We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hatteras Island Inn

SR 12 & Old Lighthouse Rd., Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hatteras Island Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hatteras Island Inn
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
26
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here as a group and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms had been upgraded the previous year and everything was nice. When visiting the area most folks need to understand there is no Hilton nearby. Most everything has some age to it. This inn is no exception. I found it to be clean well staffed and within walking distance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Narooma
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After being held up for 3 hours at the ferry from Okracoke because it ran aground we arrived very late. The welcome was warm and friendly and the room was comfortable with the biggest bathroom ever seen in a motel. No breakfast was provided but with the excellent Diamond Shoals Restaurant only a short walk away this wasn't an issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When I first checked in I was not happy with the room, Light bulb was out in lamp, tear in chair, room was small. I asked to be moved to a room on second floor and was accommodated. The area is beautiful with plenty to keep us busy. If you want to save this place is ideal just don't expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Stayed one night over a weekend in early March. We were given a room that had no hot water and a broken bed but once we contacted the office they moved us to another room immediately. The room was clean the beds were comfortable. What else do you need? Their dryer for guests was broken but they let us dry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

If you are thinking of staying here don't. We were travelling from the UK and had not visited the Outer Banks before. We arrived and the reception staff were poor. We had only been the for an hour and the lights went out. We did not know what was going on and no one from the motel let us know.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
HatterasIslandInn, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn, responded to this review

It was so unfortunate that the power went out during your stay with us. This outage was rare here, in that, the entire island was without electricity for several hours. Front Desk staff visited all rooms twice during the beginning of the outage distributing flashlights, however, we were not able to get an answer at every door. The phones were... More 

New Port Richey, Florida
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
14 hotel reviews
1,140 helpful votes 1,140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Before I get started, I need to mention my review is from our stay this past June. My family and I were traveling down the coast. They had never been to the outer banks. I was looking for a place to stay the night that wouldn't break the bank. Accommodations are slim to begin with. Looking for a place that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
asheville,nc
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

I spent 3 nights here during the winter season for a little workshop. First the people at the desk are wonderful. Very friendly and accommodating. My room was upstairs. It had two beds, a refrig, microwave, and coffee pot. Also had a ironing board and a couch. It was big, clean and very comfortable. I could live in this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HatterasIslandInn, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. The staff works hard to make sure the rooms are clean and comfortable and I am pleased you enjoyed your room and your stay here with us. That's great that you were able to get some quiet time here during the Off-Season. We look forward to your next visit... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We decided to travel a day early to Hatteras and spend the night at the Hatteras Island Inn. The smell of the room wasn't the greatest but we were there a couple days after the island got a lot of rain, so it kind of had a musty smell. The pool was wonderful for the kids, very clean and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HatterasIslandInn, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad you came in a little early to the Island and decided to stay with us! I am concerned about the musty smell you referred to because we are very diligent to be sure that all rooms are freshened up every day even if they will be unoccupied. Heavy rain combined with humidity can sometimes cause a similar... More 

Around the world
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Well, Stayed for one night here, And the moment we entered in the room,the fragrance was so pleasant. Bathroom was so spacious.. room was equipped with refrigerator, microwave, iron, and all basic things., LED TV. Room gives you a breathtaking ocean view.. their observation dock is amazing. Staff is so helpful. CONS: no free breakfast, not all the rooms have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HatterasIslandInn, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn, responded to this review

The staff here at Hatteras Island Inn works toward the goal of taking a spacious room and making sure it is clean and comfortable just the way we would want it if we were visiting here or anywhere else. I am pleased you had an "Amazing" stay with us and also took advantage of the great view offered by the... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

If you ever wondered what it was like to vacation when you were a kid, this is the place to rediscover it. This is a series of cottages from the land before cable TV. There is nothing wrong with them but the Hilton it is not. Need a place to stay on the Island? This is as good as any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HatterasIslandInn, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review about your recent experience here at Hatteras Island Inn. You are right, if there ever was a place to rediscover vacationing like a kid - this is it. Even in the heart of the season it is very laid back here and there is always plenty of room on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question