We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn University Place

#56 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
8419 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262
Special Offer
Save Up to 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn University Place
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    142
    78
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
93
50
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
aydlett, n.c.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is easy to find, but hard to get into. They are doing road construction in front of the hotel so you have to actually go down to the next light then come up behind the hotel to get into the hotel. After actually finding the back entrance, we(my wife and I) went in to check in. We arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location near University, highway and Uptown. My check in was curt with no recognition of frequent traveler status. It's a typical hotel room, overpriced with breakfast that does not even approach Holiday Inn Express standards. Stale mini pastries and microwave imitation McMuffin sandwiches-really, more comparable to Super8.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlsbad, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel because I could use my remaining hhonors points to book the hotel. The pros are that the staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a quiet leafy industrial park. There is a good selection of restaurants within walking distance. The only con is the hotel is somewhat far (~15 mi) from the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blake P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

David P, Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel and our staff. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll come visit us again next time you're in town. More 

Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my friend decided to come to Charlotte for the comedy concert and choose the Hampton Inn because of past experiences with the brand. Even on a busy weekend when other places were booked solid, the Hampton Inn was able to provided great accommodations at a fair price. The Hilton brand never disappoints.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alake D, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Kenneth W, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback we appreciate your kind words. We hope that the next time you come to Charlotte, you will choose us again! More 

Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Older property, small rooms. Front desk friendly enough but didn't appreciate young man waiting on me coming from the back with greasy hands from eating his dinner...at, least wipe them off with a napkin. Door closer in the room I was in literally fell off. I will give them high marks for moving me quickly to another room on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alake D, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

ncsccrdad, Thank you so much for your feedback we value your opinion. We will be sure to share your comments about our wonderful staff! More 

Howell, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All the windows have lost their seal so they are cloudy and fogged. the first room i check into was like looking through paper. Second room was just a little bit better. The "free" breakfast is way below Hilton standards. Fruit cups? No hard boiled eggs? No hot food, frozen sandwiches to heat in a microwave? Yuk. The internet is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alake D, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Doug, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay. We value your opinion and we take everything you say and try to get it right. During your visit we were out of eggs due to the Salmonella outbreak, out vendor has not been able to get this item approved just yet. We are working very had to bring... More 

wilmington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would stay again. Clean everything. wifi was decent enough. Breakfast could've been better but better than nothing. Enough parking. A/C worked. Quiet room. Unfortunately didn't get to use the gym or the pool.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alake D, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Naveen M, Glad to hear you had such a great stay with us! Sorry you did not get to access the pool or gym but a great reason to get you back here again. Thank you so much for your feedback! More 

Middletown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was extremely polite and pleasant at all times. The room was very clean and accommodating. The toiletries were definitely of high quality. Very family friendly environment. I would recommend this hotel to family and friend.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alake D, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

Sharon H, Glad you picked us as your Hampton Inn location while visiting Charlotte. Thank you so much for your feedback about our staff we will definitely let them know that you had a great stay! More 

Raleigh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast provided lots of options. The hotel is in the middle of many restaurants, close to UNC-Charlotte, and just off I-85. A good value for the price.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alake D, Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

John M, Thank you so much for your kind response we really appreciate your feedback! We strive to make the best impressions on each guest. We look forward to seeing you back at our property soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Very nice hotel near the University. Great staff and very clean. Easy check in and check out with good parking. Main entrance from street was closed due to Road construction but sign's clearly marked the way to the back street entrance. Breakfast was good and the dining area kept nice and clean.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alake D, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review

412wadej, Thank you so much for your wonderful response. Glad you love our hotel despite the construction. We can not wait to see you back soon thanks again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#66 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay