We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hemlock Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
134 Morris Street, PO Box 422, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemlock Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hemlock Inn
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This Hotel is way too expensive for what you get. It looks like you just walked into 1960 when you get in the room. The walls are paper thin and everything around you can be heard, and I mean everything. It was so cold and the power went out at night and they don't have a back up generator. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not like our inn. You came on the coldest week we have had so far this winter, with tempatures ranging from -5 to 10 degrees. The wind chill was even colder with a 40 to 60 mile an hour wind. Being so cold makes the whole trip seem miserable. The room you were in was... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We decided at the last minute to stay overnight in the area. I had stayed here many years ago and remembered it was clean and staff was great. David was very helpful in getting us a room and late check in. We loved the room we had with a king size bed. The room was quiet and clean. The bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad you chose us for your stay in Blowing Rock. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our king room. We have renovated all but one of our king rooms and started one that one yesterday. We are in a perfect location. Just walk to the restaurants and shopping. Hope... More 

Lincolnton, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I have stayed at this property several times. Friendly staff and property is very clean. Good price and absolutely the BEST location for walking downtown Blowing Rock. I park my car upon arrival it is not moved until departing for home. 1st choice for convenience and this is my "go to" when visiting Blowing Rock.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a nice review about our inn. It really means a lot to us when our repeat guest are happy. We have lots of guest that check in and never move their car till they are ready to leave. We have events starting soon. Hope you can attend some of those. Hope to see you soon. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

My wife and I have been staying Hemlock Inn for more than 10 years. It has always been a great experience. We have come to know the owners and staff over the years and consider them friends. The location is one of the pluses since everything is within walking distance of downtown Blowing Rock. In addition, we have recommended this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a kind review. We love our repeat guest. We are glad you continue to visit year after year and still happy with us. We are located in a great spot, one one building off Main Street. Remember our repeat guest get 10% off their stay. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

In the center of town, walking distance to lots of shops and a couple of restaurants. The grounds are gorgeous! The room itself could seem a bit small but it was very cozy and comfortable. The only negative was in regards to the bathroom. While the bathroom itself was very large, the shower stall was super small. The thin man... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Blowing Rock. We are really located in a great place. Just park your car and walk to all the shops and restaurants. As for our showers they are all standard size showers, but if you are use to a shower/tub combo than they... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for over 10 years but this time was terrible. The check in clerk was way off base and the owner had to come in and straighten things out. Instead of apologizing the male owner not Donna acted protective over his employee also male. The employee was yelling acting indignant and beligerent even going into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

I am really confused about your response. You called and cancelled your reservation due to a death in the family. You said another family would be taking your place. So when my husband and David told me what happened I was surprised they were talking about you since you cancelled. I am surprised you are STILL complaining. You got what... More 

Opelika, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Hemlock Inn is in the center of town and only a minute away from dining and shopping. Mid-week rates were excellent and the office staff was accommodating. My only recommendation is that they inspect the rooms before check-in to make sure it has been properly cleaned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a kind review. We are glad you had a good time staying with us and enjoyed Blowing Rock. Sorry you had a noisey neighbor. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Blowing Rock. More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

We chose this inn based on reviews and a friends suggestion. The best thing about this inn is the location. It is within walking difference of everything in Blowing a Rock. The room leaves a lot to be desired. I made reservations several months ago and had to settle for a full size bed which was very hard. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. Sorry you did not like our inn. The room you stayed in was a Murphy room which is part of a two room suite. Your side had the full bed( was a new mattress) kitchen and bath. Unfortunately you reserved what was left. Our October weekend fill up by July May be next time... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

My husband and I tend to stay in B&Bs and Inns rather than chain hotels and were looking for both a good location and good value for a quick trip to Blowing Rock. After looking at reviews on Tripadvisor we decided on the Hemlock Inn and were happy with the choice. The location of the Inn is perfect -- in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It makes us happy to see a happy guest. Hope to see you again soon. More 

USA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

My family and I stumbled upon this place and decided to stay our last night in Blowing Rock here. First of all, the owners are really nice and accommodating. They are courteous and very professional. The place is very quaint and is right in the heart of downtown Blowing Rock. You could throw a rock and hit multiple stores and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed our property and the location of our property. As for your neighbor, we moved this guest to another room to prevent a rising conflict. We hope you enjoyed Blowing Rock. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question