We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Durham

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2516 Guess Road, Durham, NC 27705
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Add Photo

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    34
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
20
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Wilder, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights while visiting a relative who is a student at Duke. The room was fine. Though we weren't there long, we used the pool because it was so hot when we were there. Breakfast was adequate and items changed a bit from day to day, which was nice. There were cookies in the afternoon for a snack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear kymom99, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you enjoyed visiting your relative and exploring the local area. We do apologize for any inconvenience for not having an on-site fitness center, however, we do offer privileges at an extensive off-site facility and encourage our guests to inquire from our staff for details. Thanks again... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for one night last month during a work trip. I thought it was lovely! The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was extremely clean and in excellent condition. The bed was VERY comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and very nice. I especially enjoyed the Bath & Body Works products. I also thought cookies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear Shira K, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review; it's great to hear you had an excellent visit that went above and beyond your expectations! We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and can't wait for your next visit. Thanks again for your praise! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed a week on business. Room was on 4th floor. Terrible cigarette smoke smell in my room and on floor. Breakfast not up to par with other HIX I've stayed at. Repeat foods daily, no offering of potatoes or gravy as most do. Room was clean, would've enjoyed stay if motel was non smoking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear Dwyday, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. Providing a clean, comfortable stay for our guests is our biggest priority and we regret falling short of our goal during your visit. We will pass your feedback onto our team to discuss further and ensure our non-smoking guests receive the rooms they expect. Please reach out to me... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

While not close to RTP or downtown, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great, and the managers meet and greet on Wednesday evening was a surprise. The room was very comfortable. The only thing it lacked was a fitness center, but i was so relaxed, I didnt mind nit working... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear David A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad you had a nice stay and found our staff so helpful & friendly. I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding our lack of a fitness center, but appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments onto our corporate team. Otherwise, thanks again for your praise... More 

Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

This motel is very convenient to Interstate 85. Our room was clean and the breakfast provided was well prepared. Very little road noise so you can expect a good nights sleep. The check in and check out were quick. There is an excellent Texas Roadhouse nearby with good steaks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear MissDixieDelight, Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express! I'm pleased you had a great stay and found us well-located, as well as that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next stay! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

new jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

Our daughter and her family come to Durham a few times a year and we try to meet them as often as possible, as they live out of the country. Consequently, we have stayed in many hotels in Durham area over the last five years. I have come to expect that I will have terrible sleep and/or come home sick,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear luckyladyd, Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express! We're very pleased to be your new favorite hotel in Durham and are happy you had an outstanding visit. We can't wait to see you during future visits with your family! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We got a last-minute room at this hotel through Expedia on the road, an hour away. Clean rooms, extremely convenient location and very helpful/friendly staff. All one could ask for in a room for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear t0eplitz, Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you had a clean, comfortable stay and found our staff so helpful and friendly. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in our area and hope you will be able to stay for longer! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I've travelled a good bit the past month on business and luckily haven't had any poor hotel experiences. I just had a 2 night stay aY Holiday Inn Express in Dueham, NC. It's everything you would expect from this long-running chain. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable beds, good shower pressure. Hotel offers a complimentary breakfast with the usual fare-eggs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear Fred H, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We're happy your 2-night visit lived up to the rest of your recent business stays and you found our staff so friendly & helpful. Thanks again for your praise and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly... More 

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Have stayed at this motel several times. Rooms clean and quiet. Front desk staff pleasant. Continental breakfast is good quality for this type of breakfast. Staff in breakfast area very accommodating and prompt with keeping tables clean and available

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear pattypaw1, Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and taking the time to review us! We're glad you always have a quiet, clean stay and find our staff so friendly. We appreciate your high ratings and can't wait for your next visit! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

After driving all day, this place was a sight for sore eyes! My only complaint was the highway noise from the Interstate. Ask for a room opposite the highway with an odd number. The breakfast was good for what is provided and has some great options for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear KErickson96, Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express - I'm glad we gave you a comfortable place to rest after a long day of driving! We do apologize for any inconvenience due to highway noise and are happy to accommodate requests for rooms on the opposite side of the property given availability. Thanks again for your comments and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay