We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 170 Charlotte hotels

Charlotte Express Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 Lucky Penny Street, Charlotte, NC 28208 (Formerly Real Value Inn)
Hotel amenities
Charlotte Express Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Charlotte Express Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #154 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    0
    11
See reviews for
2
1
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The first room I was checked into had a dead cockroach belly up on the bathroom floor. The 2nd room I was transferred to was already occupied… 3rd room had electricity problems and we had a rough night sleeping with all of the car doors and voices outside of the room all.night.long… Definitely felt like I was captive inside a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New London, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I stayed overnight in this hotel because our flight was canceled due to the snowstorm and all the other hotels were already full. It was a place to lay down our weary heads, but that's about it. From the lobby to the hotel exterior, the place was in disrepair, and our room wasn't much better. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This place is not even worth the time to look at. The room smelled so bad and everything in the room had a layer of grim on it. People constantly slamming doors and acting ignorant. Drugs and Prostitution everywhere. I watched men come in and out of one room with a young girl staying there. Stay away from this place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Carlstadt, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Very courteous, helpful and professional staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Located very close to downtown and airport. Great rooms and service for the price. Recommend to all budget travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteExpressInn, General Manager at Charlotte Express Inn, responded to this review

We wanted to thank you for the time you taken to review us & we appericiate your time thanks sherly More 

2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 1.5 days with my dog. On the second day after I had been walking him around already for a day half they asked me to leave cuz of my dog!!! Ya makes no sence and wouldn't refund my money eather. If you ask me go to the knights inn down the road same price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CharlotteExpressInn, General Manager at Charlotte Express Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry for the inconvience you had during your stay but as you no at the time of checkinn that Charlotte Express Inn is not a PET FRIENDLY hotel listed on the web site . And we have to request you to leave as per management policy, to keep up the policy . More 

charlotte, nc
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

VERY nasty rooms, rude owners, bugs ,bugs, bugs! I definately won't be staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

I would definitely stay here again. The rooms look like they have been recently renovated and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. After speaking to the onwers, I found out that this hotel has changed management a few months back and it really shows! The rooms are cheap and clean, and it is conveniently located off I-85.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jeffnewman28208
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I paid for 1 weeks stay. The staff and management is so incompettent that after the first night the maids discarded everything I left in the room. I complained and they said the room I am staying in usually is rented nightly not weekly. For the next 4 days the maids never came to the room and I had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Roanoke, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Just wanted to post that this is a great hotel to stay. The people where generous and very informational when trying to find my hotel room. If I visit Charlotte again rest assure I would come back to the Real Value Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

This was my third stay at Real Value Inn,I frequently go to Charlotte for business. This property has very compassionate staff & provides really a comfortable stay with clean rooms with inroom coffee maker,Refrigerator,Hair Dryer for a very reasonable price tag of $ 40.00 a night with a complimentary HOT BREAKFAST. Very Close to down town,Airport & Interstate 85. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Charlotte Express Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Express Inn

Address: 1240 Lucky Penny Street, Charlotte, NC 28208 (Formerly Real Value Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlotte Express Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlotte Express Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Express Hotel Charlotte
Real Value Hotel

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay