We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 170 Charlotte hotels

Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8503 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262 (Mineral Springs)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park to your Saves list
Ranked #80 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014
allwaysfuntimes101 Hagerstown, Maryland
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
12
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This place has been updated or is not that old. Very nice room. Everything looked new. King size bed that you could stay in all day and great pillows. Full size kitchen if you dont want to go out to eat. There are places to eat with in walking distances. The only problem we had was the front door was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

This was not the newest Residence Inn out there but the staff clearly works hard to keep it nice. The room had a fireplace, new TV and was clean and well kept. The morning breakfast was one of the best I have seen with a great selection of hot food, pastries and other breakfast items. There is a drug store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to leave your thought regarding your stay at the Residence Inn Charlotte Universtiy Research Park. While our hotel does represent the older style Residence Inn, our staff does their best to enusre that all our guests experence top quality customer service. From our housekeeping, to our breakfast we like to encure that each guests... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This Residence Inn offers the usual amenities and that's good. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good linens, and very friendly staff. But this property is in need of maintenance. The door facings were damaged on two doors where someone had obviously broken in, and in one bathroom the about three feet of wallpaper was hanging loose from the wall! A lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Michael, Thank you for taking time to complete your review on our hotel. I am sorry that we were not able to live up to your expectations our the goals we set for ouselves. I have shared your review with oiur maintenance team and the issues that you had with your room have bee addressed. Reviews such as yours allow... More 

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I stayed here two nights. We were able to check in early which was nice and the front desk staff was very friendly. Loved that they have a hot breakfast in the morning and dinner several nights during the week. The room was another matter. For those that haven't stayed at a Residence Inn before, note that most rooms have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to complete a review regarding your stay at our hotel. Our staff belives in providing the best possible service at all times, and we appreciate the comment. I am sorry that oyu had isssues withthe door lock on your room. The dead bold is automatic and did engage during your stay, as there is not... More 

Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

My husband and granddaughter stayed at this property this past weekend to attend a concert at the PNC Pavilion. While it appears to be an older property, don't let the appearance fool you. The carpet seemed to have been recently replaced and the hotel (general areas and room) was beyond immaculate. It was quiet and conveniently located to the venue.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Quiet and clean with friendly service. However, had to shower first night without hot water due to mechanical issues and the parking is terrible. I wouldn't say I will rule out staying there again, but I would look at other hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you for taking time to complete the review about your stay at our hotel. I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I am pleased to report that the mechanical issues that affected the hot water in your room have bee fixed. Unfortunately this was an issue that we could not forsee, and could... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

First time staying at this location, it was a nice large room. Comfy and clean. However-rowdy type of crowd. Loud rap music, people hanging out in the parking lot, etc. Car alarms went off twice in the night, extremely annoying! We got in around 10 pm, and were just there to sleep and get back on the road in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the issue you experienced with the crowd. We had 3 family reunions in over the weekend, and caused a challenge for us providing the quality and comfort our guests deserve. In an effort to minimize guests encountering issues such as what you encountered, we have taken steps... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Being a former Charlotte, NC resident, I was excited about traveling to the city to meet up with friends. Unfortunately, after one night, it was clear that this facility would not hold up to the solid reviews I read before booking my stay. I arrived this past Friday afternoon about 4pm. Check in went rather well. I noticed that my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eric K, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review

Dear Teal, First I would like to apologize four your experience at our hotel last weekend. We had three family reunions in house and it was a situation where we should not have taken so much of that type of business in order to be more considerate to our other guests. It is a situation that will not happen again.... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My friends and I stayed here while attending a concert at the PNC Pavillion. Rooms were clean and spacious and the staff was very helpful. Zuleyma at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating when we requested some extra pillows and comforters for the sleeper sofas. Thank you for the great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
pembroke pines florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My son needed an extended stay hotel for six weeks this summer. I found this Residence Inn online and called to find out more about it, as none of us had been to Charlotte before. From my first phone call, the staff could not have been more pleasant, professional or helpful. My younger son and I decided to go visit,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park

Address: 8503 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay