We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Motel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
523 S Broad Street, Brevard, NC 28712
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Motel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunset Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    48
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
40
79
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This one was a pleasant surprise to say the least. This motel, years ago was way below average. Last April, I heard from friends who stayed here for their sons graduation. Evidently, the sunset motel has invested a lot in major upgrades my friends they liked the motel a lot. So I stayed here. I am doing work on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights this past weekend. I called ahead to inform them that I would be checking in very late and they were very accommodating. The room was a single bed, complete with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave- something that you would often have to pay extra for or hope you get lucky enough to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although they did refunded my room. I was awakened froma dead sleep from bug bites, and was bleeding. The bugs actually drew blood. Trust me don't take t h e risk of staying at the sunset, go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We refunded his money immediately after he complained. My manager came to the motel quickly when he called her shortly after 6am before we inspected the room because we are never dismissive about complaints. However, our staff later scoured the room and found no evidence of any type of bug nor blood spots on the linens. The young man, by... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We chose this motel based on the website and reviews that described it as a old time roadside motel. It was roadside all right...loud. It was old too - marginally clean with strong cleaning product smells that were overpowering. Not the quaint roadside motel described.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

First let me say that I am terribly sorry that you had such a bad experience at my motel. I only wish you had reported your unhappiness to the front desk. We would have either moved you or given your money back if we couldn't. More 

Walland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sunset Motel is exactly as advertised--"retrovated" to look and feel like something you would have seen decades ago, yet very clean and very well run. We were surprised by how quiet it was even at near-full occupancy. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. This lodging was definitely worth the price, and we would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about The Sunset Motel. It is always a great pleasure to hear that we are serving our customers well. We look forward to serving you again soon. Gratefully,The Sunset Motel More 

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was looking for a place to stay one night in Brevard while my wife and I were traveling through the area and noticed the Sunset Motel had good reviews and ratings on tripadvisor. I called and booked a room, and it was a great choice. The staff were friendly, and knew a lot about the area. They recommended places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal. More 

North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have quickly adopted the Sunset as the place to stay while in Brevard. This time we were dropping the kids off at camp. The motel is just down the road from 'downtown' but it is an easy walk. We stayed in room 17 - at the end across from the office. Lot's of room, two comfortable beds and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackson, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here while traveling on a weekend motorcycle getaway. Great place. Our room was not large, but very comfortable. It had small fridge, and a large tub / shower. Very clean. The owner is super friendly. I like motel style place when traveling on the bike - so you can pull up to your door. Plenty of parking -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It's people like you who make our jobs worth doing! Lori More 

Campobello, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is a nice little motel with a lot of character. It was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed being able to walk downtown for dinner. Keep in mind that it is an older place and it does appear that way inside. The carpet especially in our room looked ancient and the rest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We take your comments very seriously. Every single room has new flooring so it concerns us that yours looked "ancient". I've sent you a private message hoping you will tell us which room you were in so that we can evaluated the flooring. We hope to see you again! Keep in mind, every room is... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We just enjoyed another wonderful stay at the Sunset Motel. It is always our first choice in Brevard. It is a fun old-style motel with modern comforts. Beds are comfortable. Rooms provide you with everything you need. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It is simply a great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and kind words. You guys are a pleasure to have as guests! Lori More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay