We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Drifters Reef Hotel

701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Drifters Reef Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    21
    13
    9
    35
See reviews for
36
30
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Liverpool, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where to start? 1st thing i really want to thank this lady/housekeeper April she was friendly and very helpful she knew about the island and places to eat and fun things to do.She even helped out with a fishing trip for my family.I will be back and only want her for our housekeeper,I suggest any one who stays at Drifter's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review Drifter's Reef Hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again real soon. Laura More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a room at about 9pm at night. I say this because we were lucky to get it on an impromptu visit to pleasure island. I think around 135+tax. Problem is they put us in a metal building and the room was ~100°. I assume the building is an overflow for the regular hotel, so I can't speak to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just wanted to take the time to thank you for reviewing Drifter's Reef Hotel. I am glad you were able to get a room on short notice. You are correct that those rooms are the over flow rooms.I hope that next time you are in Carolina Beach you will stay with us again. We are a family oriented and... More 

Carolina Beach, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were clean, and smoke free. Front desk staff and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay at the motel. I recommend this motel and if you have a dog they have pet friendly rooms available. The restaurant next door was a great experience as well. You don't even have to leave the property, fun fun place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for Drifter's Reef Hotel. Hope to see you again real soon! Laura More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, kids & myself stayed here the first weekend in August 2015 It was so nice! The rooms are smaller but very clean and comfy! The rates are exactly what u would expect! The staff saved us from the horrible reservations we made at Russo's!! I called in a panic for a room and they gladly helped us and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Drifter's Reef Hotel. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay here. We are family oriented and we try to acomadate all age groups. We do have larger rooms available as well. Thanks again, and looking forward to seeing you and family again real soon. Lauea More 

Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Ok where do I start.... #1. walked in and the bathroom sink was leaking all over the floor....call the front desk to report it... no one seem to care.... construction of the bar next door and the hotel was terrible and made it impossible to get in and out of the parking lot....No clean towel! the housekeeper informed us that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just wanted to thank you for taking time to review the Drifter's Reef Hotel. I apologize that your room wasn't in good working condition. We have fixed the issues that were wrong with the room. We do have an overflow parking lot around back available as well. We also have a grilling area with picnic tables available also. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Sanford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

At check in, I gladly paid the the price of $293 for 2 nights of loud music until 3am and an air conditioner that was louder than the music. The clerk said "I would get $10 back for key deposit". At check out, I was told "NO we don't do that". I was able to over look all of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just want to apologize to you for the inconveniences you had during your stay. I am not sure about the 10.00 key deposit, the only deposit we take are pet fee of 20.00 each day. I wish I had the chance to address this issue with you when it occurred. Again just wanted to apologize for the inconveniences during... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

Room are about what you can expect for price. No frills, but a place to sleep. Although it is pet friendly- there really isn't anywhere to let your pet "handle business ". Parking can be scarce because of the resturant in the same parking lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

This is NOT the place to take your family! The room had ants and was generally not well kept. We were kicked out of the pool promptly at 9:00 PM when it closed only to have it fill back up an hour later with a loud obnoxious adult crowd that along with other tenants running all over the place kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Stayed in the apartment above the main office. Parking is great during the week. The weekends are busy though. We had to park in the fenced in area behind the hotel on Saturday, but it wasn't a far walk. The pool was clean and not crowded during the week. The room was pretty clean, the air conditioning was very nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

First, the hotel messed up our reservation. My Dad booked the apartment because there were 4 people going. However, 2 cancelled, and it turned out to be a good thing. We were put into a double room on the first floor, next to the pool. This was unacceptable because of all the noise. We were "upgraded" to a deluxe double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 17 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#11 of 17 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.3 mi away
SeaWitch Motel
SeaWitch Motel
#8 of 17 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay