We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4930 Sunset Road, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #143 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    21
    14
    41
See reviews for
18
23
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road
See the most recent reviews
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The most disgusting motel I've ever experienced. You should know, I am not picky and stay at "whatever" motels when I travel to save money but this hotel should be shut down. What's wrong: stained walls/doors/ceilings, they're all patched up poorly and even some stains looked like blood. The shower is rotting badly. The sheets had about 20 burn holes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We are sorry for your experience. Every one of the things you mentioned are being upgraded. Pls come and visit us again. Thanks, More 

Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I would be surprised to learn that the rooms have been cleaned in months. The wallpaper is peeling off the walls in huge sheets, the beds were not clean, the bathroom was awful. The shower curtain was sour to the point that you had to hold your breath to shower which was no problem because we didn't get clean towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your input. We are presently undergoing a massive upgrade. You should see a totally different place the next time you come by. thanks, More 

Monroe, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Right off highway. Women at ground desk nice. Room smelled clean no sign of bugs. THAT'S ONLY GOOD THING. Bathtub was peeling I've been to truck stops that bathroom was cleaner. I couldn't shower let alone bath kids. Took picture cuz couldn't believe they took my money to stay. Can't believe I stayed but holiday weekend and had been on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are an economy price hotel that is loved by truckers and construction workers. On the other hand, we are undergoing a massive upgrade program with furniture change, tub being replaced, etc. We are happy you liked our staff. Pls come back and give us another opportunity to serve you. More 

Laughlin, Nevada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
14 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

It all started out well, clerk was knowledgeable and friendly. However, the room was definitely a disappointment. Most lights were unplugged, refrigerator was unplugged. Discarded kitchen knife laying on the floor behind the refrigerator. Peeling paint, marks on walls, stains on carpet, although the beds seemed clean. Tiny pillows. Bathtub that had seen its best days, and I would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your honesty for our staff. A pat on the back always helps. The property is going thru a phased and through upgrade. You should see some great changes they next time you visit us. Pls do. rgds and thanks More 

Woodstock, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Roach Infested. Roach feces in room. Hair on Beds. Dirty Sheets! Water down Coffee! Stairs are broken.Room smell. Loud! prostitutes! Poor Customer service!! AC was broken. Horrible customer service!!.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are sorry for your experience. The property is undergoing a big upgrade in phased sections. We invite you to visit us again and this time ask for one of the upgraded rooms. You will find a difference. Thanks and regards More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel manger, Hal Christian genuinely cares about his customer experience. The front desk employees Linn and Toni responded to requests for assistance with room problems with a positive and speedy solution as well as excellent attitudes. The hotel hospitality staff; Tammy, Tiffany, Ranita, and Vivian are cheerful and friendly. The entire experience of staying in this location has been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you. More 

Knightdale, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. There were people partying, fighting, drinking and smoking weed right next to the checkin window. There were prostitues hanging around in the parking lot. my kids were terrified when we pulled up and the lady at the counter was the rudest person I have ever encountered. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Those people you saw were those who had not been allowed to take a room and were collectively deciding which hotel to go to next. The police were called to clear the parking lot. The hotel was very peaceful thereafter as it always it. I am sorry you saw just a bad window of time. Pls do come... More 

Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Comparable for the price. Good location with easy access to the interstate and close restaurants to eat

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your honest and accurate comment. We look forward to serving you again. rgds and thanks More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I plan to write a review on Trip Advisor also. I read many reviews before booking. We went to Warped tour the other day. We wanted somewhere to just sleep. I had two rooms with two beds, micro, fridge. With AAA my rooms were $35 each per night. Now, is this the Ritz, no, but, this is a solid place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your detailed and accurate comment. Pls come and visit us again. rgds and thanks More 

Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had an issue with the check in agent after policy changes and was very upset. The manager contacted me right away and made it better. Very pleased with the outcome and the speedy response. Offered a discount on a return stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your honest comment. We look forward to serving you again. rgds and thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay