We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleep Inn University Place

#66 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8525 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn University Place
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sleep Inn University Place
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    45
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
36
40
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Endicott, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I unknowingly booked a reservation at a very loud, not-so-clean hotel in Charlotte. We decided not to stay there. At around midnight on 7/17, I frantically went in to the Sleep Inn University Place, and desk attendant Quinta professionally and very accommodatingly booked one of his last rooms for us for 5 days at a very attractive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NORTH WILKESBORO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked one night to be able to stay close to the concert. They recommended shuttle service, restaurant nearby. Very helpful staff. Rooms were small but clean and had all the necessities. Smoking rooms available also.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us while in town for a concert. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I really appreciate you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! We hope to see you next time. Thank you, Sam Lucas More 

Charlotte
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed while have work done to our home. Room was ready great customer service. Unfortunately we were told this was our last stay because they no longer rent rooms to people who live in the same city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for making Sleep Inn your home away from home. I really appreciate your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry we have that policy but we do make exceptions for home repair, power outages or other circumstances. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future. Thank... More 

Fletcher, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed overnight for a college tour the next day. Very convenient to UNCC. The price was very reasonable and the staff friendly. The room was clean but the bathroom was very small. If you need privacy to change clothes, etc. this is not the place for you. It met our needs for a quick trip and was cheaper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I am really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words. We try to offer the best value and accommodations in the area. Please come back and visit soon. Take care, Sam Lucas General Manager More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel during a long road trip. The location is very good. It's right off the highway near the university area of Charlotte. Beware, however, that there is major road construction happening on the road the hotel is located on, and it's made the whole area a bit of a mess. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments and we are always looking to improve our service. We are having the carpets cleaned this week and are looking for options to upgrade our hot breakfast even more. I agree the scrambled eggs could use some help, and we are now adding... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I stayed here one night since we were passing through from vacation. This hotel is older and run down, despite recent renovations. The room was dark and dated, the carpets were gross, and I really didn't want my kids in the room. It didn't seem clean at all. Next time I will spend a little bit more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We strive to offer clean and comfortable accommodations at the best value in the area. I appreciate your feedback and we have carpet cleaning scheduled for this week. We are always looking to brighten and refresh our decor and we will take your comments to heart. Please let... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here because my first two choices were full. As other reviews have stated, the rooms are small, but I knew that going in. I just needed a place to sleep for this trip, so that wasn't a big deal. The hotel has some age, but the room was very clean, with the exception of the carpet, which smelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I am happy you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your review. Sincerely, Sam Lucas General Manager More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are small, the bathroom even smaller. We went down for breakfast, and the housekeeper was pulling the garbage bags and picking up garbage, then touching the food that she was putting out for breakfast! Needless to say, we took the kids to shoneys which was horrible. When we go next year, we will not be staying at this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am shocked that a breakfast attendant would have done that without following the proper hand washing policy. I will look into who was scheduled and follow up with them to make sure this does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Sincerely, Sam Lucas General Manager More 

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Made a reservation for 6/13/15 for the Lana del ray concert. Thought a price of $108 dollars would give me a decent room. Wasn't expecting a five star, but I never expected this. Was made to go into a smoking room despite trying to ask for a nonsmoking. The room was barely movable, despite the picture making it look larger.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not have a non-smoking room available when you checked in and understand your frustration. Our online photo's are actual pictures of our rooms. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our free hot breakfast, served daily. We added sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes and other great items. We try to offer the best service and accommodations,... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

This has got to be the worst hotel I have ever patronized. Ìt had the ambience of a seedy apartment building up North. The only reason we stayed there was because we had been on the road all day and needed a place to rest our weary souls for one night. Ìn comparison to the other hotels on the strip,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We recently renovated and include so many amenities in the room, it may feel a little small. We went with a modern look and your attic reference surprises me. I have never been in a seedy apt building up north that offers 24 hour guest service and free... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay