We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Falcon Motel

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
46854 Highway NC 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Falcon Motel)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Falcon Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    19
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Ocean Springs, MS
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I knew this wasn't going to be the Ritz by any means but this motel just wasn't my cup of tea. Got a slightly chilly reception at check-in, the furniture was pretty banged up, the tv's sound was bad and the bathroom was just kind of gross. I felt weirded out in bathroom because the tattered blinds in there didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got there late after a day on the road. I checked into the last available room on the Outer Banks. All the way down at the end. My family started with the "Janet Leigh's car is probably in the swamp nearby" jokes. This motel is straight from the 1960's, when almost all motels were small and owned by mom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at our fair share of motels and hotels on OBX and this one is affordable, comfortable and mostly clean. The room had a super comfy king size bed with crisp white linens and lots of pillows. I checked the entire room for bugs, including the mattress and found nothing. Of course the occasional critter can get into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent one night in that motel. It was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel. We arrived late night (family with one son, 9 years old). As soon as I entered I noticed the room dirty and the bathroom with mold (room # 32). By the way we decided to stay. During the night, 130 AM,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Sorry your stay was so miserable. I can personally tell you we are not a pet friendly establishment and we do not have ticks. We do have a monthly pest control service. As I remember you called the following morning and just asked if everything was ok with your room because you had to leave in the middle of the... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Not a resort, doesn't claim to be. But the beds are comfy, the housekeeping and desk staff are friendly, you can park right outside your door, and I never heard a peep from any other guests even though they were fully booked. Good location in Buxton--you can walk to a lot. If they just did ONE thing to vastly improved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The good news is we are slowly replacing our floors with laminate flooring. It is a slow room to room process but replacing more and more each year. Hope to see you again soon:) More 

Georgetown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We stayed 2 nights. Excellent price compared to other places. Golf, ice cream, gas station, and restaurant across the street. Room was clean and quiet. Pool was small but clean. Literally a 2 min drive from the beach and hatteras lighthouse. We would stay again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again in the near future!!! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

As many other reviews say it is a no frills motel it's very charming tho it feels as if your staying in a guest room at an aunts that you haven't seen in years. It's very quiet and walking distance to the beach food and golf. The staff were very welcoming the room was clean and safe. Parking was plentiful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us:) We hope to see you again in the near future!! More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We booked a room at the falcon hotel for a night in Outerbanks on a family trip. Due to the last minute plans, we didn't really have much of a choice because of availability and needed a room in obx for Saturday night. We arrived late on Saturday night after a long day on the road. On the surface, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you encountered mosquitoes in your stay. Mosquitoes love our island just as any beach town. We do take extra precautions monthly and have a mosquito spraying service come and spray the grounds etc. to try and control the population. However, when you are unloading the vehicle and coming in they are bound to come into the... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

When we stay at a hotel, our priorities are safe location, comfortable bed, and clean room. This motel hit all 3. Staff were friendly and welcoming. When I read some of the reviews, I have to wonder what the reviewers were expecting. Bottom line...if you are a person that wants a spa like experience, then this is not the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave D, Owner at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review:) We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hit all 3 on your criteria. Hope to see you at the beach soon!!! More 

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

The staff here were nice enough (probably trying to make the best of a bad situation), but this property is old, ugly, and in shabby condition. Room # 5 had clean bed coverings but the room smelled somewhat foul and was IMO, dirty. Furniture was old and worn out. Bathroom looked like something from the early 1950's that hadn't been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

We regret that you had such an unsatisfactory stay with us. As most reviews state we are known for our clean rooms and do not understand why your room was so dirty as you stated. I wish you had expressed your concerns to the lady at the front desk instead of stating you had a situation and had to leave.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
0.3 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Cape Hatteras KOA
Cape Hatteras KOA
#1 of 5 in Rodanthe
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#4 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay