We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown

3.0 of 5 201 S McDowell St, Charlotte, NC 28204 (Formerly Charlotte Plaza Uptown Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Let me preface this by saying that I am a Marriott rewards member. I travel every week for my job and stay in hotels 3-4 nights per week, mostly Marriott recently. I was a Hilton honors member in the past. This is the first time I have ever reviewed a hotel online, and the first truly negative experience I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I brought my 4-year-old and 6-year-old to Charlotte for a free night's stay earned through my Marriott Rewards Visa card. Plusses included the convenient, covered parking ($15 per night), newly updated lobby and sleek, modern rooms, comfortable bed, bathroom with backlit mirror, and, free breakfast with lots of choices. Unfortunately with the ice storm in Charlotte while we were there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown and for sharing with us your feedback. We value your loyalty and are pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations in regards to our facilities, accommodations and the amenities provided for your comfort. I’m glad you and your children had an enjoyable stay and... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went for our first anniversary on Valentines Day... I was not happy with the poor customer service. We arrived the night before and the gentleman was very dry and didn't even say "Welcome to Fairfield Inn Suites Hotel". He just handed us a key and told us that our room was on the fourth floor. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in Charlotte. I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Great service is something that the hotel’s associates are 100% empowered to deliver at this hotel. It is disappointing that this did not occur in your case. I assure you that... More 

Severna Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A three night stay for an in hotel conference. Not sure I like the modern, European motif. I think it is an older building that has been remodeled . Room temperature control was impossible to figure out. All staff very helpful, pleasant. Breakfast typical, tables in this area need some serious leveling, or anti-rocking attention. Public rest rooms and meeting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown. I’m pleased to know that your overall stay was good, and that you were particularly impressed with the rest rooms, as well as, meeting rooms. It’s great that you were able to enjoy your meals here too. We apologize for any... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff is very polite and friendly at the reception desk. The rooms are clean and have good lighting in the bathroom. The morning breakfast is nicely laid out and the staff welcoming. The parking garage at $15 a night is a surprise and you don't have a choice. No free self parking unless you are handicapped. Good location

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I’m glad you had a great stay and that we were able to impress you with our clean facilities and friendly service. We also appreciate your compliments about our breakfast service and location. We work hard in meeting all our guests needs daily and it is reviews like yours that make our job so rewarding.... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Partner and I Visited The Fairfield in Charlotte Uptown on a Thursday evening .we had not had Any plans to stay at this hotel ,more on a wind I must say My experience was outstanding !very Friendly Staff ,.... The room was Clean and Stylish and. Awesome view of Uptown with a balcony ,... We got a once in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

We appreciate your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown and thank you for taking the time to post your positive experience online. It was a pleasure to read that you both enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet all of your expectations with our modern and clean accommodations, beautiful views, as well... More 

Newnan, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I stayed two nights on business, in one of the rooms facing the interstate. Yes, I could hear the road noise, but it did not affect the quality of my stay. The room was newly refurbished, and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean and chic, with a large, walk-in shower. Carpet was new and clean. The room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us! It is fantastic to hear that your business trip was enjoyable and that we were able to meet your expectations. We are always happy to learn that our guests enjoyed our modern and contemporary accommodations, the friendly service provided by our staff,... More 

nc
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

The second time staying here, and both times the traffic noise was unacceptable. Staying on the "back" side exposes you to noise from the interstate: motorcycles, eighteen-wheelers, general noise. Therefore I requested a room on the "front" side at my recent stay. It was even worse. Police sirens, emergency vehicle sirens, unknown vehicles with loud exhausts. The problem may come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Fairfield Inn and Suites Charlotte Uptown. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. For the majority of our guests, the hotel's location in a lively and growing city is a big positive. What comes with that location is plenty of activity around the hotel.... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This is a renovated property so, honestly, I was concerned that it had gone downhill after the chain change. Nope! It is better. Way better. The location is great as it is easy to get to and has an attached parking garage so you don't have to get wet if it is raining. However, you will pay an additional $15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for painting an honest and detailed picture of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown. It is always delightful and reassuring when we receive such positive feedback and we learn that our guests had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to read that you were pleased with everything –from our... More 

Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I was not expecting the super stylish room and bedding, glamorous and well-appointed bathroom (opening night mirror), and inspiring sunrise view from this Fairfield Inn. The common areas and luxurious pool were an oasis amidst all the local bustle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a delight to read about your experience with us. I am happy that we pleasantly surprised you with the contemporary look and feel of our refreshed facilities and that you enjoyed waking up to the wonderful sunrise view each morning. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown

Address: 201 S McDowell St, Charlotte, NC 28204 (Formerly Charlotte Plaza Uptown Hotel)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Family Hotel in Charlotte

23 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay