We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 170 Charlotte hotels

Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202 (First Ward)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City to your Saves list
78%
Ranked #44 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
auroraclubjazz Minnesota City, Minnesota
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    138
    52
    28
    19
See reviews for
51
73
28
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (429)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i stayed here five nights for a conference in mid October . Although I was a single traveler, I was assigned a two bed room. The rooms are fairly tight with two beds, though that is in part because they cram in a desk, a large mini fridge, microwave, desk chair , side table , floor lamp and comfy chair.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was in Charlotte for a week for a conference and stayed here. Nice little place in a great location. You don't get a big view on the City side, but then you're smack in the middle of an urban jungle so go out and explore it, rather than looking at it! Everything is right outside of the hotel, including a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

wow, after spending $300 a night, you will think you will have a good experience. just the oopsite, hair in the shower, bottle of water empty, bad coffee, horrible customer service, room key did not work twice in 3 days, remote control not working...you get it really noisy, next to a club

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnUptown, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear Tony2905, I am truly sorry to hear that we failed to exceed your expectations during your recent stay for the Bears Football game. I am aware we were in the process of exchanging out all of our guest room doors locks which undoubtedly could have led to the troubles with the key. However I would certainly like to speak... More

New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for work and had a lovely stay. The room was spacious and clean. The wifi is free and fast, and the front desk was very helpful. They assisted me with directions, restaurant recommendations and held my luggage for me during my final day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnUptown, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear RahBeth, We know there are many choices in Charlotte and we are delighted you selected to be our guest during your recent business trip. Thank you for sharing your comments with others. More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holiday Inn Center City was the host of our out-of-town room block for our August 31, 2014 wedding. It was the perfect location for all of our uptown celebrations. It was a short walk to the Capital Grille for our rehearsal lunch (2 blocks) and a short walk to our wedding venue, Foundation for the Carolinas (1.5 blocks). We also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnUptown, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear RahBeth, Thank you for sharing your exceptional experience with others. We certainly hope your travels will bring you back to Charlotte and being our guest. More

Weyburn, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for four nights and couldn't have asked for anything more! The room we had under a block of rooms was ready when we got there, and the front desk staff made a great first impression. Everyone was very friendly and willing to answer any questions we had, being our first time to Charlotte. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnUptown, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear Whimsywander, Yeah a 5 star review, that makes the entire team here at the Holiday Inn Center City stand up and cheer! We thank you for being our guest and certainly hope you'll have the opportunity to return from Canada and visit us again soon! More

Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just left after a two night stay. I got there late on first night (midnight) and they did not have my king room like I reserved, was given room with 2 doubles. Just a minor inconvenience but I was given king room the next day and all was well. Comfortable rooms and great hospitality at front desk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnUptown, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear ChrisM, We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Center City. I do apologize for the mix up on the bedding request and was glad to hear it was corrected the next day. More

Hampstead, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is an excellent hotel to stay at in the city of Charlotte! Right in the middle of all the action, you have shops, restaurants, bars, and entertainment, all within walking distance. Excellent room service and the staff was very helpful when it came to letting us know about best places to go..I pulled out both ac filters from wall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnUptown, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear Samatha H, We truly appreciate your 5 star review dispite some obvious areas in which we dropped the ball. Certainly each of your areas of concern have been addressed within the appropriate departments and again thank you for taking the time to alert us of any shortcomings. We look forward to your return visit! More

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a conference at the Charlotte Convention Center in mid-September. The first night at the hotel I found the bed had been slept in by someone who must have been very overweight resulting in what I call a valley in the middle of the mattress. It was a king size bed and I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnUptown, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear DDowler, Despite the valley of the mattress (sounds like a horror movie), we appreciate that we "recovered" and were able to provide you an exceptional experience. Thank you for sharing this with others! More

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel close to so many places. Definitely a great deal and just as nice as other downtown hotels. Some construction in the area, but upgrades are nice. Staff was helpful and welcoming. Rooftop workout room, pool, and area to walk around area with great city views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnUptown, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear Mulligan130, HOORAY! A 5 star review! Thank you. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Address: 230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Center City
Charlotte Holiday Inn

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay