We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC

2.0 of 5 1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    4
    8
    9
See reviews for
15
6
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We (my training team and I) have been here for 7 nights, 8 days thus far. Quincy has been incredibly hospitable and informative about the area, directions and accommodations since our arrival. I noticed some items missing- as in "thrown away accidentally" from my room after first cleaning. He is diligently trying to replace these items and has really gone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was exceptional and went out of their way to make sure I was happy with my room upon check in. Room was clean and comfortable. Great experience during my stay. If in the area again will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On my second week staying, have been happy with my, room and staff, specifically, Tara, Moniiqiue, Xavion, Quincy, and i think his name is Zed or Ted. Anyways , i have not had any problems and we are in another room than before but both have been clean and trouble free..The free laundry and nice grill and gazebo are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great place to stay and the staff was awesome! The property was very clean and so was our room. The free laundry was a plus as well as the business center. Please if you are ever in the area...this is the place to stay!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks and the room was not cleaned even once. The staff is so irresponsible that they didn't even care for cleaning my room even after informing for more than 5 times. I had a very bad experience with this staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Ramya P, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at our hotel. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves in and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. Please know that this is not reflective of our... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

A two room was booked, we got a single room. Only after we questioned and complained, We where informed the room was not "scheduled" to be cleaned the entire week we booked. The room did get cleaned ONCE. They informed us this was only because of OUR misunderstanding. You have to take your used wet linin to the desk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Menosleep- I am so sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience. It is deeply saddening to hear that you had such a negative stay. Jeannie Mahone Operations Manager More 

Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here with my family in May. Our room was VERY clean! The staff was friendly and on top of all of our requests. They really went above and beyond to be kind and courteous. I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Jane, What a wonderful review. Thank you. Our goal is to have every single guest have a quality experience such as yours. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and are humbled by your kind words. Warmest regards, Kimberly Michael More 

Durham, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

If I could rate this "0 stars", I would. I stayed at the Candlewood Suites for 5 days in late May/early June 2014 and will never go back. The rooms are sizable, but unclean and seriously outdated. When I first arrived and checked in, I was given a room that hadn't been turned over/cleaned since the previous occupant. My second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Candlewood suites. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guest. I am very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. I understand... More 

Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My trip to this hotel was prompted by my desire to fast track my IHG Platinum status, IHG will give you a quicker qualification to Higher status by trying three of their brands. I decided to give this place a one night try and get some extra points in the process. All this visit did was convince me to NEVER... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Barrie, I am very disappointed to read of your lobby experience. I apologize that the entrance area of the hotel did not meet your expectation. I certainly regret to read that you did not or would not stay due to lobby and check in process. We strive very hard to provide excellent service to all our guest. Sincerely, Kimberly... More 

Macon, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

If I could rate this place with zero stars, I would. I recommend that you avoid this place as if it were plague ridden. It had taken 2.5 weeks for me to receive housekeeping service. I'd asked several times and was told that, "I promise we'll get to it tomorrow, we're so sorry" by desk staff. It was insanity to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review

Dear Ga Travelor111, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Candlewood suites. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guest. I am very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC

Address: 1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Durham

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay