We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sanderling Resort

#1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Special Rate
Second Night Only $29
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Jetsetter to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sanderling Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We treated ourselves to a three day getaway for our anniversary. From the time we arrived, everyone we came into contact with was extremely pleasant and outgoing. Though it was February, the resort was exceedingly attractive and clean. The room was great. It was extremely clean and large. A nice touch is that they provide a smoores kit to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abacoscout
Windsor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights in the North Inn in a king ocean front. It was beautiful but not overly large. The bathroom was very nice but did not have a tub. We could see the ocean and sound. The fire pit and hot tub were awesome. We never left the resort. We ate all of our meals on site. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank L0vet0travel433
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with others. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and are looking forward to returning. While not in the North Inn, there are rooms at the Resort that do have tubs if that is something you want in the future reservations will be happy to assist. More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed three nights at the Sanderling, checking in on New Year's Eve. Rachel assisted in the reservation process and she was wonderful. I initially reached out to her because I've been traveling to the Outer Banks for several years and I know there was a big renovation at this property recently so I wanted to ask about differences in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RDUTravelGirl
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

What an awesome review! Thank you for taking the time to share with us and other travelers. Yes those new rooms are one of a kind and while on our website you do have to call to book them. We are glad we could start your year off on the right foot. Please visit again soon. More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was a great get away for a long weekend in Duck. The Resort people were very accommodating, the room was lovely with a great view of the ocean. We ate in the restaurant and it was ok, but everything else was a great time. I highly recommend staying here and we will return for another Winter weekend at the beach.

Helpful?
Thank dianestefano
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Outer Banks and Sanderling. The winter is a magical time here. We want your dining experience to be memorable as well and hope next time you will give us another chance. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To start 2016, I wanted a place on the Atlantic shore, not commercial, few tourists, and spa facilities. Potentially warm enough for beach walks. The Sanderling offered the perfect retreat! The staff is extremely courteous and welcoming - they make you feel at home. Any request I had, no matter how small, elicited a positive response - each and every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing how amazing an off-season escape at the Sanderling (and the Outer Banks) can be. We love that you experienced so many of the amenities to make the stay so memorable. We hope you will join us again. More 

Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed during the off season for Thanksgiving week and we left completely satisfied and sad we couldn't stay longer! The high season staff had just left for the winter but other than turndown service and valet we never would've noticed the difference. Their staff was overwhelmingly friendly and were happy to show us different suites for us to pick... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your attention to detail and sharing those observations with other travelers. We love you pointed out your favorite things and have already shared your kind words with our team. We look forward to your return and will have a fireplace ready for that bottle of wine. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We decided at the last minute to hit the road for New Years Eve, and Rachel was the first person we spoke to in reservations. Very knowledgable about the properties, and room types. We have 6 1/2 year old twins and booked into the North building 3rd floor 2 queen room on the sound. Perfect! As we were thinking about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Butler250
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us over New Year's. We are delighted we found the best accommodations for you and your family and look forward to having you back. Happy New Year! More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

You offed a local discount card, we have eaten at your restaurants multiple times, used the spa often, and recommended your services to guests who stay in our rental home, but on this very quiet December night you turned my young family away from the fire pit/smores and bar since it is only for registered guests. Wow, Sanderling, dissappointed is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing. We absolutely encourage locals and non-hotel guests to join us in the restaurants and the spa and offer promotions year round to make them feel welcome. There are certain areas, though, that are reserved for registered guests and are required to be that way due to parking requirements, etc. Unfortunately, this is year round, not based... More 

london , uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Endorsing other contributors here and voting this a most gorgeous hotel-by-the-sea. Excellent spa too. Some confusion with our non ocean view booking but apart from that everything as clockwork. Special rec for Josh who was so so helpful , indeed all the staff we met on our two night stay. Two very very small gripes, and I say small they... More 

Helpful?
Thank ksd_9
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed us in the off-season. We are glad you enjoyed Lifesaving Station and we will certainly pass your compliments on to Josh. The resort fee is $30 in season when we have all the amenities and $15 during the off-season. It includes wifi, newspapers, coffee, parking and gratuity for bell and housekeeping.... More 

charleston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

My wife and I recently stayed there for our 1st anniversary, and it was a great place. The staff working the front desk that we came in contact with, young lady working the desk at night, was very helpful. Also, when we were checking out the Tuesday morning before Thanksgiving, the gentlemen was very nice as well. The location was... More 

Helpful?
Thank nkcook386
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate you recognizing our staff and will be sure they are aware. We are glad you enjoyed the Lifesaving Station. We look forward to your return. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

557 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (249)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (108)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (284)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanside King Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Premium Oceanfront King (42)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
14.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
15.2 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay