We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 170 Charlotte hotels

The VanLandingham Estate

2010 the Plaza, Charlotte, NC 28205-3032
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The VanLandingham Estate to your Saves list
The VanLandingham Estate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #117 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014
kpop57 Pensacola, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (20)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    1
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Absolutely the best Mother's Day I have ever had. The VanLandingham provided delicious food and impeccable service. The dining rooms and outdoor settings were set for fine dining and the grounds were manicured as an estate of that caliber should be. My mother was delighted with the rose manager Jeff Marsh presented her and the caring nature he showed moving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a number of times because our son lived in the area. The grounds are absolutely beautiful as are the front rooms of the main building. The rooms could be so lovely with some $ and TLC.... it's a shame that such a wonderful property is being neglected. We were grudgingly rented rooms in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Charlotte
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a wedding scheduled for the last day of Aug. 2013. Several ground keeping items were not done as promised we had to ask several times. Jackee was nice an helped a lot but was hard to find and didn't really seem interested in the event. The staff did not arrive until 3pm to start setting up and did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Billy M, General Manager at The VanLandingham Estate, responded to this review

We're sorry that you were disappointed in your experience hosting your ceremony at our Estate. As you pointed out, it did rain and there was always a "plan B", in the even of bad weather. The rain plan was to move ceremony inside, into the largest room we had. When the rain came, that's what was done. We moved as... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Mother's Day brunch at the VanLandingham has become a tradition for our family and this year's brunch was by far the best ever! The weather was incredible and the food selection was even better. Everyone at our table was thrilled with the food, this place should write a cookbook. The staff kept us happy between trips to the buffet, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our family really enjoyed the Mothers Day brunch again this year! This is our 5th or 6th year in a row attending and it seems to be better and better every time. My wife would probably be disappointed if I booked any other place. The food was delicious, as always, and the roses you give to Mothers is a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family and I attended the Mother's Day brunch at Van Landingham and we had an appalling experience. We were seated basically in the parking lot, in an area right by a dirty cigarette trash can. As a college student, I worked in bars where patrons throw peanuts on the floor, and we still cared enough to sweep up cigarette... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Billy M, General Manager at The VanLandingham Estate, responded to this review

We're sorry that your brunch experience was not satisfactory. When you arrived you made us aware that you weren't happy with your table assignment and unfortunately we weren't able to accommodate you at another assigned table. We would have if we could have. I think if you'll visit with us again sometime you'll find that your experience was uncharacteristic of... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Horrible. My assigned wedding director, Melissa [--], was unprofessional and unprepared. When my bridal party and I arrived, we did not have a room to get dressed in. Unbeknownst to me, Melissa had triple booked the venue. One bridal party was preparing in the carriage house (which was supposed to be saved for me) and one bridal party had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Billy M, General Manager at The VanLandingham Estate, responded to this review

We're sorry to learn of your difficulties. To be clear, the "triple booking" you refer to was over the course of a weekend, not on the day of your wedding party. We did have three events that weekend, but the prior two, on the previous day, should not have affected your event in any way. When you arrived to begin... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had my daughter’s wedding here in September 2012. Could not be more disappointed with the event coordinator Melissa. She is friendly and helpful until you sign and pay. After that she does not return calls or emails. The area we planned to have our guest seated for dinner was covered in straw and seed we discovered at the rehearsal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Billy M, General Manager at The VanLandingham Estate, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that your overall impression of our Estate was not positive. We're glad to hear that the party itself went well. While it's true that our five acre property does require unexpected maintenance from time to time, especially during the Fall grass planting season, you did have seven other formal entertaining areas to choose from for your... More

Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is an OLD HOUSE in a declining neighborhood. The grounds are beautiful, the staff were polite and friendly, and the weather was perfect for an outdoor wedding. The commons rooms are cold, tired, and uninviting. The Ballroom/Dining Room has the ambience of a converted garage. We were planning to stay here for the wedding. After reading the reviews, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Not far from downtown Charlotte sits this estate which is surrounded by gardens. We stayed in the carriage house. The King bed was comfortable in the Magnolia Room and the bathroom spacious. The breakfast was ample and the dining room ambience old timey elegant. My only concern was that I could not locate the thermostat in the room. Yet, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The VanLandingham Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The VanLandingham Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The VanLandingham Estate

Address: 2010 the Plaza, Charlotte, NC 28205-3032
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The VanLandingham Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanlandingham Estate Charlotte
Vanlandingham Estate Hotel Charlotte
The Van Landingham Estate

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The VanLandingham Estate is a beautiful place to rest your soul, host spectacular events for weddings or rehearsal dinners or gather for productive business meetings, seminars or retreats. The Estate welcomes guests with its unique combination of warm hospitality, grace, subtle southern elegance and fine foods. Our Historic Inn is located in Plaza Midwood just minutes from Uptown Charlotte, The Estate includes the Harwood Home, a distinctive California bungalow-style estate.Excite your senses with a stroll on our magnificent five acres of grounds, the oldest premier gardens in Mecklenburg County. Or escape to a private nook in the Carriage House. Considered one of the finest hotels in Charlotte, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Historic estate has lodging rooms and accommodations available year round for leisure, lodging, private business meetings, picnics from two to twenty and social events. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

See which rooms travelers prefer