We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
8503 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #81 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
J Boogie 2 CLTNC
Add Your Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
14
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
CLTNC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate his birthday. The guestroom was spacious and comfortable. Although we didn't use the fireplace I believe it would've been very romantic. My family and I have stayed here on a few occasions and we haven't been disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stella, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on a quick one night stay to meet some friends. The check-in was quick & friendly and we were provided with a restaurant list for the area. That was very helpful. Our room was a first floor, King-bed room with a kitchenette, fireplace (electronic), TV, seating area and bathroom. The room was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

This is a generation one Residence Inn, which means it's older and entrance is from outside, more like a true apartment. Two bedrooms in a generation one has the bed in the living room, but a two bedroom in a second generation has two separate bedrooms. The room was very nice with a fireplace and full kitchen. Staff was accommodating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florida
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
80 hotel reviews
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This was our first time staying here and because of the difficulty getting in and out, we will probably choose another place next time. If it had not been so difficult to get to, then it would have been conveniently located. But most times we came back, we had to do a u-turn at the light. Seems the folks the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property during your stay with us at the Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park. I am pleased to hear that you stay was pleasant, both your room and you the service that you experienced, as we stive to provide all of our guests with top notch accomodations and service during their stay.... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

This hotel is the only hotel I stay at when I come to Charlotte. The staff here has become like a second family to my family. Everyone here is very personable and takes care of ever need and make sure that the stay here is perfect. The room are and nice the beds are just perfect to sleep on. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

The heat for the room had to be manually turned on with a lever switch inside the bedroom closet. We complained for two days our room was reading 62 degrees after turning the heat up to 90 that it would not get warm. It was 30 degrees outside. Well the air conditioning had been on! It took them two days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Dear Ann, Thank you for taking time to write about your stay at the Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park. I am sorry that your stay was less than exceptional as we strive for all of our guests to have a home away from home. We take each guests concern and do our best to respond with the utmost urgency... More 

Edgefield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

The staff was more than accommodating. The only thing I didn't like was how late room service came around but I like the rooms. They were spacious n clean..I loved the services they offer to their guests.. The breakfast was good also.. Loved the location, everything you needed was in walking distance!! A nice place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This place has been updated or is not that old. Very nice room. Everything looked new. King size bed that you could stay in all day and great pillows. Full size kitchen if you dont want to go out to eat. There are places to eat with in walking distances. The only problem we had was the front door was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

This was not the newest Residence Inn out there but the staff clearly works hard to keep it nice. The room had a fireplace, new TV and was clean and well kept. The morning breakfast was one of the best I have seen with a great selection of hot food, pastries and other breakfast items. There is a drug store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to leave your thought regarding your stay at the Residence Inn Charlotte Universtiy Research Park. While our hotel does represent the older style Residence Inn, our staff does their best to enusre that all our guests experence top quality customer service. From our housekeeping, to our breakfast we like to encure that each guests... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This Residence Inn offers the usual amenities and that's good. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good linens, and very friendly staff. But this property is in need of maintenance. The door facings were damaged on two doors where someone had obviously broken in, and in one bathroom the about three feet of wallpaper was hanging loose from the wall! A lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Michael, Thank you for taking time to complete your review on our hotel. I am sorry that we were not able to live up to your expectations our the goals we set for ouselves. I have shared your review with oiur maintenance team and the issues that you had with your room have bee addressed. Reviews such as yours allow... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question