We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 170 Charlotte hotels

Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 East McCullough Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place to your Saves list
Ranked #106 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
424guyc Richmond, Virginia
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    44
    42
    39
See reviews for
67
37
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was for a quick overnight stay and the place was clean, quite, affordable, and convenient to where we needed to go. The place overall is kinda old, but it is pretty well maintained. I read had some Yelp! reviews and didn't have any of the problems that were mentioned.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pillows were lumpy, other than that, no complaints. Internet was a bit slow. Worth the inexpensive price.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Darrin at the front desk did a great job making me feel welcome at the inn. He treated me more like a person than simply another customer. It was a nice surprise! The stay was good overall, the room was fine too, but my neighbors were a bit loud even at midnight and 1am.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was happily surprised at the cleanliness, the staff was great, the receptionist (Kandy) was very polite and helpful during my stay. I would recommend this place to any odd my traveling friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As soon as I came to the hotel and checked in the staff was very welcoming and made sure I was taken care of. Talk about going the extra mile!!! They helped me in every way I expect even though I didn't expect this kind of service from a budget hotel. Candace and Jo were very kind and later when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are excited about the awesome service you received during your stay at the Microtel Inn. We look forward to your return! GM More 

Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Room 309. Stained carpet. Broken bathroom door. Vent didn't work. Fire alarm on floor below went off at midnight. Dangerous people in cars in back parking lot blasting music. Didn't feel safe until firefighters came. Shame on you. I Should have called police.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your time. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to apologize for the smoke alarm that went off at night. We had a guest burn popcorn in their microwave. It is against regulations for our staff to silence the alarm. Fire department must come and verify... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Pleasent staff and a clean room, breakfast was good, staff helped me with everything i needed including directions and were to go, being from out of town, it was more then I could have asked for. Having called around first, they really are the lowest price hotel in the area, with the most comfortable beds and friendly staff that printed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback! This is the customer service that we strive to give all of our guest at all times! It is our pleasure to help you in directions and ideas for food and fun. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon! GM More 

Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The hotel was very nice-this is our second year there. The only complaint we have is that the toilet leaked around the handle every time it was flushed. But we also didn't say anything until we checked out. Overall, it was a good stay for a decent price.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

We are so glad that you choose the Microtel Inn when you visit the Lowes Motor Speedway! We are glad you allow us to be a part of your enjoyment! Thank you for your time in giving us your feedback. We look forward to seeing you when you return!! Gm More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place

Address: 132 East McCullough Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay