We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aloft Chapel Hill

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Chapel Hill
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aloft Chapel Hill
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    173
    107
    37
    12
    13
See reviews for
104
70
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was the worst hotel billing experience I've ever had. I booked a 2 night prepaid rate on the hotel's website, and my card was correctly charged for it, although for some reason Aloft refers to their prepaid charge as a "deposit" on arrival. The next morning I checked my account, and saw three pre-authorizations: one for the actual room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered with your credit card charges. All debit and credit cards are authorized for the amount... More 

Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a hotel from which we could easily access University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill. The Aloft hotel is pretty easy to find coming from the RDU airport. It is about 5 minutes drive to the university - but be forewarned that parking is very difficult to find on university grounds. There was a grocery store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay . Although we don't have the diversity of Franklin street , we are within walkin distance of several great restaurants. Our wXYZ Bar also has a great atmosphere for unwinding after hours. Thanks again for staying with us, and we do hope you give us another try the next time... More 

Salina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My kids and I stayed here, we thought the room was spacious and we'll appointed. We heard no sounds outside our room, other than normal street noise. This was not a big problem. The Chris was extremely helpful and friendly as well as the valet staff. Parking would be a problem, but understandable because of how close University of North... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. We enjoy having families take advantage of our great location and spacious rooms. We also appreciate the kind words about Chris. He is one of our many amazing talent members that really do make a difference. We hope your travels bring you back to the area soon. More 

Herlong, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was small and uncomfortable. The elevators looked like they had weird colored moving blankets lining the walls. We felt like we were in a padded cell. The floors in common areas were bare cement. The beds were not comfortable. Parking is $10 which is crazy for the area. There is no closet, just pegs to hang your cloths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I understand that being comfortable is the most important thing for every traveler and I am so sorry that you we did not provide that to you. I am surprised that you did not enjoy our beds, as most travelors seem to comment of how comfortable they are. Many... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel fits the Aloft experience. I prefer more of a full business hotels in the Starwoods chain (Sheraton, Weston), but the room was comfortable, quiet and very clean. The food available in the lobby was good, but nothing outstanding. Unlike other SPG properties there was not a SPG lounge. There was adequate parking. I'd stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your aloft experience, and are happy you tried us out on your most recent trip. We hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Chapel Hill for a meeting. It was nice to find that there was an Aloft here. The hotel is very quiet, clean and not too big. The location is not near a Starbucks, so if you've no car and a Starbucks addiction, you're out of luck. This was not a problem for me. Rooms are typical for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. We appreciate the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our Van service. We are happy to provide this amenity to our guests. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. More 

Tampa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff very friendly. Had late arrival and could not make it more pleasant. Can't wait to return. Room was modern, clean and comfortable. Nice job! Shower instant hot, charging stations in room, assume lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back with us soon. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our first time staying in an Aloft and it was adequate. The rooms are modern, but on the small side. We stayed on the top floor and the air conditioning did not work well. We told the front desk and they had it repaired for the second night. It was more pleasant but still not as cold as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the issues with your air conditioner during your stay. Although it seems that we were able to correct the problem quickly, our guests should always have everything in working order when they arrive, and I am sorry we were not able to provide that. Hopefully your travels will bring you... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Another nice lounge hotel experience from aloft. Similar room as other alofts. Small Euro size but ample&clean. Good location, but parking a bit of a nuisance as before. Thankfully parking&quick breakfast included, unlike Charlotte. Helpful staff and convenient shuttle to get me to my Tarheels game on time! That made me considering it my spot for future UNC games.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are great location to stay for all UNC events, especially during basketball season. We hope you consider us on your next trip to the area. More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed for three nights in this relatively new, modern hotel in the Starwood family of hotels. We requested two adjoining rooms (not guaranteed at time of booking but honored at check-in). All adjoining rooms include 1 king bed and 2 queen beds. Our rooms and the hotel common areas were clean and staff was professional and welcoming. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff I, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know how we did. I am very pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. My apologies about your room supplies not being replenished on a daily basis. I have shared your insight with our staff. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to this area soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay