We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 170 Charlotte hotels

Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4930 Sunset Road, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road to your Saves list
Ranked #141 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    19
    12
    36
See reviews for
17
21
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Hot Springs, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I needed a cheap place to stay for 2 nights. I found it. The beds were comfortable. The bedspread could stand a good washing but we brought our own sanitizer and Lysol. The lady that checked is in at 10pm on Sunday was really friendly. Very pleased with this visit and will stay again if need be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ajax, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are thinking of staying here, RUN. The woman at the front desk was rude and unfriendly, and very unhelpful. The room was STINK and filthy. The sheets looked like they were slept in. The wall paper was peeling. The bath towels and face towels were DIRTY. We did not touch them. We put them on the floor. Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We are sorry about your experience. We have a major upgrade ongoing at present. We invite you to come and visit us soon, you will be pleasantly surprised. thanks, More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The most disgusting motel I've ever experienced. You should know, I am not picky and stay at "whatever" motels when I travel to save money but this hotel should be shut down. What's wrong: stained walls/doors/ceilings, they're all patched up poorly and even some stains looked like blood. The shower is rotting badly. The sheets had about 20 burn holes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We are sorry for your experience. Every one of the things you mentioned are being upgraded. Pls come and visit us again. Thanks, More 

Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would be surprised to learn that the rooms have been cleaned in months. The wallpaper is peeling off the walls in huge sheets, the beds were not clean, the bathroom was awful. The shower curtain was sour to the point that you had to hold your breath to shower which was no problem because we didn't get clean towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your input. We are presently undergoing a massive upgrade. You should see a totally different place the next time you come by. thanks, More 

Monroe, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Right off highway. Women at ground desk nice. Room smelled clean no sign of bugs. THAT'S ONLY GOOD THING. Bathtub was peeling I've been to truck stops that bathroom was cleaner. I couldn't shower let alone bath kids. Took picture cuz couldn't believe they took my money to stay. Can't believe I stayed but holiday weekend and had been on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are an economy price hotel that is loved by truckers and construction workers. On the other hand, we are undergoing a massive upgrade program with furniture change, tub being replaced, etc. We are happy you liked our staff. Pls come back and give us another opportunity to serve you. More 

Laughlin, Nevada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

It all started out well, clerk was knowledgeable and friendly. However, the room was definitely a disappointment. Most lights were unplugged, refrigerator was unplugged. Discarded kitchen knife laying on the floor behind the refrigerator. Peeling paint, marks on walls, stains on carpet, although the beds seemed clean. Tiny pillows. Bathtub that had seen its best days, and I would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your honesty for our staff. A pat on the back always helps. The property is going thru a phased and through upgrade. You should see some great changes they next time you visit us. Pls do. rgds and thanks More 

Woodstock, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Roach Infested. Roach feces in room. Hair on Beds. Dirty Sheets! Water down Coffee! Stairs are broken.Room smell. Loud! prostitutes! Poor Customer service!! AC was broken. Horrible customer service!!.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are sorry for your experience. The property is undergoing a big upgrade in phased sections. We invite you to visit us again and this time ask for one of the upgraded rooms. You will find a difference. Thanks and regards More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel manger, Hal Christian genuinely cares about his customer experience. The front desk employees Linn and Toni responded to requests for assistance with room problems with a positive and speedy solution as well as excellent attitudes. The hotel hospitality staff; Tammy, Tiffany, Ranita, and Vivian are cheerful and friendly. The entire experience of staying in this location has been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you. More 

Knightdale, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. There were people partying, fighting, drinking and smoking weed right next to the checkin window. There were prostitues hanging around in the parking lot. my kids were terrified when we pulled up and the lady at the counter was the rudest person I have ever encountered. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Those people you saw were those who had not been allowed to take a room and were collectively deciding which hotel to go to next. The police were called to clear the parking lot. The hotel was very peaceful thereafter as it always it. I am sorry you saw just a bad window of time. Pls do come... More 

Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Comparable for the price. Good location with easy access to the interstate and close restaurants to eat

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your honest and accurate comment. We look forward to serving you again. rgds and thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road

Address: 4930 Sunset Road, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road Hotel Charlotte
Super Eight Charlotte
Charlotte Super Eight
Charlotte Super 8

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay