We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
5816 Westpark Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217
Special Offer
$25 Premium Outlets Gift
Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #65 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
theteesfamily
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
59
36
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was truly night and day from my last visit to Charlotte and staying at the LA Casa. From the friendly employees to the excellent buffet (I felt like I was at,a 5-star restaurant) to the peaceful surroundings, it was a truly enjoyable experience. Now if they can an atm onsite, it would be a perfect experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is outdated and the grounds are unkempt. I honestly considered checking out because of how patched up it is. You'll see 4 different types of caulking, yellow wall paper, tubs needing to be resealed, and royal blue carpet. Magnolia leaves are everywhere and it doesn't look like the landscaping has been tended to in months. The porches and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Highland Mills, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This residence inn was a little dated but clean. The staff was nice and the room came with an oven, so if that is important to you a good choice. We came on a crowded weekend, NASCAR, so the breakfast area was tiny for the amount of people. not so bad the other mornings. In an executive park right off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although it wasn't horrible, this room just didn't measure up to our expectations. Pros: The room was clean, the price was reasonable, and the staff was attentive and polite. Wi-Fi was reliable. We loved the fireplace although we didn't actually light it. Cons: The bathroom was in need of minor repairs and the air conditioner was incredibly loud. Our "balcony"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RICharlotteSouth, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you fior your review. We appreciate your comments and will look into how we can improve the items you mentioned. Thank you for staying at the residence Inn Charlotte South. Sincerely, Residence Inn Management Staff More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The staff was excellent..very a accommodating so they get the 5 star rating. Marriott should give them something better to work with. The hotel needs updating badly. However true to the agent's word it was clean and that goes a long way. I think the charges were high for the room...large size though...beds were comfortable. Perhaps I expect more from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RICharlotteSouth, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn Charlotte South. We appreciate your mention of the staff being excellent and we are working on the items that you mentioned were not. We understand your concern and we are addressing it and hope to see some changes in the near future. Best regards, Tina Crossland Director of... More 

NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

It is not more expensive, ITS JUST BETTER My wife just prefers to stop at a Residence Inn. It is always a great friendly place, especially with the working fireplace. The rooms are always perfect. Unfortunately, we had dinner at a neighboring hotel. But, breakfast was worth the wait. Great food and even better service. This Residence Inn was as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for recently staying at the Residence Inn and providing a review. We were happy to hear you had a great experience. We look forward to your next visit! Warm regards, Residence Inn Management Staff More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
89 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Great location. Easy check-in but not very friendly. No acknowledgement of Marriott rewards membership. Good ground floor room; however desk chair was exceptionally low even when on it's highest setting. Clothes closet is poorly designed which exceptionally cheap shelving and hangers. Everything worked as expected. Did not bother eating breakfast there as you are expected to sit at a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please contact our AGM, Lashonda Cannie, at 704-527-8110 so that we can discuss futher your stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Best regards, Management Staff More 

Neenah, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Need to stay for a few days, a week or more, look no further. This staff will know and call you by your name, treat you like royalty in all regards from check in to breakfast, dinner, any other services offered, and check out. Need some shopping...let them know. I stayed a month one time, needed 30 hangers and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RICharlotteSouth, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your recent review of the Residence Inn Charlotte South. Thank you for all your kinds words. We couldn't have received a better review especially from a guest who has stayed with us for so long. Thank you for being a loyal Residence Inn guest! Best regards, Melissa St. John More 

Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Another fine stay at a Residence Inn. We were in route to Florida as we relocated to the Sunshine State. It was the welcome relief after a long drive. Asha made me feel like family and provided me with a goody bag of treats which I shared with my family. She also thanked me for being a Rewards member. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn Charlotte South! We appreciate your business and glad to hear you had a great stay with us :-). Best of luck in your relocation. More 

Triad, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Clean I'm skeeved out by most hotels, so when I assure you this is clean, you've got to believe me. They do such an incredible job. If you need to sleep in you just put a little magnet on the door and they will come 'round later. Safe Staff is totally on top of things. Parking is right outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn Charlotte South! You were so detailed, thank you! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay