We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 67 Durham hotels

Marriott at Research Triangle Park

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 Guardian Drive, Durham, NC 27703
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Marriott at Research Triangle Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott at Research Triangle Park to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Perry C Boston, Massachusetts
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    53
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
23
15
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am part of a women's networking group who has been meeting bimonthly in the large breakfast area of the hotel. We liked having a large table and it being quieter than a coffee shop, as there are hardly any people there in the morning through the week. The $3.50 price for sub-par coffee was something we put up with,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Jamie K, Thank you for your feedback, without honest feedback we can not improve. I have taken some time to research your comments and I respectively disagree. We serve Starbucks coffee and although some folks do not like Starbucks coffee I don't believe it is sub-par. Our buffet price is $16.95 per person, not $20 as you described. The... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was in for a couple of days of meetings in RTP and was so impressed with the value that this Marriott delivered. Spacious room that met all expectations. A fitness room that is minimalist but delivered. The front desk staff was welcoming and friendly. Location was tops. Just minutes from RDU and my company's offices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Perry C, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have great rooms and a solid fitness center. It is spacious and equiped with modern equipment. We have a great location close to many businesses and just 5 miles to the airport. We are also located right off I40 and... More

Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are very clean, comfortable bed, good working conditions at the desk (enough and easily accessible power outlets). The staff at the front desk was very friendly and efficient. Well equipped 24h gym. Very good wifi internet speed in the room. I had a complaint regarding the A/C unit being too loud during the night; I was particularly impressed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear MN_Global, Thank you for your feedback. We feel we have the cleaniest and friendliest hotel in town. The 24HR gym is spacious with modern equipment and the wifi has been upgraded to comply with the latest standards. Thank you for reporting the AC unit issue. As you experienced we take every guest concern seriously and adress it immediately. I... More

Montville, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel got 4 stars because of the conveniences offered. The hotel is a little outdated, but clean. The service is outstanding. But the thing that stands out is the conveniences offered for the business traveler. From the shuttle bus from the airport and then to my business location to the business center, the focus on the business traveler is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Sheila G, Thank you for your feedback. We have a clean hotel and friendly staff. The staff goes out of their way to make guests feel at home. We renovated our banquet space in August and it is modern and beautiful. We are 5 miles from the airport and right off I40. Our shuttle takes guests within a 5... More

Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here from 21st - 23rd Oct so can't say much about the hotel but for the short stay I had a beautiful experience from availability of airport shuttle to the cheerful front desk staff ever willing to help, the only downside was the mediocre food from Newtons. There was no microwave in the room, this is a lapse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback without honest feedback we can not improve. Please accept my apologies for the mediocre food in Newtons. We typically receive positive comments about our food quality in the restaurant. We have a breakfast buffet in the morning and a good variety of items on our menus. You are correct about no microwaves... More

Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i reserved my room two weeks in advance and when I reached the hotel little past midnight, my double bed room reservation was not available. The front desk personnel Edrick says, rooms are not guaranteed a lot of people makes this mistake, the website says so. Upon asking whether he reported it to his management he had a smile on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the lack of doubles available. Unfortunately, your reservation was for a king bed room and we were out of doubles. We always try to accommodate guest request for doubles whenever possible, it just wasn’t possible in this situation, I am truly sorry. It is my understanding that... More

Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The rate was good for a king room with airport pickup and local shuttle. The shuttle does not run after 10 pm and pickup in the afternoon is warned as being by availability. Renting a car is recommended since the only restaurant is Newtons. The room was very comfortable but lacked a microwave. The workout space and pool were open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear NorthwestSensei, Thank you for your feedback, without honest feedback we can not improve. We are conveniently located just five miles from the airport. We also provide shuttle service to local shops and restaurants in a five mile radius. There are many close by. Our rooms do not have microwaves, however one is available for use on the first floor... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Excellent location but service and the room was okay (mediocre) at best. Don't know what is going on with Marriott but as a loyal Platinum member i almost disappointed on every visit. The rooms didn't offer pay per movies (REALLY?), the concierge lounge was okay. Maybe because this location stays at capacity they don't feel the need to make you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear dmann82, Thank you for your feedback, without honest feedback we cannot improve. You indicated that your experience was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure... More

Atlanta
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed there last week. Staff was great. Friendly front desk staff. Check in was a great experience. Great service at the restaurant for breakfast. Nice buffet. One of the very nice waitresses offered to get me some fresh scrambled eggs, they were delicious. Indoor pool. I didn't have a swimsuit but it looked inviting. Fitness room was clean and bright.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear AtlantaQTraveler, Thank you for your feedback. We have the cleanest and friendliest hotel in town. Our front desk and restaurant staff really do go out of their way to please our guests. It is nice to hear you had a great experience. I will share your comments with the team. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Bill... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Ideally situated a short 10 minute drive from the Raleigh-Durham International Airport, the Marriott at Research Triangle Park is also conveniently located for business travellers visiting the likes of IBM at the Research Triangle. The hotel is a large hotel, with over 200 rooms and although the bar and restaurant aren't particularly large it never felt particularly crowded (even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear smurf4568, Thank you for your feedback. We are conveniently located in the Research Triangle Park close to many businesses like IBM, GSK, MetLife, Cisco, Quintiles, etc. We are right off I40 making it easy to get almost anywhere. Just 5 miles from the airport and close to 540 as well. We are a full service hotel with all the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Marriott at Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott at Research Triangle Park

Address: 4700 Guardian Drive, Durham, NC 27703
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott at Research Triangle Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott at Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott At Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham
Marriott Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay