray Front Desk Manager More

Shaker Heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best part was the comfortable bed but the pillows took first place. Location was wonderful,you can walk to restaurants. Directly across the way is an active mall with awesome shops. On top of the freeway with easy access to Duke University and many other sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Way overpriced for what you get. At $120 a night, I expected much more. For starters, the room did not even have a dresser of any kind. The website leads you to believe that most rooms have refrigerators, but even with very few guests staying there, my room did not have one. For the price there should automatically be a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jhayson v, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your recent stay at the Four Points. The hotel does not have refrigerators and microwave in the rooms. However either can be requested at the front desk. This hotel has recently changed ownership and will be renovating the entire hotel. Hopefully if your travels bring you back to this... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint

Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Durham At Southpoint Hotel
Four Points By Sheraton Durham At Southpoint Hotel Durham
4 Points By Sheraton Durham At Southpoint
Four Points Durham
Sheraton Durham Southpoint
Durham Four Points
Address: 7807 Leonardo Drive, Durham, NC 27713 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Durham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Streets of Southpoint, our hotel is great for your shopping vacation. In addition, we're not far from Research Triangle, Duke University, and UNC. We also have onsite meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham / Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
FairfieldInn.com Priceline.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Connected to the Streets of Southpoint, our hotel is great for your shopping vacation. In addition, we're not far from Research Triangle, Duke University, and UNC. We also have onsite meeting space. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
98

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.