We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunhill Hotel

#32 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Dunhill Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #32 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
operaghost666paris Savannah, Georgia
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    182
    81
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
40
130
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Dunhill is definitely a charming place to stay, full of history and character. The service was wonderful, as everyone there was friendly and helpful. Location was also good, as we were going to a concert at Time Warner Cable Arena, which was less than a ten minute walk. The hotel also has a parking garage, a major plus in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

My wife and I had never stayed overnight in charlotte, NC. We went there over the weekend of her birthday. This hotel has a very nice historic charm and the rooms are well appointed in the historic style of the 1920's, the hotel's founding. They provide a very nice breakfast and have an excellent restaurant downstairs that provides great brunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear swatts37, We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and so many aspects of what our hotel and its location have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Savannah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Such a sweet and unique place to stay. Great room, great location, great lobby bar and fantastic customer service! There is a vey cute cafe next door, with a nice menu. We would suggest sitting outside. So beautiful! Special thanks to Jay and Nick...Super hospitable and absolutely charming!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thanks for such a WOW review! We hope you will travel to see us again soon. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

This was our first visit and the hotel exceeded our expectations. The room is somewhat small by US standards but well appointed and comfortable. The staff was most helpful in recommending nearby restaurants. We will definitely stay here on our return to Charlotte

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for your kind words. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our team exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was not quite. You could hear tons of street noise all night! Then, the air went out! 80 degrees in our room in May. They acted like it happens all the time. Had to wait an hour and half to talk to manager. The front desk blew me off. We only got half our money back. So much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lauren H, We are very sorry for the discomfort you experienced due to the air conditioning. Please know that we began taking steps to fix the issue as soon as our associates noticed the problem, and it was fixed that day. I understand that you spoke with Meredith, one of our very best supervisors, about the situation early Sunday... More 

London UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

As one of the American Historic Hotels The Dunhill delivers. The room I had was small by US standards but makes up for the this with lovely 4 post bed and nice furniture. Nice extras like a turn down and shoe shine service. Bar is lovely as is the bar tender but was disappointed with the restaurant, pretentious, small portions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartinBrophy, Thank you for your review and your kind words about the service you received. We're delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to see you again when your travels return you to Charlotte. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

My wife wanted to stay here for a long time. How disappointing. Don't get us wrong it is a great hotel. We loved the vibe except for all the vagrants. Nothing like setting outside and having numerous panhandlers come up ask for money. Not to mention watching them urinate on the wall in the park across from the hotel. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie M, We're glad that you think we're a great hotel and that you loved our vibe. I'm sorry that you were here on the night that we had AC troubles. I'm going to send a direct message to you in hopes that we can have a conversation. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Dunhill Hotel for a wedding, and it was all I could have asked for in a historic luxery hotel. The food, service and atmosphere were top notch. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff were exceptional. Would definitely return if I ever needed to stay in Charlotte in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Have stayed at the Dunhill on several occasions, but my last stay several months ago will be my last. I was given a tiny, dingy, corner room that I can only assume is reserved for when the hotel is full (which it was not). As it was dinner time when I checked in I chose to accept the room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fuzzyverts, I'm sorry that our efforts to address the challenges you had during your most recent stay fell short of meeting your expectations. I'm also sorry that you feel that your troubles were not properly acknowledged by any of our associates through an apology. Given your previous positive experiences, I hope you will consider your most recent stay an... More 

Ripley, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

My flight was two hours late getting in, I got lost driving out of the airport, so when I got to the Dunhill (after midnight) there were no bellmen on duty. Pete, the bartender, saw me struggling with my bags so he came out from behind the bar and helped me. I found that the entire hotel staff had that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John B, General Manager at Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Fetzer2, Isn't Pete great! I'm glad he was able to turn your travel experience around after what sounds like a a challenging journey. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when your travels return you to Charlotte. Best wishes, John Beatty, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (187)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Executive King Room (17)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (51)
Viewed
Premiere Queen Room (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Vintage Double Queen Room (16)
Viewed
Vintage Queen Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#17 of 171 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#59 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Hilton Charlotte Center City
#54 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay