We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 67 Durham hotels

Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
78%
Ranked #34 of 67 hotels in Durham
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014
Jane J Miami Beach, Florida
  • Reviews (87)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
14
6
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

A two room was booked, we got a single room. Only after we questioned and complained, We where informed the room was not "scheduled" to be cleaned the entire week we booked. The room did get cleaned ONCE. They informed us this was only because of OUR misunderstanding. You have to take your used wet linin to the desk and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Menosleep- I am so sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience. It is deeply saddening to hear that you had such a negative stay. Jeannie Mahone Operations Manager More

Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here with my family in May. Our room was VERY clean! The staff was friendly and on top of all of our requests. They really went above and beyond to be kind and courteous. I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Jane, What a wonderful review. Thank you. Our goal is to have every single guest have a quality experience such as yours. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and are humbled by your kind words. Warmest regards, Kimberly Michael More

Durham, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

If I could rate this "0 stars", I would. I stayed at the Candlewood Suites for 5 days in late May/early June 2014 and will never go back. The rooms are sizable, but unclean and seriously outdated. When I first arrived and checked in, I was given a room that hadn't been turned over/cleaned since the previous occupant. My second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Candlewood suites. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guest. I am very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. I understand... More

Barrie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My trip to this hotel was prompted by my desire to fast track my IHG Platinum status, IHG will give you a quicker qualification to Higher status by trying three of their brands. I decided to give this place a one night try and get some extra points in the process. All this visit did was convince me to NEVER... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Barrie, I am very disappointed to read of your lobby experience. I apologize that the entrance area of the hotel did not meet your expectation. I certainly regret to read that you did not or would not stay due to lobby and check in process. We strive very hard to provide excellent service to all our guest. Sincerely, Kimberly... More

Macon, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

If I could rate this place with zero stars, I would. I recommend that you avoid this place as if it were plague ridden. It had taken 2.5 weeks for me to receive housekeeping service. I'd asked several times and was told that, "I promise we'll get to it tomorrow, we're so sorry" by desk staff. It was insanity to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Ga Travelor111, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Candlewood suites. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guest. I am very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with... More

Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The staff is very professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are always clean and have everything you need if you happen to forget something. the business center and the kitchen appliances are great. when I ask about a phone number for a taxi, they offered and set it up for me. my last trip I forgot a tool in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Tim, What a wonderful review. Thank you. Our goal is to have every single guest have a quality experience such as yours. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and are humbled by your kind words. Warmest regards, Kimberly Michael More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Extended Stay hotel. The personnel is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned once week. I stayed 7 days and that ended up in NO CLEANING. I found that not ok. Did not tell the hotel though and expected that should be taken care of by themselves. The places has some food places around it, like McDmalds, TacoBell, Subway,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

I would like to offer my apologies for the housekeeping not getting to your room, we are striving everyday to satisfy our guest in every way! Thank you for your kind words on the team members of Candlewood suites. We hope that if you are ever back in Durham NC you would allow us to serve you again. sincerely, Kimberly... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The friendly service from management trickled down through the entire staff, it was very apparent with house keeping and the front desk staff Patrick and Tara did a excellent job answering any questions, and providing me with any item I requested. Thank you Guys, see you in a couple weeks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ugarte, Awesome review! I am very happy to read what a great experience you had and how wonderful the team members help and made you feel so welcome at Candlewood Suites, as a manager this is what we love to read! We look forward to seeing you back in a few weeks! Sincerely, Kimberly Michael More

St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for 7 days business for the hubby and a little mini get away for our son and I, arriving at the property we were very happy not only was it extremely we'll kept it is minutes for everything. Check in was quick easy and very informative and she was very polite and welcoming. We had a one bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Dawn, What a wonderful review. Thank you. Our goal is to have everyone of our guest experience a quality stay such as your family's. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and we are humbled by your kind words. It would be our pleasure to help you plan your next week of relaxation at... More

Graham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Me and my family had some difficulties with our water at home and decided it would be best to stay at a hotel. We called around and found Candlewood suits asked availability and pricing and decided this would be the place upon arrival we were greeted kindly by a smiling easy to understand desk clerk. Which to anyone who travels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very happy to read that the team members of Candlewood Suites were able to help you and your family during this trying time. We strive everyday to give the BEST to all our vales guest. It would be our pleasure to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC

Address: 1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Durham with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 2004 Quality Excellence Award Winner, Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, GlaxoSmithKline, BASF, Bayer, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC Chapel Hill, NCCU, Duke Medical Center, and the Vein Clinic. Shuttle service is available Monday-Friday to local attractions and businesses within 5 miles of hotel. At Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP provides our guests a Free Fitness Center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
122

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer