We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
46677 Hwy. 12, PO Box 39, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Add Your Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    73
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
64
79
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only came to the island to ride horses on the beach. However, this motel was icing on the cake. Clean. Had everything we needed. They were always friendly and eager to see if we needed anything else. And did I mention CLEAN!? We will def stay here again. It was too cold to go on the beach so our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

it isn't easy trying to choose a place to stay from the internet, but we lucked out this time! passing by some of the other hotels while we were there, i was so happy we chose this place. the staff was very friendly, our room was clean and best of all faced the ocean. we were on the third floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

My wife and I loved our stay: clean rooms and very quiet, which is to be expected for a coastal motel in late December. However, we were disappointed to find that the beach at this oceanfront resort almost entirely washed away and sandbags piled between the buildings and the surf. We felt sorry for them and wish them the best,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LighthouseView, Manager at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Lighthouse View and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are very sorry that the beach was in poor condition during your stay. Unfortunately, our beach is very dynamic and we see a great deal of erosion during the winter following northeast... More 

West Mifflin, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This place was big, clean, and close to the ocean. The price was very nice also. Everyone we talked to was more than friendly. People at the desk were nice to work with from start to finish. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LighthouseView, Manager at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

It brings us great pleasure to hear positive feedback from guests who had a great stay at Lighthouse View. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a good experience. We hope to see you back again soon! More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

This hotel was literally right on the water, which was a huge plus and exactly what we were looking for. Unfortunately that was the only real plus to this property. The ocean view from our third floor king room was impeded by a boarded up building that evidently was a multi-room building at one point in time. They need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This is our third year staying here and we love it. It is right on the water, quiet and if you enjoy walking on the beach, fishing or just relaxing...this is the place. They also have a pool for those brave souls who can swim in an unheated pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LighthouseView, Manager at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to create wonderful vacations for our guests. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This was our first time staying in Buxton North Carolina.... we stayed in an oceanfront king suite with bunk beds on the lower level. Even though it was lower level, the dunes were low, so we still had a decent view of the ocean. The suite was very nice and very clean. The windows on the ocean side are dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oxford, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at Lighthouse View. We tried to economize somewhat on our trip to the Outer Banks so we chose the Standard King Motel Room. Although these rooms are on the parking lot side of the buildings, they actually seemed quieter. The beach is right around the corner of the building so we weren’t inconvenienced in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Stayed here twice in 2014 and was pleased both times. The staff were helpful in making the reservations. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The motel is conveniently located to several places to eat and if you are interested in fishing, you just have to go out the back door. The motel also offers a very nice fish cleaning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Powder Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The king oceanfront room was quite small. It didn't seem dirty, but it was very old and dated (which made it feel dirty- even if it wasn't). Had a weird smell to it as well. I've stayed at nicer Super 8 motels than this. The outside decks are adjoined to one another - and we had a group of loud,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question