We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    111
    120
    61
    14
    6
See reviews for
136
109
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
See the most recent reviews
Danville, Virginia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here the on July 18th. Our room was on the first floor and it was damp. At first we thought the sheets just hadn't been fully dried - and then we realized everything was damp - the floors, the walls, the furniture, etc. Even the checkout envelope got so wet from being on the floor that it sealed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Kelly W. Thank you for the review of our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for any issues you experienced during your stay. It is our goal to make sure that all our guest have any enjoyable stay with us. If you didn't like the location of the room in... More 

Waynesboro, Va.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here recently and while our expectations were reasonable, we've stayed here before, there were some very annoying issues. The hotel is located just off a highway that has been undergoing construction for what seems like forever. This is not their fault, of course, but what is their fault is the total lack of signage to help visitors negotiate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Bermundaman Thank you for the review of our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience that the road construction caused you during your stay. I am not allowed to put up any signage per the DOT until the project is complete. We would love to have signage to direct the guest to our location. The back parking lot lights are out... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited Blowing Rock NC and stayed a night at this hotel. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very friendly had a nice time The breakfast served was good the only downside was construction going on on highway caused some traffic problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

James Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The road construction is a pain at times and I apologize for any inconvenience that this caused you during your stay. Once the road is finished it will be safer and nice for all the guest traveling to this area.... More 

Gainesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel is convenient in blowing rock, Went with family and kids, 1st floor seems worn out and muskier than rest of hotel, request higher up. Carpet in room was pretty used up, was afraid to let kids sit or play on floor. Not many hotels to choose from unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Sophos75 Thank you for the review of our hotel. I sorry you did not enjoy you stay with us. Thanks for the feedback. We will use you comments to make the necessary changes so that all the guest can have an enjoyable stay. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Denver, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

I wish I would have stayed in a nicer hotel in downtown blowing rock. I didn't because their websites didn't look all that great, but they were beautiful when we were there! The hotel was not what I'd expected based on other holiday inn stays. It was dated. Hot breakfast is great and the indoor pool was nice. It seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

doublec27 Thank you for the review of our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you had notified us that the smoke was bothering you I would have asked the people to move to another location why they were smoking. We appreciate the feedback and we will use it to make the... More 

New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Stayed here two nights with grandson on a hiking trip. The hotel is dated, beds are a little worn, the exercise equipment is all broken, and the decor is shabby, not chic. But, it's clean, convenient, and relatively inexpensive. Hot breakfast is a plus. Weekday traffic is a nightmare (construction), but we got where we needed to go by being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Diane H, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. I am happy to hear that you found us to be clean, convenient, quiet, and a good value. I am also glad to hear that you appreciated the complimentary breakfast. I am very sorry to hear that... More 

Usa
Level Contributor
245 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We stayed here 1 night recently and were very happy we did. Aside from the road work being done in the area we were happy about our stay. Free parking, wifi & breakfast are all pluses. Our room was good size , quiet & clean. Staff was friendly. We will stay here again our next trip to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

randomMA Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

I stayed at this location on my way up to visit grandfather mountain. I enjoyed the facility, even though there seem to be some construction going in the area which made it a little hard to walk to the restaurant near by, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. More 

NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

As I titled my review, there are no complaints at all for this stay at HIE in Blowing Rock. The worst thing that happened was that they ran out of plain oatmeal one day! LOL We had stayed here last year and were not pleased overall but this time was a much improved and positive experience. Would stay here again.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG® Rewards Club member. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. More 

Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Decided to take a last minute overnight trip for the 4th of July. Was surprised that they had availability and at a reasonable price. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Indoor pool was nice but cold. Not impressed with breakfast but I never am at hotels. Very good overall. You can buy discounted Grandfather Mountain tickets at the front desk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blowing Rock
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#12 of 16 in Blowing Rock
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay