We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 170 Charlotte hotels

Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 East McCullough Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place to your Saves list
Ranked #105 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
P6065JZdavidg Raleigh, North Carolina
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    40
    42
    39
See reviews for
66
35
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room 309. Stained carpet. Broken bathroom door. Vent didn't work. Fire alarm on floor below went off at midnight. Dangerous people in cars in back parking lot blasting music. Didn't feel safe until firefighters came. Shame on you. I Should have called police.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your time. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to apologize for the smoke alarm that went off at night. We had a guest burn popcorn in their microwave. It is against regulations for our staff to silence the alarm. Fire department must come and verify... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasent staff and a clean room, breakfast was good, staff helped me with everything i needed including directions and were to go, being from out of town, it was more then I could have asked for. Having called around first, they really are the lowest price hotel in the area, with the most comfortable beds and friendly staff that printed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback! This is the customer service that we strive to give all of our guest at all times! It is our pleasure to help you in directions and ideas for food and fun. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon! GM More 

Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The hotel was very nice-this is our second year there. The only complaint we have is that the toilet leaked around the handle every time it was flushed. But we also didn't say anything until we checked out. Overall, it was a good stay for a decent price.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

We are so glad that you choose the Microtel Inn when you visit the Lowes Motor Speedway! We are glad you allow us to be a part of your enjoyment! Thank you for your time in giving us your feedback. We look forward to seeing you when you return!! Gm More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

very basic, clean and comfortable, good location but don't expect much much and you won't be disappointed. Good breakfast area. Small room and bath. Easy parking and easy in and out. Price was what we were looking for on the occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we made your stay comfortable! Hope to see you again soon! More 

Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This motel has a back door and and an ice machine broken for about 6 weeks and the motel appears not to be making the necessary repairs.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have ordered the parts for both units. Unfortunately they have to be ordered directly from the manufacturer and they sent us the wrong part. We sent the part back and are awaiting the right part. Front desk opens the door for all guest that comes through the back door. Sorry for the inconvenience. GM More 

Canoga Park
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Great room. Good breakfast. Problems with phone. Desk staff knocked on my door for 5:15am morning calls. Put breakfast out slightly early to fit my work schedule. Room close to lobby..slightly higher noise level.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your time! We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful that staff was able to accommodate you with your wake up "knock" and a early breakfast. We look forward to your return soon! GM More 

Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

The overall stay at this location was good. The location was convenient to the area shopping and the staff was really nice. MY only complaint is that there was no "Managers Reception". As a business traveler, it's nice to arrive at a hotel for check in and be welcomed with a small arrangement of snacks and beverages. Most "Managers Receptions"... More 

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Microtel Manage... P, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback. We have taken your feedback in and we are now offering a manager's reception from 5 till. Thank you again for the great advise! GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place

Address: 132 East McCullough Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay