We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jarrett House

2.5 of 5 100 Haywood Road, Dillsboro, NC 28575
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jarrett House
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Jarrett House
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My two sisters and I lodged at the Inn for one night. The inn keepers were very gracious and accommodating. There wasn't a hair dryer in our room. When I went to the front desk to request one the Inn keeper couldn't find one. He said that as soon as his waitress arrived he would go buy one for me.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! Making sure our guests have what they need is our first priority. We try our best to treat you like family! We sure hope you will return and enjoy another stay with us this 2015 season. Don't worry about a hairdryer...we've got you covered! Thanks, Natalie Thomas | General Manager More 

Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

For years my family and I have been to the Jarrett House each time we visited the area. It is a beautiful place and once had meals that we're worth the travel time and wait. My sister and I went yesterday, "Peak Weekend" and there was no waiting. Unusual! I now know why. Our server was very good and attentive,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

First, I would like to apologize for the delayed response of your review. Your review was posted to the wrong location and I did not see until now. I appreciate your honesty with your review. I do wish that you had let me know the issues while at dining with us. We strive to serve your meal as you ordered... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

We always eat at the Jarrett House on our trip to the Smokies. This year, we were in for a very pleasant surprise. The entry and dining rooms have been tastefully renovated and the food was even better than usual. A must stop for any visit,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We love what the new owner has done with the place and have heard so many positive comments. Thanks for letting us know you like the new look and the food. Hope to see you back in 2015! Thanks More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

Just had my first meal at this awesome historical establishment! Love the history of the place and the staff was more than happy to answer all my tourist-y questions. Onto the GOOD stuff.... The food! The portions! The service! I split the meatloaf with my mother and after two hearty appetites I still had a good bit to go. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for the fabulous review! I am glad your first trip to our historical place was great! Yes Scott is very good at his job and it helps that he grew up here. Our name Vinegar Pie always gets the most delightful expressions on peoples faces..you are right it tastes like a sugar cookie to me too. We hope... More 

Concord, NC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Very nice 130 year old establishment. Great old time charm with a restaurant on the first floor. Rocking chair balcony on all three floors. People were absolutely wonderful and very accommodating. Close to Western Carolina University and Harrahs Cherokee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love the fact that this is one place that you can "step back in time" just a little with no distraction of TV in your room. We prefer our guests enjoy the rocking chair porches and the view of the town and some mountains. You... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Wanted somewhere to stay for Labor Day weekend. The Jarrett House was the perfect distance from Atlanta, the room had great character and the chicken and dumplings are just not better anywhere else!! Was a great distance for a trip over to Asheville.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

We are glad you spent Labor Day weekend with us! The Jarrett House in Dillsboro is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of Atlanta. We definitely hope you return when you just need to get away from it all and relax! Thanks, More 

Lavonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Four couples went to ride on the Smoky Mountain Railroad from Bryson City to the Nantahala gorge and then to the Jarrett House in Dillsboro for dinner and a one night stay. Dinner was excellent and Jim and Genie were very welcoming. We could not have asked for better service. We have dined at the Jarrett House in the past... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Jarrett House is a great place for couples! For almost 40 years Jim and Jean have opened their home to 1000's of guest and treated them as welcomed family. That tradition will never change! Come and visit us in 2015 and be welcomed home again! Thanks More 

Ponte Vedra, FL, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Jarrett House has been a family favorite for years, and an annual destination. Over the last few years, we have been really disappointed. They no longer serve dishes family style, which was disappointing. The fried chicken was bland, the chicken and dumplings were spicy (yes, spicy) and the trout was just average. We had a party of 18 this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We always aim to please our guests and I do wish you had let me know during the time you were here. Our difficult choice to no longer serve family style came from the ever rising costs of food and the incredible amount of waste on a daily basis. We opted to compromise with generous... More 

FREDERICKSBURG
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We drove through the mountains to dine at the Jarrett House while on vacation in the Cashiers, NC area. In years past, it was worth the trip. Not so much now. They no longer serve family style - dishes and bowls filled with food brought to the table. They say it is because they were throwing away too much food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We did make the change from family style due to the rising cost of food and the amount of waste on a daily basis. I am glad you enjoyed your meal. Our recipes have been not changed and wish you had let us know that your chicken was greasy. We could have brought you another... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

While this is only the 2nd time We have eaten at the House, We had made a special trip from the Smoky Mtns to eat there after our long train ride. The House is Nice and welcoming. The Diner Menu had a lot to offer but something was missing in the taste. Oh yeah the southern Cooking. I chose the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. You are correct in questioning Southern Family Style. We made a decision this year to no longer serve family style due to increase costs of food and the waste from eyes bigger than stomach moments. We also did introduce some other ways of seasoning our food to give our patrons who need other options as choices.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Jarrett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarrett House

Address: 100 Haywood Road, Dillsboro, NC 28575
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jarrett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jarrett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jarrett House Hotel Dillsboro

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay