We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Charlotte University Place

#17 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
8629 JM Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262
Special Offer
SeaLife Package
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Add Photo

904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    538
    236
    72
    38
    20
See reviews for
167
137
49
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (904)
  • Mar-May only
    (238)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (260)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (229)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (177)
All months
Monrovia, United States
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Waited awhile to get keys made as the key Machine was broken Had maintenance visit two times to fix a/c and leaking a/c on the bathroom floor Checking messed up and claimed they linked my chained reservation, they did not and I had to check in again with a rude clerk who did not want to hear my complaint

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Eric C, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Hilton Honors member, you are among our most valued guests. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry that our Key Coders went out, but we were able to get it fixed. I was also sorry to... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had an amazing time working with the wedding specialist (Emily Bowers) and the Hilton team. They have made our wedding a spectacular event, just the way we have imagined it to be. We recommend the Hilton Charlotte University Place as a wedding reception or any other event venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Anadin, Congratulations on your recent marriage! Thank you for sharing your beautiful day with us and we were delighted to hear that Emily Bowers, one of our amazing wedding specialists made your day special. We look forward to seeing you again soon and to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us. Very truly yours, David Schaum | General Manager Marieta... More 

Charlotte, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Since I travel for work, I always stay at Hilton hotels. For this stay, it was for leisure and I had a lake view. As a HHonors member, I was placed on a HHonors floor and the room was impeccable. The lake view of the boardwalk added an extra incentive. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms over looking the lake. As a Hilton Honors member, you are one of our valued guests and we thank you for your loyalty. Thank you for the positive review about our property. We look... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hilton University Place was great. We were in town for a concert, and this is very convenient to PNC Music Amphitheater. Room was nice. Bathroom a bit cramped, seeing that we were in the biggest room they offer just short of the mega suites. We paid extra to be on the Executive level, a luxury well worth it. Food service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms over looking the lake and that you had an opportunity to visit our Executive Lounge. We were glad to hear that our location is convenient to many shops and restaurants on our boardwalk. We... More 

Burkittsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was very clean, staff very friendly, and what I am used to from Hilton properties. It was a short distance away from a couple of restaurants. I was very happy with my room. I will be back. I love Charlotte!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms over looking the lake. We were glad to hear that our location is convenient to many shops and restaurants within walking distance. We look forward to you continuing to choose the Hilton Charlotte University... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped on our way to the Outer Banks for two nights at this first-rate Hilton property north of downtown Charlotte. Less than 30 minutes to downtown (non-rush hour). Adjacent to small lake encircled by restaurants, night clubs and condo's. Very nice business property, very busy the nights we were there (Monday-Tuesday) with business travelers and conferences. Only experience the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms over looking the lake. We were glad to hear that our location is convenient to many shops and restaurants on our boardwalk. We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast experience.... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located on a man-made lake and development. Convenient to some shops, great for a long walk or run in the morning before the workday begins. Sheila at the front desk was extremely helpful. She was able to locate a quiet room for me, despite the fact that the hotel was completely booked. Other staff also friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Second Twin, Thank you for your positive review from your recent stay at our property. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location and the convenient shops and restaurants within walking distance around our man-made lake. We were very excited to hear that our staff exemplified excellent customer service to make your stay more pleasant and that... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a business meeting and booked a second room for a colleague arriving from Mexico. His trip was cancelled at the last minute, the hotel staff did not even charge us a night stay for the second room. All queries to the front desk were responded to with a smile and a helpful answer. The only downside was the temporary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay. I was glad to hear that our front desk staff went made you feel welcomed. We use the feedback of our guests as training tools for our staff and in regards to the wake up call, I will be sure to share... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came to Charlotte on business for one night. I was greeted after a 15 hour day, very pleasantly and efficiently and most importantly, I was in my room 5 minutes later. The room itself was clean and nicely appointed. My only issue was that the night table outlets didn't work so I had to put my phone across the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Laureen, Thank you for your positive comments regarding your most recent stay. I was glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience in our Lakefront Restaurant for breakfast. Hats off to our culinary staff for the wonderful selection of foods they prepared for breakfast - glad you liked the biscuits and gravy!! I was also delighted to hear... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Elevators have graffiti carved into them, and there aren't enough. Be sure to request a room away from the elevator bank--we were on the top floor right next to them and the machinery whirred all night. AC units are extremely noisy. Two other rooms in our party had to change rooms because AC want working. Beds (even in our seemingly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Dear Journeyman99991, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We value all of our guests and we appreciate you giving us your candid feedback in the areas in which we still need to make improvements. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with the HVAC... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

210 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (103)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay