We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Buxton hotels

Falcon Motel

46854 Highway NC 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Falcon Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Falcon Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Falcon Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014
Karen S Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We have stayed here for a number of years and would not stay anywhere else! Rooms are clean, plenty of towels, coffee and extra if you need it, my wifi worked great, quiet, within walking distance of great places to eat, nice pool,people around us every year are always fun to be with, we have even grilled out always a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week. Rooms were fresh and clean. Didn't have any maintenance issues during my stay. A/C ran great. Some of the furnishings could have been updated but that would be my only complaint. Knowing the island and prices elsewhere I will definately be back. The younger girl at the front desk(I don't remember her name) was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave D, Owner at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again soon and for many years to come:) More 

Mideast U.S.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

If you are just looking for a room, these are large, relatively clean, drive-up rooms with comfortable beds for a fair price. I paid $65 in September. I'm not sure if that is the normal rate or was lower just because the cable was out. That price seems about right, though. The bathrooms are very small, tight, with no frills.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave D, Owner at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Falcon Motel. We do like and appreciate your feedback. As for the housekeeping issues I do apologize and there is no excuse for that. I have shown this review to the housekeeping staff. Our cable and internet are connected. Sometimes when one is out the other is out. Cable and internet are back... More 

Cumberland, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

With few other options in the area, the price of the Falcon appealed to us so we booked it for two nights in August 2014. Upon arrival, we knew instantaneously that "you get what you pay for." After checking in, we received our keys and proceeded straight to our room. As soon as we entered the room, we, and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Everything I read about this hotel was misleading. If it's been updated I would hate to see what it looked like before. Old. Run down. Nothing appealing about it. So disappointed. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Lynnette! I am sorry your stay was not what you were expecting at the Falcon Motel. As you read other travelers commenting concerning the renovations many of them pointed out that this was a room to room process and the room that you had stayed in (2 doubles) have not gone under renovations. Thus the reason why these are... More 

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I was in room #35 in May 2014. It was quiet, and for that I was thankful. This room must not get rented often, for it was dusty. I cleaned it with products from the local grocery. The bed slept well and I had good ac. The wifi doesn't reach down here, so if that's a priority, get another room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your feedback on the Falcon Motel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At any point and time you believe the room needs additional cleaning do not hesitate to contact us at the front desk. We would have more than happy to have dusted the room for you. As this was... More 

Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This family run motel was a great place to stay while vacationing on the outer banks of North Carolina. The motel has the best rates in Buxton. It was clean and has a nice pool for families with children. Fishermen use this motel for close access to the offshore charters. The manager and clerks were very friendly and helpful with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review for us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again:) More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

You definitely get what you pay for with accommodations.The rooms were comfortable, but expect the basics, no "extras". It needs lots of updates, especially more outlets/three-prong outlets. There were 2 outlets in our room (room #10) - one was for the fridge/microwave (you have to unplug the microwave to plug in the floor lamp!) and the other outlet for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our first mistake was not deciding what was important for our one night on the Outer Banks, saving $30 or sleeping comfortable with adequate air-conditioning. One of us needed more cooling to the room than a wall inserted '1960's' air conditioner. For the extra $30 we should have chosen a motel down the road. We were upgraded from our 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review of the Falcon Motel. I am sorry if your a/c was not "up to par" during your stay. I remember talking to you several times during that evening and if you had mentioned it wasn't working I could have gotten someone right over there and switched you to a new unit. As for... More 

Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here three nights. It was not an entirely pleasant experience. (Before you read the rest of this review, please know that this is the first time we went to the Outer Banks, and we stayed in only one other, pricier hotel, so I can't really compare it to similar places in the area.) Worst part: the room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Falcon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Motel

Address: 46854 Highway NC 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Falcon Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Falcon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croatoan Hotel Buxton
Falcon Hotel Buxton
Falcon Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay