We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleep Inn University Place

#66 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8525 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sleep Inn University Place
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    75
    48
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
37
40
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've always had a great stay at this location. Great and friendly staff. Rooms a clean and well maintained. Plenty of parking. They are pet friendly. Hot breakfast in the morning. They also have a laundry area for guest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! I really appreciate your positive reveiw. I'm happy to hear you and your dog enjoyed your stay. Please visit again soon. Thank you, Sam Lucas General Manager More 

Raleigh, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a long weekend to Charlotte with my dog (yes, the hotel is pet friendly) and enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was very courteous and friendly both to me and my dog. Room was a bit small though for my dog and her crate (she's a decent sized pup) though that's not the fault of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad you like our pet friendly hotel and our staff services. Please visit us for your next trip More 

Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed the hotel as we always do-- was a little disappointed at the rate increase from last summer-- also that we didnt get our water and granola bars like last year at check in...but we still enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I really appreciate your review and feedback. I am sorry you didn't get the water and granola at check in time, we owe you one. We hope to see you next time you visit. Best regards, Sam Lucas General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very reasonably priced. The rooms are very nice and clean and very up to date. The staff is always very courteous. Josette has been there numerous times when I have visited and she is always a delight. I will never stay anywhere else other that here when I am in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review and kind words! I will share this with Josette. We are very fortunate to have her on our team. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next time you visit! Best regards, Sam Lucas General Manager 704-549-4544 More 

North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As my wife and I approached the lobby, we were caught a little off guard by a sign just outside the door...(may be paraphrased a bit) "Be prepared to meet the friendliest hotel staff of any hotel". Well, we soon noticed it may just be true. We were greeted by the owner/manager immediately with a warm 'hello' & a 'welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for yoru review and compliments to our hard working staff. I will share this with them to reincourage their efforts. I appreciate you mentioning our sign at the entry way and I am happy we live up to it. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our free hot breakfast. Please come back to visit... More 

Endicott, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I unknowingly booked a reservation at a very loud, not-so-clean hotel in Charlotte. We decided not to stay there. At around midnight on 7/17, I frantically went in to the Sleep Inn University Place, and desk attendant Quinta professionally and very accommodatingly booked one of his last rooms for us for 5 days at a very attractive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! I really appreciate your 5 star review! Every morning I read and respond to reviews and yours really makes my day. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you visit Charlotte. Best regards, Sam Lucas General Manager More 

NORTH WILKESBORO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We booked one night to be able to stay close to the concert. They recommended shuttle service, restaurant nearby. Very helpful staff. Rooms were small but clean and had all the necessities. Smoking rooms available also.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us while in town for a concert. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I really appreciate you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! We hope to see you next time. Thank you, Sam Lucas More 

Charlotte
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We stayed while have work done to our home. Room was ready great customer service. Unfortunately we were told this was our last stay because they no longer rent rooms to people who live in the same city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for making Sleep Inn your home away from home. I really appreciate your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry we have that policy but we do make exceptions for home repair, power outages or other circumstances. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future. Thank... More 

Fletcher, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We only stayed overnight for a college tour the next day. Very convenient to UNCC. The price was very reasonable and the staff friendly. The room was clean but the bathroom was very small. If you need privacy to change clothes, etc. this is not the place for you. It met our needs for a quick trip and was cheaper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I am really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words. We try to offer the best value and accommodations in the area. Please come back and visit soon. Take care, Sam Lucas General Manager More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel during a long road trip. The location is very good. It's right off the highway near the university area of Charlotte. Beware, however, that there is major road construction happening on the road the hotel is located on, and it's made the whole area a bit of a mess. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments and we are always looking to improve our service. We are having the carpets cleaned this week and are looking for options to upgrade our hot breakfast even more. I agree the scrambled eggs could use some help, and we are now adding... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay