We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hatteras Island Inn

SR 12 & Old Lighthouse Rd., Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hatteras Island Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hatteras Island Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After pricing the other places on Hatteras further down the island we decided on this place and glad we did. We sat out by the pool with a bottle of wine and watched the sun set and then walked over to the beach which was about 100 yards. The light house is just a short drive down the road. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swansboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Extremely old hotel and reminded me of hotels in the 1960s. The room smelled musky. The rooms were not very clean and neither was the bathroom. Lamps had rust on them. Mattresses are uncomfortable. The beach is 6 houses away from the hotel. Don't believe the reviews that state you can walk to the lighthouse. Only two locations were within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winston Salem, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The inn has modern amenities wrapped in a modest package of ordinary. The hotel is clean, beds are acceptably comfortable. The TV turns on, the AC is acceptably quiet and cooling. Beyond that? The shower features hot and cold water. The bathroom is clean. Beyond that? It is the most modern looking inn in Buxton, a neat community on NC's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I went to Buxton on 5/20/15 on short notice to fish at the point. He made a big mistake by reserving a shared room for us at The Falcon which in across Highway 12 from Hatteras Island Inn. Neither of us had ever stayed at Falcon before. The place was a total mess - completely run down,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here as a group and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms had been upgraded the previous year and everything was nice. When visiting the area most folks need to understand there is no Hilton nearby. Most everything has some age to it. This inn is no exception. I found it to be clean well staffed and within walking distance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Narooma
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

After being held up for 3 hours at the ferry from Okracoke because it ran aground we arrived very late. The welcome was warm and friendly and the room was comfortable with the biggest bathroom ever seen in a motel. No breakfast was provided but with the excellent Diamond Shoals Restaurant only a short walk away this wasn't an issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

When I first checked in I was not happy with the room, Light bulb was out in lamp, tear in chair, room was small. I asked to be moved to a room on second floor and was accommodated. The area is beautiful with plenty to keep us busy. If you want to save this place is ideal just don't expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Stayed one night over a weekend in early March. We were given a room that had no hot water and a broken bed but once we contacted the office they moved us to another room immediately. The room was clean the beds were comfortable. What else do you need? Their dryer for guests was broken but they let us dry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

If you are thinking of staying here don't. We were travelling from the UK and had not visited the Outer Banks before. We arrived and the reception staff were poor. We had only been the for an hour and the lights went out. We did not know what was going on and no one from the motel let us know.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
HatterasIslandInn, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn, responded to this review

It was so unfortunate that the power went out during your stay with us. This outage was rare here, in that, the entire island was without electricity for several hours. Front Desk staff visited all rooms twice during the beginning of the outage distributing flashlights, however, we were not able to get an answer at every door. The phones were... More 

New Port Richey, Florida
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
14 hotel reviews
1,232 helpful votes 1,232 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Before I get started, I need to mention my review is from our stay this past June. My family and I were traveling down the coast. They had never been to the outer banks. I was looking for a place to stay the night that wouldn't break the bank. Accommodations are slim to begin with. Looking for a place that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay