We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Chapel Hill hotels

Chapel Hill University Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 N. Fordham Blvd., Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chapel Hill University Inn to your Saves list
Chapel Hill University Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
56%
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
lli34678 Tampa, Florida
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    44
    29
    29
    24
See reviews for
63
22
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One night stay while visiting at UNC. Everything checked out fine: bed was comfortable, a/c and refrig worked fine and weren't noisy, room decor was predictably middle of the road, lobby decor with sports theme. It's a good place for a one or two night stay. The only disappointment was the bar and sports grill which was dreary and depressing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Laid back, comfortable, and highly recommended. Staff was very courteous. It's a central location to a variety of things in the area. It was my first stay there but a very positive experience. I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed last weekend and it was just a great visit. The staff were very nice and accommodating, and the room was excellent - the bed was as comfortable as any I've stayed in (especially the pillows!). The AC worked really well, and we needed it after such a hot day. I wasn't a huge fan of the bathroom - the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChapelHillUnivInn, Manager at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spending your weekend with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our Carolina Sports Themed hotel. We are known for our great theme and terrific location- Walking distance to Trader Joes and Starbucks! We hope you got a chance to enjoy our great pool and gazebos while you were here. We look... More

New Bern, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First and most important, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Newly renovated rooms, very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The pool area is very spacious, supplied with towels and swim toys, a sparkling clean pool with plenty of lounge chairs with pillows and a cabana area. There is also another covered area where you can sit and relax to enjoy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and team. I will certainly share your feedback and am thrilled that you had a great stay! You must have booked a poolside room with a breakfast package- Ashley and Liz run our VIP Lounge- they do a fantastic job with breakfast- Everyone loves the waffles- you can... More

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So so place. Not impressed by the $7 continental breakfast. The associated restaurant didn't open until 4 pm, open for breakfast on the weekends. The bed was comfortable. There were no instructions for the TV which I to experiment with until I could find a channel. Same with the Wi-Fi. Eventually, I figured it out. I had a rental, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We take all guest feedback very seriously and will work diligently to improve even those small issues that might easily go unnoticed if not pointed out. It is our pleasure to offer complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel and pubic areas and a complimentary shuttle service to more than 10 locations in... More

River Edge
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This pet- friendly motel is not quiet. Barking and yipping kept me up. Also, a strange rasping pump woke me repeatedly. Inexpensive, but you get what you pay for . I suppose dogs and their owners would like the ambience, but I wonder how thoroughly the rooms are cleaned after pet use.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that you had a bad experience at our hotel. As a pet friendly hotel, we love allowing guests to bring their furry family members. However, we do have a strict pet policy that is reviewed at check in and pet fee. We use the pet fee to completely deep clean the room after every pet stay. As for... More

Noord-Scharwoude, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed in an updated room. For only a few dollars more you have an excellent room that even comes with a complementary breakfast. The breakfast room is upstairs in a space made of 2 former rooms. A good location and easy to find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed staying in one of our newly renovated Deluxe rooms and enjoyed our new breakfast space! We look forward having you stay with us in the future! More

Naas, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a meeting at the university of North Carolina. I had to change room many times. The first had old water stuck in the bathtub, when I unplugged the stopper the water didn't drain! Stagnant water clogged up. Gross! The second room had a leaking roof in the bathroom, the tiles and sink area was completely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you experienced some issues at our hotel. We are working with maintenance and housekeeping to resolve these problems. We are glad that you did finally get into a room that was perfect for you and that our staff continued to try and resolve the situation until you were satisfied. In the end it sounds like... More

Mocksville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at the Chapel Hill University Inn during my daughter's freshman orientation. The charming Carolina decor in the lobby brought back nostalgic feelings of my days as a Carolina student. My room was clean and comfortable and the staff was quite friendly. The location and university rate can't be beat. I have already made another reservation for parents' weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review! We love our Carolina Blue and the fact that our University of North Carolina rate is affordable for families coming to campus. Parents weekend will be a fun time to be in Chapel Hill! We look forward to hosting you again! More

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel seems to be an older one. But, that wasn't a problem for my daughter and I. We needed a room for Chapel Hill orientation visit. The staff was kind and informative. The hotel is located close to stores, restaurants, and the main strip - Franklin Avenue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chapel Hill University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 N. Fordham Blvd., Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Chapel Hill with
any amenities