We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place

Hotel website
Hotel deals
131 East Mccullough Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    38
    35
    27
    21
See reviews for
65
22
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel looks nothing like the photos. They are currently going to through renovations but the minor cosmetic changes that they are doing will not make this a hotel I would ever stay at again. First day check in, the entire hotel smelled like rotten garbage. The room averagely clean. We booked a room with a sofa bed for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlo Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Sorry about the experience that you had at the property. Please contact the General Manager at the property, we will like to make it right for you. Thank you for staying with us and please come back after the renovation is complete. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Eddie the van driver was very helpful and kind to us. Upon our return from a trip our car would not start in the parking lot. He aided in recharging the battery and getting us safely back on the road. Eddie is a dedicated and professional employee who goes the extra mile for the customer. Country Inn should be thankful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sims, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel online last minute and we stayed 7/19-7/20/15. Our room was clean, all of the staff were friendly, smiling and very helpful. My children visited the pool which is indoor/outdoor and my daughter encountered a wasp and was stung, but the general manager went above and beyond to ensure she was ok and even brought some snacks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel online at the last minute from the road as we needed a place to crash for the night and most of the hotels in the area were booked. We got there at 9:00pm. The first impression I got when my husband, 2 year old and I walked into the lobby was it was dirty and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlo Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Sorry about the experience that you had at our property during renovation. We are doing the best we could to improve the property at this point. As far as the refund, please contact the hotel and ask to speak with the general manager. I will check on the information make sure that you did not get charge. Again thank you... More 

Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here while we were in town for a basketball tournament. The breakfast, staff, and room were great. They allowed use to use the breakfast room several days for team meetings. Staff was extremely friendly and constantly asked our boys how they did each day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had booked this hotel 2 weeks ago and went to check in today. The lobby was a mess, there was a sign at front desk that said pool is closed. While waiting to ask how long pool was closed for, the woman in front of me was complaining about phone not working and other questions about the hotel. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlo Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Sorry about your experience that you had at our property. We are still currently under renovation and we will be finishing with all our public space by the end of the month. Please give us a chance again after the renovation is complete. Thank you. More 

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel under construction but not is not necessarily a negative.what I didnt like was finding hair in the bathroom, toilet not flushing properly, and lights and clocks not plugged in on arrival (had to squishmy face aagainst the wall to reach it) Staff was friendly enough. Will not be staying there again...

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlo Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review

Sorry about the experience that you had at our property. Please come back and see us after the renovation is complete. We are doing our best to improve our property. More 

Arbuckle, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was not what the reviews said. It is equipped with everything you need: bathroom(shampoo, conditioner, and soap provided), iron, TV, bed (soft pillows by the way), microwave, refrigerator, air conditioner, and free breakfast! What else could you possibly want for a low price? I was expecting much worse based on the reviews.. although the smell of dust in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In general I liked the room and it's one of the most comfortable beds I've been in for a hotel. We slept very well! The amenities were great: mini fridge, microwave, and a little coffee pot that made great coffee. The AC units were very effective too. We had plenty of room to spread out and relax. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#66 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay