We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunhill Hotel

#27 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Dunhill Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #27 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
MartinBrophy London UK
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    80
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
39
126
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (306)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
London UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As one of the American Historic Hotels The Dunhill delivers. The room I had was small by US standards but makes up for the this with lovely 4 post bed and nice furniture. Nice extras like a turn down and shoe shine service. Bar is lovely as is the bar tender but was disappointed with the restaurant, pretentious, small portions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartinBrophy, Thank you for your review and your kind words about the service you received. We're delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to see you again when your travels return you to Charlotte. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife wanted to stay here for a long time. How disappointing. Don't get us wrong it is a great hotel. We loved the vibe except for all the vagrants. Nothing like setting outside and having numerous panhandlers come up ask for money. Not to mention watching them urinate on the wall in the park across from the hotel. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie M, We're glad that you think we're a great hotel and that you loved our vibe. I'm sorry that you were here on the night that we had AC troubles. I'm going to send a direct message to you in hopes that we can have a conversation. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Dunhill Hotel for a wedding, and it was all I could have asked for in a historic luxery hotel. The food, service and atmosphere were top notch. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff were exceptional. Would definitely return if I ever needed to stay in Charlotte in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Jasper, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed at the Dunhill on several occasions, but my last stay several months ago will be my last. I was given a tiny, dingy, corner room that I can only assume is reserved for when the hotel is full (which it was not). As it was dinner time when I checked in I chose to accept the room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fuzzyverts, I'm sorry that our efforts to address the challenges you had during your most recent stay fell short of meeting your expectations. I'm also sorry that you feel that your troubles were not properly acknowledged by any of our associates through an apology. Given your previous positive experiences, I hope you will consider your most recent stay an... More 

Ripley, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

My flight was two hours late getting in, I got lost driving out of the airport, so when I got to the Dunhill (after midnight) there were no bellmen on duty. Pete, the bartender, saw me struggling with my bags so he came out from behind the bar and helped me. I found that the entire hotel staff had that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Fetzer2, Isn't Pete great! I'm glad he was able to turn your travel experience around after what sounds like a a challenging journey. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when your travels return you to Charlotte. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

A perfect weekend get away. Dunhill Hotel. In midtown Charlotte, but quiet, Close to museums, good restaurants. In the style of European boutique hotels with everything square on. Lovely room with lots of marble in the bath and a generous supply of linens. Valet parking with car available in a New York Minute. Comp breakfast in nicely appointed dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

clegget336, We're glad that you appreciate our attention to detail. The Asbury's menu changes seasonally with the food our local farmers are producing. So the next time you're here, there will be some new offerings to tempt your palate. We hope you'll try it out and join us at The Dunhill again soon. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Travelled to Charlotte on business and spent 2 nights at the Dunhill with my wife. Staff were all charming and really seemed to care, room was well laid out and clean. Very happy with the ok and service, will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Travis S., Thank you for your sharing your great experience. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The Dunhill is a historic hotel located in the down town area of Charlotte. It is located conveniently to many restaurants. It’s across the street from the Discovery Place and about a three minute walk from the Blumenthal Center. We stayed here because we were attending a concert at the center. Our room was on the 7th floor. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

DPC_LJC_Travel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and share your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that our location was so perfect for you. We hope we can welcome you back soon! Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Ate breakfast in the restaurant and ordered hash brown potatoes. They were literally GREY! We told the waiter who said he would tell the chef. They stopped serving them as we heard them tell the table next to us, but we thought they'd at least comp us the meal which they didn't. No word from the chef either. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie Y, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on several fronts. We definitely dropped the ball on your brunch experience. I'm going to send a direct message to you in hopes that we can have a conversation. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Our first place we were staying was so dirty and uncomfortable I called up the Dunhill and asked if they had a room. They did, they were even so kind to upgrade our room after hearing our experience. Everything was clean, the staff were helpful and kind, and the views were beautiful. Breakfast was good and there were many things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tonita A, We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again when your travels return you to Charlotte. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

235 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (187)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Executive King Room (17)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (51)
Viewed
Premiere Queen Room (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Vintage Double Queen Room (16)
Viewed
Vintage Queen Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities