We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

#59 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    169
    67
    30
    20
See reviews for
56
88
29
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (485)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (113)
All months
Granbury, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice, clean, very good restaurant and good location. I accompanied my sister who was on a business trip. Luckily she had upgraded to what HI calls a suite.... thank goodness... cannot imagine what the regular rooms are like for more than one person. Our room was on the third floor and faced a busy street but we heard nothing. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel with a very friendly and accommodating staff. Nothing but great things to say about this hotel. If you want a quiet night's sleep on the weekends, request a room facing South. The noise on N. College St. (Thursday-Saturday, or on game days) can get pretty loud, even at 13 floors up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for three nights in May 2015. I wasn't expecting much, but I was surprised by how welcoming and helpful the entire staff was during my visit. In particular, the bellmen were super helpful in driving me to a local store during a minor emergency so I could get and item I needed during the conference. The location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wake Forest, NC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The carpet was wet giving the room a musty smell. The sink was awkward sitting tall encompassing most of the counter. The shuttle will pick you up and drop off at Amtrak, but beware they generally don't on Sunday. They made an exception for us because we were already promised shuttle service. I would expect better rooms and no complications... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear mike_jarman2002, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is nice to read you find the services rendered by our friendly staff up to your par. It is always motivating... More 

pgh,pa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just returned from a 2 night stay to attend a wedding at this hotel. Easy to find in the city, but small area to unload and since was a busy time it was hectic. Parking is in attached garage but you do have to walk to get to it so if you have a lot of luggage drop it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear rbross50, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with the facilities, room cleanliness and comfort as well as the location of the... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We were in Charlotte with our family for a wedding. At the last minute we decided to upgrade to a suit which turned out to be a great decision. The two room suit was just enough space for our kids to play and for everyone to have enough room to spread out.The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. My only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

To pre-empt this story...I booked a room at this hotel through the IHG member site for a getaway trip that my wife and I were taking for our first visit ever to Charlotte. When I booked, the rates were all over the place and varied night-over-night. The first night was to be $130 (a Saturday), the second was to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnUptown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear FamilyGuyFromIndy, Thank you for reaching out to us to share your concerns regarding your recent stay. Should you have a free moment we would appreciate speaking with you directly to research your rate disparity. We certainly want to make sure you received the rate you confirmed when booking your reservation. Thank you & we look forward to hearing from... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

The Front Line Staff not hospitable. They care more about making money than servicing a guest. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody due to the snootiness and rudeness of the staff. Accommodations are decent but the staff makes or breaks an entire experience. They were the only ones in the city to have rooms and now I see why.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Spent 4 nights on the 15th 'Club Floor'. Room was clean but unremarkable. Good location for any downtown events. If you plan on sleeping in, stay away from the service elevator as the cleaning staff is very enthusiastic and don't worry too much about how much noise they make. Very disappointed to be woken up by security at 7:00AM because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review

Dear Mitchel O, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel and were happy with the level of cleanliness provided. However, I am really sorry you were inconvenienced due to insufficient soundproofing in the rooms. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for... More 

Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The location, the staff, the hotel itself: Everything was just right! This hotel is close enough to walk to Epicenter and surrounding restaurants, but far enough from the chaos for comfort. The staff is VERY helpful and friendly, especially Adam. He gave us some awesome suggestions for dinner and clubs for our night out and was very attentive! The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay