We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn University Place

#52 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
8419 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn University Place
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn University Place
Add Photo

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    137
    74
    34
    26
    14
See reviews for
89
48
20
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Courteous staff, clean rooms, comfy bed and pillows. Complimentary breakfast (waffles, cereal, bagels, yogurt, coffee, juice) the standard. Hey my kiddos are not picky. Burger King is located next door and Ihop is across the street. Close to other stores as well. Convenient to the freeway. One exit from UNC Charlotte -- really close than I expected. The only bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broderick C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of our property. We do apologize for the construction and we are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. More 

Norwood
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hampton Inn is in a good location near a major Hwy and plenty of rest near by. will be staying here in the future. Currently there is some construction going on that makes for getting around some what slow,but not so bad that you would want to stay somewhere.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broderick C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Richard for your great review of our property. We are hoping that the construction process will be wrapping up pretty soon, however we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Lugoff, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was great. The staff were very friendly. The beds were comfortable, as I have come to expect from Hampton Inn. The only complaint I had was that there was no fruit for breakfast. Other than that, it was just as I've come to expect.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broderick C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank You for the great review of our Property. We are sorry that there wasn't any fruit available during breakfast that morning. We are making sure that we have the quantity of breakfast items where are guests are 100% satisfied. More 

Charleston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My little girl and I had a safe, comfortable, and luxurious stay at the Hampton Inn. We enjoyed the beautiful furnishings in our rooms, the bath products provided for us, the hair dryers, the cable tv service, the fitness room, the pool, and also the delicious breakfast. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. We could not have had a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broderick C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank- you for your great review with our property, and we look forward to seeing you for your next visit to Charlotte. More 

New Bern, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy location if you don't want to stay in city. Close to downtown, Ikea, outlet mall and highway exit. Clean, friendly. Only negative is most breakfast is prepackaged food. Love the comforters but you need to keep air conditioner low to not get too hot, think they need to go to a lighter comforter.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broderick C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank You for the Great review of our Property. I do apologize that the room temperature was not to your satisfaction however during your next stay with us we will make any accommodation for you to be as comfortable as possible. More 

vero beach, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very disappointed in the service. The bedding was not up to standards, only had very small pillows and could not find normal size sleeping pillows. Housekeeping didn't clean our room one night and came in late to be very disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cassandra S, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry for the problems you had during your stay. Please rest assured that I will personally share your comments with the Housekeeping Manager so that other guests wont have the same issues in the future. If there is anything I can assist you with please let me know. I look forward... More 

Fayetteville, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Although the reason for my stay was because of flight delays/cancellations due to weather, this hotel was a reasonable price, nice room and great staff. I will definitely stay there again and next time it would be my own choice instead of out of necessity.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broderick C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you Charlene for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Springdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

My wife and I are both retired and do travel a lot. When we drive, and we do quite frequently, we always look for a Hampton Inn when we require overnight lodging. Unusually one is found near highway exit and always near good restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alake D, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we appreciate your loyalty to our Hilton Brand and hope to see you soon in the near future! Alake Donaldson Assistant General Manager More 

Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

I saw previous negative reviews. Not sure what happened with those guests but I had a good experience. Room was clean and well stocked when I arrived beds were clean and comfortable and breakfast was... okay... could have had more hot items. The hotel itself is well maintained. Unfortunately heavy construction and traffic outside makes it difficult to get in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alake D, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing Hampton Inn University Place Charlotte, we strive to make every experience a pleasurable one. I hope you choose us again for any future stays in Charlotte! Alake Donaldson Assistant General Manager More 

Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

For the price, their office equipment doesn't work. But if you like soft beds, this is the hotel for you. Way over priced for the value. Restaurants within walking distance include Burger King. 100% guarantee? Really? Why wasn't I told?

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cassandra S, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Charlotte University. I am very sorry to hear that our computers weren't working adequately during your visit. rest assured that this issue has been taken care of and they are working properly. if there is anything we can do for you in the future, please let us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay