We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4930 Sunset Road, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #142 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    20
    12
    38
See reviews for
18
22
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can't say enough about how hard they worked to get us in a room. We arrived just after check-out time the day after the CIAA basketball tourney and they were sold out the previous night. Housekeeping had a room ready for us in less than an hour. Those ladies were obviously exhausted, but they were all smiling and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room I stayed in was the worst room I have ever stayed in. I woke up to roaches crawling on my face and then I open the fridge and roaches all in my food. Don't know how they got in inside but they did...On top of that the hotel wouldn't even give me a refund on my stay...Do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I came here on a business trip. THEY Actually have a sign in the lobby No refunds after 15 Minutes of check in. I didn't expect much but when I entered in the room was terrible mold in the shower mold on the shower curtain holes in the walls the sheets didn't look clean. Thank God I had an extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I needed a cheap place to stay for 2 nights. I found it. The beds were comfortable. The bedspread could stand a good washing but we brought our own sanitizer and Lysol. The lady that checked is in at 10pm on Sunday was really friendly. Very pleased with this visit and will stay again if need be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ajax, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

If you are thinking of staying here, RUN. The woman at the front desk was rude and unfriendly, and very unhelpful. The room was STINK and filthy. The sheets looked like they were slept in. The wall paper was peeling. The bath towels and face towels were DIRTY. We did not touch them. We put them on the floor. Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We are sorry about your experience. We have a major upgrade ongoing at present. We invite you to come and visit us soon, you will be pleasantly surprised. thanks, More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The most disgusting motel I've ever experienced. You should know, I am not picky and stay at "whatever" motels when I travel to save money but this hotel should be shut down. What's wrong: stained walls/doors/ceilings, they're all patched up poorly and even some stains looked like blood. The shower is rotting badly. The sheets had about 20 burn holes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We are sorry for your experience. Every one of the things you mentioned are being upgraded. Pls come and visit us again. Thanks, More 

Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I would be surprised to learn that the rooms have been cleaned in months. The wallpaper is peeling off the walls in huge sheets, the beds were not clean, the bathroom was awful. The shower curtain was sour to the point that you had to hold your breath to shower which was no problem because we didn't get clean towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your input. We are presently undergoing a massive upgrade. You should see a totally different place the next time you come by. thanks, More 

Monroe, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Right off highway. Women at ground desk nice. Room smelled clean no sign of bugs. THAT'S ONLY GOOD THING. Bathtub was peeling I've been to truck stops that bathroom was cleaner. I couldn't shower let alone bath kids. Took picture cuz couldn't believe they took my money to stay. Can't believe I stayed but holiday weekend and had been on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are an economy price hotel that is loved by truckers and construction workers. On the other hand, we are undergoing a massive upgrade program with furniture change, tub being replaced, etc. We are happy you liked our staff. Pls come back and give us another opportunity to serve you. More 

Laughlin, Nevada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
14 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

It all started out well, clerk was knowledgeable and friendly. However, the room was definitely a disappointment. Most lights were unplugged, refrigerator was unplugged. Discarded kitchen knife laying on the floor behind the refrigerator. Peeling paint, marks on walls, stains on carpet, although the beds seemed clean. Tiny pillows. Bathtub that had seen its best days, and I would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your honesty for our staff. A pat on the back always helps. The property is going thru a phased and through upgrade. You should see some great changes they next time you visit us. Pls do. rgds and thanks More 

Woodstock, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Roach Infested. Roach feces in room. Hair on Beds. Dirty Sheets! Water down Coffee! Stairs are broken.Room smell. Loud! prostitutes! Poor Customer service!! AC was broken. Horrible customer service!!.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are sorry for your experience. The property is undergoing a big upgrade in phased sections. We invite you to visit us again and this time ask for one of the upgraded rooms. You will find a difference. Thanks and regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question