We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

#43 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Special Offer
Spring Rates from $99!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    184
    80
    26
    7
See reviews for
114
85
38
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (486)
  • Mar-May only
    (123)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location...very stylish...cozy ambience...room furnishings and decor very nice and upscale. The only thing missing is a microwave...I had no plans of leaving my room for the rest of the evening and wanted to reheat my leftovers. Hide it away like the mini-fridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smyra, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was right next door to the Johnson & Wales Admission office, which made it very convenient when touring the university. It was a very nice hotel, with extremely friendly staff, clean and I felt safer with my vehicle parked in the hotel parking garage. I wish I could say more about the amenities, but I did not stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent Hotel. Clean, safe and convenient to uptown (Epicentre), Bank of America Stadium, etc. We always stay at this location when we come to Charlotte. AND the warm cookie at check in is always warm and tasty!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location and the warm cookie). We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Charlotte. See you soon. More 

charlotte nc, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was awful , got in late and very tough night , and no advance notice of the neighood is ? I spoke with the hotel and not advised about construction. Very unhappy ! this survey is dumb when you have to have 200 charactures to submit

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. While our renovation activity is clearly posted on our website, if you did not visit our website prior to arriving you were probably surprised. I will communicate your experience to my guest services and reservations agents to ensure that all guests are made aware of the construction activity. I apologize for the inconvenience and hope... More 

Grand Prairie, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was at this Doubletree for only one night this time- traveling for business. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The location is convenient to the interstate, the stadium, and downtown restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return in the near future for a longer stay. More 

Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Prior arriving Charlotte, we had read some peoples' review and understood that it was both good and bad experiences going on here. But when we arrived at Doubletree, we had a great stay for four days. We got an upgraded room and everything was modern, clean and convenient. Didn't however try the restaurant, so we can't say anything about that.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels. More 

Louisville, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a horrible experience overall. Because I have a MINIMUM entry of 200 characters, I'll just note that I arrived on a Monday - had no housekeeping until I finally requested it on Thursday, after I had run out of toilet paper, lotion, coffee, etc. (I'm only one person - but there was only half of everything when I arrived.)... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness and smell of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed a place to stay after attending concert at the Fillmore.. this was the place. Location excellent. Staff awesome.. highly recommend. Would definitely stay here again if in the Charlotte area and wanting nice visit

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return in the near future. More 

United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled to Charlotte from California on Saturday for a conference. I had a hard time going to sleep during the first two nights due partially to 3 hour time difference. Another reason was that there was constant noise from outside window, which I did not know where it came from at first. After 1:00 AM in the morning, the... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are visiting Uptown Charlotte, then this is a great hotel to stay at. Everything is within walking distance... I loved it.. i even kept the car parked and walked to the NCAA games... priceless Even though they are upgrading the hotel, it was still beautiful and a great stay.. I'll be back for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (79)
Viewed
Accessible Parlor Room (14)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Pool (3)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (6)
Viewed
Standard Doubles Room (20)
Viewed
Standard King Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question